Woodruff (Main) Chemistry Music & Media Manuscript, Archives, Rare Books Oxofrd Business Health Law Theology
       EUCLID Catalog    Library Info
 
Overview of the Collections
Descriptions and Indexes
 

    Visiting MARBL
 
Hours
Directions
Accommodations
 

    Research Services
 
Requesting & Using Materials
Reproduction Services
Permissions
Remote Research
 
 


    EUCLID Finding Aids Irish Literary Manuscripts Portal MARBL Subject Guides Digital Collections

The following guide is intended to provide an overview of the sources for study of ancient and medieval history in the Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library (MARBL) of Emory University. It is not intended to be exhaustive. Rather, it is intended to provide researchers with a good idea of the type and scope of material that may be found in MARBL. The guide should be seen as a supplement to the other finding aids, namely the online catalog (EUCLID) and manuscript collection descriptions. The guide only includes sources in MARBL. Further sources for ancient and medieval history are housed in the general collection and the Pitts Theology Library.


Each entry in the guide gives the call number of the work, short title information, and in most cases, a brief description or note on the nature of the work. At the end of each section, relevant works in other parts of the guide are listed. The guide itself is divided into three sections:

Section I: Early Editions of Classical Texts
This section includes titles of early printed editions (pre-1700) of Greek and Roman literature, arranged alphabetically by author. In general, the list is confined to editions in the original language. There are two exceptions to this rule. In some cases, we hold only Latin translations of Greek authors. One other translation that has been included is Caxton’s printed version of Aesop’s fables, published in 1484. Many of the works listed here have been translated into English or other modern languages. These may be found in EUCLID at http://www.library.emory.edu.  Finding aids for these sources are also available through MARBL's Web site at http://marbl.library.emory.edu/FindingAids/index.htmlPlease note that some collections may not yet have finding aids available and that this site is a work in progress.



Section II: The Christian Church in the Middle Ages

This section is divided into five sub-sections. Subsection A contains manuscripts, facsimiles and incunabula editions of the Bible. Subsection B contains works which include portions of the Bible, namely Psalters, Gospels, and the Apocalypse. Subsection C includes ritual and devotional literature, collections of homilies, and books of hours. Subsection D contains theological works and church histories, arranged alphabetically by author. Subsection E includes sources for the study of canon law.

Section III: Medieval Europe

This section includes administrative sources and literature for the countries of Europe during the Middle Ages. The countries represented include England, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Spain, and the Scandinavian countries.
There are four collections within the holdings of MARBL meriting special attention. The first of these is the Ancient, Medieval and Renaissance Manuscripts collection (MSS 37). Some of the manuscripts in this collection have been included in this guide. Full descriptions of the individual manuscripts can be found in the finding aid.
The Seydel collection consists of books and manuscripts relating to the history of Belgium presented in honor of Paul Bernard Seydel (1884-1942). Some of the books in this collection concern the history of the Low Countries in the fifteenth, sixteenth, and seventeenth centuries, and include works by the famous classic scholar Justus Lipsius and law theorist Hugo Grotius. There are also a large number of art books on Dutch painting in the late Middle Ages and Renaissance. Of particular interest to early medieval scholars is a copy of Jean Jacques Chifflet’s report of the discovery of the grave of King Childeric of the Franks (d. 481) under the cathedral at Tournai, listed in section III under France.
A large number of works in this guide concern the history of Viking age Scandinavia and Anglo-Saxon England. This is in part the legacy of noted Anglo-Saxon scholar Kemp Malone, Emory ‘07, who left his library to Emory in 1971. The Kemp Malone Memorial Library was established on the third floor of the Humanities building to house his books, the rare books being transferred to MARBL. A full bibliography of the library of Kemp Malone was prepared by Sandra Gohn and is housed in MARBL [Call number Z997.M35]. The papers of Kemp Malone (MSS 541) contain over thirty articles by Malone, translations and transcriptions of Anglo-Saxon poems, and manuscript facsimiles, as well as his lecture notes on Old English poetry and Germanic languages in general. As the collection has not yet been fully processed, please ask for reference assistance if more detailed information about this collection is needed.
The papers of George Peddy Cuttino (MSS 609), Charles Howard Candler Professor of Medieval History at Emory University (emeritus, 1984), represent another manuscript collection of special interest to medieval researchers. It includes reproductions of the great seal and privy seal of King Edward II of England (1307-1327). As with the Kemp Malone Papers, the arrangement of the collection is not complete. Researchers should ask for reference assistance in locating and using this material.

I: Early Editions of Classical Texts
The works listed below are early editions of classical texts, published prior to 1700. Translations of works into vernacular languages have been omitted, with the exception of Caxton’s translation of Aesop’s fables (1484) and an Italian translation of Pliny. Later editions and translations of classical works may be found in EUCLID.
Aesop. Aesop’s Fables, Translated and Printed by William Caxton. 1484. London: Scholar Press, 1976. [Facsimile]. PA3855. E5 C33 1976
Appianus of Alexandria. De bellis civilibus romanis. Venice: 1472. PA3873. A23 1472
Boethius. Boetii viri celeberrimi de cosolatoe philosophie liber cum optimo commento beati Thome Colonia. Cologne: 1504. PA6231 .C8 1504
Caesar, C. Julius. Commentaria Caesaris prius a Iocundo impressioni data, posterius a nobis dilgentissime reuisa. Venice: Augustinus de Zanis, 1517. PA6235 .A2 1517 FOLIO
-----. G. Iulii Caesaris Commentariorum de bello Gallico liber primus. Venice: Octavianus Scotus, 1482. PA6235 .A2 1482
Cassius Dio Cocceinnus. In hoc volumine haec continentur Nervae et Traiani atque Adriani Caesar vita ex dione. Venice: 1519. PA3947 .A47
Cicero, M. Tullius. Le filippiche di Marco T. Cicerone contra Marco Antonio. Venice: 1556. PA6280 .A1 1556
-----. M. Tulii Ciceronis Operi. Liege: 1642. PA6278 .A2 1642
-----. Pro archia poeta M. Cicernois cum F. Sylvii Commentariis. Paris: 1531. PA6279 .A9 D8
-----. Rhetoricorum ad Herennium libri quator. De inventione libri duo. Lyons: Joannus Gryphius, 1551. PA6304 .R5 1551
Corpus Juris Civilis. Amsterdam: 1663. DF572 .C68 FOLIO
Corpus Juris Civilis. Frankfurt: 1663. DF572 .C67 FOLIO
Dio, Chrysostomus. Orationes LXXX. Cum vetustis codd. mss. Reg. Bibliothecae, sedulocollatae, eorumque ope ab innumeris mendis liberatae, restitutae, auctae. Paris: 1604. PA3965 .D2 1604 FOLIO
-----. Troia non Capta. Paris: F. Baligault, 1494. PA3965 .D2 T75
Herodotus. Herodoti Hallicarnassei Historiarum Lib. XI. Geneva: 1592. PA4002 .A2 1592 Note: Greek text with parallel Latin translation.
Homer. Omerous Ilias. Venice: Aldi et Andreae, 1524. PA4019 .A2 1524
-----. Ulyssea, Batrachomyomachi Hymnai XXXII. Venice: Aldi et Andreae, 1524. PA4021 .A2 1524
Iamblichus. De mysteriis Aegyptiorum, Chaldaeorum, Assyriorum et alia opuscula. Venice: 1497. PA4220 .A7 D4
Josephus, Flavius. Antiquitatis Iudaice liber primus-xx. Venice: 1481. DS116 .J78 1481 2
-----. De antiquitate Iudeorum contra Appionem grammaticum Alexandrinum. Venice: 1481. DS116 .J78 1481 1
Macrobius, Ambrosius Aurelius Theodosius. Macrobii In Somnia Scipionis ex Cicernois VI Libro de Rep. eruditissime Explanatio. Venice: Aldi et Andreae, 1528. PA6498 .A2 1528
Mela, Pomponius. Pomponij Mellae Cosmographi geographia: Risciani quoq[ue] ex Dionysio Thessalonicensi de situ orbis interpretatio. Venice: 1482. PA6512 .A2 1482
Ovid (Ovidius Naso, Publius). Opera, Daniel Hensius textum recensuit. Leige: 1629. PA6519 .A2 1629
Plato. Minos, sive de lege. Louvain: 1531. SEYDEL Uncat.
Plautus, Titus Maccius. Maccii Plauti, Comoedi viginiti olim a Joachimo Camerario emendatae. Antwerp: Platini, 1566. PA6568 .A2 1566 SEYDEL
Pliny (Plinius Secundus, Caius). Historia naturale de C. Plinion Secundo. Venice: 1543. PA6613 .I8 L3 Note: Italian translation of Latin original.
Plutarch. Plutarchus Chaeroneus de curiositate. Rome: 1524. PA4368 .D24 L3 Note: Latin translation of two essays by Plutarch.
Priscian. Prisciani grammatici, Caesariensis libri omnes. Venice: Aldi et Andreae, 1527. PA6642 .A2 1527
Ptolemaeus, Claudius. Claudii Ptolemaei, De praedictionibus astronomicis, cui titulum facerunt, Quadripartitum, libri quatuor. Perusiae: 1646. QB26 .P96 1646
-----. Tabulae geographicae Cl: Ptolemei admentum autoris restitutae & emandate per Gerardum Mercatorem. Brussels: 1964. [Facsimile]. G1005 .P8 FOLIO
Sappho, et al. Carmina novem illustria feminarum Sapphus. Antwerp: Platin, 1568. PA3433 .C36 SEYDEL Note: includes a number of poems by members of Sappho’s circle. In Greek with Latin commentary.
Seneca, Lucius Annaeus. L. Annaei Senecae, Opera quae exstat intergis Justi Lipsi. 3 Vols. Amsterdam: 1632. PA6661 .A2 1672
-----. Scenecae [sic] Tragoediae. Venice: 1517. PA6664 .A2 1517
-----. Senece Omnia Opera. Venice: Per Bernardinum de Coris de Cremona, 1492. PA6661 .A2 1492 CANDLER
-----. The workes of Lucius Annaeus Seneca, newly inlarged and corrected by Thomas Lodge. London: William Stansby, 1620. B615 .E5 L6 1620 FOLIO
Suetonius, Tranquillus C. (Opera) quae exstat. Leige: 1632. PA6700 .A2 1632
Tacitus, Cornelius. C. Cornelii Taciti Opera quae exstant. Ex Justi Lipsi Editiona Ultima. Antwerp: Platin, 1585. PA6705 .A2 1585 SEYDEL


II: The Christian Church in the Middle Ages
A: Bibles
Bible, Gothic. Codex Argenteus Upsaliensis jussu Senatus Universitatis phototypice editus. Upsalla: Almquist and Wiksall, 1927. [Facsimile]. Z115Z .B57 A5 FOLIO Note: Facsimile edition of Ulfila’s Gothic translation of the Greek Bible.
Bible, Latin. Biblia Latina. 2 Vols. Mainz: Gutenberg, 1454/55. [Facsimile]. Z241 .B58 FOLIO Note: Facsimile edition of 42-line Bible printed by Johannes Gutenberg between 1454 and 1455.
Bible, Latin. Biblia Sacra. Venice: 1497. BS75 1497 V.4 CANDLER
Bible, Latin. Biblia Sacra Latinum. Venice: F. de Hailbrun and N. de Frankfordia, 1475. BS75 1475 V.4
Bible, Latin. The Pamplona Bibles. Ed. Francois Buche. 2 Vols. New Haven: Yale University Press, 1970. [Facsimile]. ND3355 .P3 Note: Facsimile edition compiled from two Bibles with martyrologies ordered by King Sancho el Fuerte of Navarra (1194-1254).
Bible, Manuscript Latin Vulgate. Hand printed on 275 vellum leaves, annotations in Apocalypse Johannis. Northern France: ca. 1200-1225. BS75 .1300Z CANDLER
Biblia pauperum: conteynynge thirty and eight wodecuttes illustrating the liif, parablis, and miraclis offe oure blessid Lord & Saviour Jhesus Crist, with proper descrypciouns therof extracted from the originall texte offe John Wiclif. New York: A. C. Armstrong & Son, 1885. [Facsimile]. BS2261 .W9 CANDLER
Étude sur la Bible moralisée illustrée. 5 Vols. Paris: 1911-27. ND3355 .B63 1911A FOLIO
The Holkham Bible Picture Book. Intr. W. D. Hassell. London: Dropmore Press, 1954. [Facsimile]. ND3355 .H6 FOLIO

B: Psalters, Gospels, and the Apocalypse
The Book of Kells. Luzern: Faksimile Verlag, 1990. [Facsimile]. ND3359 .K4 B65 1990 FOLIO V.1
The Canterbury Psalter. Intr. M. R. James. London: P. Lund, Humphries & Co., 1935. [Facsimile]. ND3357 .C3 J3 FOLIO
Das Buch von Lindisfarne. Luzern: Faksimile Verlag, 2002-03. [Facsimile]. ND3359 .L5 L56 2002 FOLIO V.1
Die Bamberger Apokalypse. Wiesbaden: Insel-Verlag, 1958. [Facsimile]. ND3361 .R5 F32 1958 FOLIO
Evangeliorum quattor Codex Cenannensis. Bernae Helvetiorum: Urs Graf, 1950-51. [Facsimile]. Z115Z .B59 K4 FOLIO V.1
Evangeliorum quattor Codex Durmachensis. Olten: Urs Graf, 1960. [Facsimile]. BS2552 .D8 L8 V.1-2
Evangeliorum quattor Codex Lindisfarnensis. Olten: Urs Graf, 1956-60. [Facsimile]. Z115Z .B59 L5 FOLIO V.1
The Gorleston Psalter. Intr. Sydney C. Cockerell. London: Chiswick Press, 1907. [Facsimile]. ND3357 .G7 C7 FOLIO
The Luttrell Psalter. 2 plates in colour and one hundred and eighty-three in monochrome from the Additional Manuscript 42130 in the British Museum. Intr. Eric George Millar. London: 1932. [Facsimile]. ND3357 .L8 C3 FOLIO
Rabbula (Syrian Gospels). Evangeliarii Syriaci, vulgo Rabbulae in Bibliotheca Medicea-Laurentiam (Plut. 1,56). Intr. Salmi Mario. Oltun: 1959. [Facsimile]. ND3359 .R3 S3 FOLIO
Saint Severinus Apocalypse. L’Apocalypse de Saint Sever, Manuscrit Latin 8878 de la Bibliotheque Nationale (xie Siecle. Intr. Emile Moe. Paris: Editions de Cluny, 1943. [Facsimile]. ND3361 .R5 M6 FOLIO
Trinity College Apocalypse. Trinity College Apocalypse. Intr. Peter H. Brieger. London: Eugrammia Press, 1967. [Facsimile]. ND3361 .R5 B5 FOLIO
***See also Early English Manuscripts in Facsimile (vols. 8, 10, 13, 14, 16, 18, and 20) in Section III, Medieval Europe.

C: Ritual and Devotional Literature
Belbello, Luchino. The Visconti uffiziolo. Milano: Arti Grafiche Ricordi, 1964. [Facsimile]. ND3363 .V57 B413 FOLIO
The book of hours of the Emperor Maximilian the First. New York: Abaris Books, 1974. [Facsimile]. ND3363 .M3 M39
Breviary of Philip the Good. Le Breviaire de Philippe le Bon; breviaire parisin du xve siècle. Paris: M. Rousseau, 1929. [Facsimile]. ND3365 .P5 B7 1929 FOLIO
Commemoracio lamentacionis siue compassionis Beate Marie. Intr. E. Gordon Duff. Bibliographical Society of Lancashire, 1901. [Facsimile] Z115Z .C3 N8 Note: Reproduced in facsimile from the unique copy printed at Westminster by William Caxton.
The Farnese Hours. New York: G. Braziller, 1976. [Facsimile]. ND3363 .F3 S7
Heures de Nostre Dame, a l’usage de Romme en Francois: auec plusieurs belles oraisons & instructions. Anuers: 1558. BS2080 .A2 1558 SEYDEL
Liber magistri: Piacenza, Biblioteca capitolare C. 65. Piacenza: 1997. [Facsimile]. ML3080 .L53 1997 FOLIO Note: Full color facsimile reproduction of 12th century liturgical manuscript, presumably the book of the Magister scholarum at the cathedral of Piacenza. Includes the entire repertory of chants for the celebration of the Mass as well as the Hours of the Divine Office. Contains miniatures and illuminated initials.
The Master of Mary of Burgundy. A Book of Hours for Englebert of Nassau (1451-1504). Intr. J. J. G. Alexander. New York and Oxford: Bodleian Library, 1970. [Facsimile]. ND3174 .M3 A65
Officium Beatae Mariae Virginis. Antwerp: 1622. BX2080 .A2 1622 SEYDEL
Pucelle, Jean. The Hours of Jeanne d’Évreux, Queen of France, at the Cloisters, the Metropolitan Museum of Art. New York: 1957. [Facsimile]. ND3363 .J42 P8
The Rohan Master. A Book of Hours. Intr. Millard Meiss and Marcel Thomas. New York: 1973. [Facsimile]. ND3363 .R6 R613
The Sobieski Hours. New York and London: Academic Press, 1977. [Facsimile]. ND3363 .S6 S64
Wehli, Tünde. A Flemish book of hours. Budapest: Corvina/Helikon, 1989. [Facsimile]. MINI 14 V. 1-2

D: Theology and Church History

Listed below are early editions and manuscripts (including facsimiles) of Christian writers of late antiquity and the Middle Ages. As with the early editions of classical texts, only editions prior to 1700 have been selected. Further editions of works by these and other authors may be found in EUCLID.
Adam of Bremen (fl. 1068). Gesta Hamburgensis ecclesiae pontificum: Codex Havniensis. Intr. C. A. Christensen. Copenhagen: Rosenkilde and Bagger, 1948. [Facsimile]. BR854 .A3 1948 FOLIO
Antoninus, Saint, Archbishop of Florence (1389-1459). De Censuris. Venice: Joh. De Colonia, 1474. BX1757 .A6 Vault Note: leaf2a “Incipit tractatus natabilis et excoicationibus suspensionibus interdictis irregularitatibus et penis…”
Bernard of Clairveaux, Saint (1090/91-1153). Sancti Bernardi Claraevallensis Opera Omnia. Antwerp: Jannen Keerbergin, 1616. BX890 .B47 1616 FOLIO
Chrysostom, John, Saint, Archbishop of Constantinople (d. 407). Manuscript: 1 leaf from “The Homilies.” Ancient, Medieval, and Renaissance collection, item 3. MSS 37
Duns Scotus, John (c. 1266-1308). Quaestiones super quatuor libris sententiarum. Venice: J. de Colonia, 1477. BX1749 .P4 D8
Eusebius Pamphili, Bishop of Caesarea (c. 260 – c. 340). Ecclesiasticae historiae. Paris: Robert Stephan, 1544. BR160 .E4 S7 1544 FOLIO
Isidore, Saint, Bishop of Seville (d. 636). Sancti Isidori Pelusiotae presbyteri Epistolarum. Frankfurt: 1529. BX4700 .I8 A3
John of Salisbury (d. 1180). Policraticus sive de nugis curialium et de vestigiis philosophorum libri octo. Lyons: Fradin, 1513. B765 .J4 1513 Note: Second edition. First printed by the Brothers of the Common Life in 1482. The latter is practically unobtainable.
Lactantius, Lucius Caecilius Firmianus (c. 240-320). L. Coelii Lanctantii Firmiani Diviniarum institutionum libri septem, De ira Dei, liber I, De opificio Dei…. Venice: Aldi et Andreae, 1515. BR65 .L2
Lombard, Peter. Manuscript: Leaf from Sentences, 14th century, Latin. Ancient, Medieval, and Renaissance collection, item 7. MSS 37
Orosius, Paul. Pauli Orosii Hispani viri doctiss. Adversus paganos historiarum libri septem. Cologne: Eucharius Cervicorus, 1526. D17 .O58
Pseudo-Dionysius Aeropagita. Opera S. Dionysii Aeropagita. 2 Vols. Antwerp: Platin, 1634. BR65 .D56 FOLIO Note: Greek with parallel Latin translation.
Tertullian, Quintus Septimus Floreus (160-230). Q. Sept. Florentis Tertulliani Opera. Paris: 1634. BR65 .T47 1634 FOLIO
***See also Early English Manuscripts in Facsimile (vols. 2, 3, 6, 9, and 15) and Corpus Codicum Danicorum Medii Aevi (vols. 1 and 2) in Section III, Medieval Europe.

E: Canon Law
Boniface VIII. Incipit liber sextus decretalium Bonifacij Pape viij. Nuremberg: Antony Koberg, 1486. BX1939 .D4 A3 CANDLER
Clement V. Incipiunt constituiones clementis pape quinti una cum apparatu domini Johanis andrea. Nuremberg: Antony Koberg, 1486. BX1939 .D4 A3 Pt.2 CANDLER
***See also Corpus Codicum Danicorum Medii Aevi (vols. 3, 6, and 7) in Section III. Medieval Europe.

III: Medieval Europe
A: England
1: Early English Manuscripts in Facsimile
The following volumes comprise the series, Early English Manuscripts in Facsimile, a 21-volume collection of facsimile reproductions of manuscripts in Old English and Latin. These date from the Anglo-Saxon period on into the eleventh century. Emory acquired the first volumes through the legacy of Emory alumnus Kemp Malone, general editor of the series. Each volume is listed below with its contents, editor, and the primarly language of the documents reproduced.
Early English Manuscripts in Facsimile. Ed. Kemp Malone, et al. Copenhagen: Rosenkilde and Bagger, 1951f. Z115E .E37 FOLIO Vol. 1 The Thorkelin Transcripts of Beowulf in facsimile. Ed. Kemp Malone. 1951. [Old English]. Vol. 2 The Leningrad Bede; an eight century manuscript of the Venerable Bede’s Historia ecclesiastica gentis Anglorum in the Public Library, Leningrad. Ed. O. Argast. 1952. [Latin]. Vol. 3 The Tollemach Orosius. Ed. Alistair Campbell. 1953. [Old English]. Vol. 4 The Peterborough Chronicle. Ed. Dorothy Whitelock. 1954. [Old English and Anglo-Norman]. Vol. 5 Bald’s Leachbook. Ed. C. E. Wright. 1955. [Old English]. Vol. 6 The Pastoral Care; King Alfred’s translation of St. Gregory’s Regula Pastoralis. Ed. N. R. Ker. 1956. [Old English]. Vol. 7 Textus Roffensis, part 1. Ed. Peter Sawyer. 1957. [Old English]. Vol. 8 The Paris Psalter. Ed. Bertam Colgrave. 1958. [Latin with parallel Old English translation]. Vol. 9 The Moore Bede; an eighth century manuscript of the Venerable Bede’s Historia ecclesiastica gentis Anglorum in Cambridge University Library. Ed. Peter Hunter Blair. 1959. [Latin]. Vol. 10 The Blickling Homilies. Ed. Rudolf Willard. 1960. [Old English]. Vol. 11 Textus Roffensis, part 2. Ed. Peter Sawyer. 1961. [Old English]. Vol. 12 The Nowell Codex. Ed. Kemp Malone. 1963. [Old English]. Vol. 13 Aelfric’s first series of Catholic Homilies. Ed. Norman Einson and Peter Clemoes. 1966. [Old English]. Vol. 14 The Vespasian Psalter. Ed. David Wright. 1967. [Latin]. Vol. 15 The Rule of Saint Benedict. Ed. D. H. Farm. 1968. [Latin]. Vol. 16 The Durham Ritual; a southern English collectar of the tenth century with Northumbrian additions. Ed. T. J. Brown. 1969. [Latin with interlinear Old English translation]. Vol. 17 A Wulfstan Manuscript containing institutes, laws, and homilies. Ed. Henry Loyn. 1971. [Old English]. Vol. 18 The Old English Illustrated Hexateuch. Ed. C. R. Dodwell and Peter Clemoes. 1974. [Old English]. Vol. 19 The Vercelli Book. Ed. Celia Sisam. 1975. [Old English]. Vol. 20 The Durham Gospels, together with fragments of a Gospel Book in Uncial. Ed. Christopher O. Very, et al. 1980. [Latin]. Vol. 21 An Eleventh century Anglo-Saxon Illustrated Miscellany. Ed. P. McGork, et al. 1981. [Latin]. Vol. 22 The Epinal, Erfurt, Werden, and Corpus glossaries. Ed. Bernhard Bischoff, et al. 1988. [Latin and Old English]. Vol. 23 Old English verse texts from many sources: a comprehensive collection. Ed. Fred C. Robinson and E. G. Stanley. 1991. [Old English]. Vol. 24 The Tanner Bede; the Old English version of Bede’s Historia ecclesiastica, Oxford Bodleian library Tanner 10, together with the mediaeval binding leaves, Oxford Bodleian library Tanner 10* and the Domitian extracts, London British Library Cotton Domitia. Ed. Janet Bately. 1992. [Old English]. Vol. 25 The Copenhagen Wulfstan collection. Ed. James E. Cross and Jennifer Morrish Tunberg. 1993. [Latin and Old English]. Vol. 26 The Liber Vitae of the New Minster and Hyde Abbey, Winchester. Ed. Simon Keynes. 1996. [Latin and Old English].

2: Other Historical Sources
Anglo-Saxon wills. Facsimiles, 2 rolls. Kemp Malone papers, Box 7. MSS 541
British Museum Manuscript: Cottonian Julius EI, folios 281r-352v, Photocopy. D113 .B7 Note: Inscribed “Collection literarum, chartatum, tractatum, aliorumque instrumentorum, tumultuaria, ut videtur, opera transcriptiorum de rebus ad vasconiam et ducatum Aquitaniae spectantibus sub temporibus Henrici III et Edwardorum I et II regum Angliae.”
Caradog of Llancarvan (d. 1152?). The Historie of Cambria, now called Wales. Trans. H. Lloyd. London: 1584. DA715 .C25
de Bury, Richard. The Liber Epistolaris of Richard de Bury. Ed. N. Denholm Young. Oxford: 1950. [Facsimile]. PA8147 .A85 1950 FOLIO Note: List of Oxford and Durham letters dating from c. 1130-1324.
Livre d’ Agenais, Ed. From MS Bodley 917 in the Bodleian Library, Oxford. Ed. G. P. Cuttino. 1954. [Typescript]. XE368 .C88 L4 Note: 22 documents; 4 in Gascon, rest in Latin.

3: Literature
Caedmon. Caedmon Manuscript of Biblical Poetry, Junius XI, Bodleian Library. Intr. Sir Israel Gollancz. Oxford: 1927. [Facsimile]. PR1601 .G6 FOLIO
Chaucer, Geoffrey. The Canterbury tales: the new Ellesmere Chaucer facsimile. Ed. Daniel Woodward and Martin Stevens. San Marino: Huntington Library, 1995. [Facsimile]. PR1866 .W76 1995 FOLIO
-----. The Ellsemere Chaucer. 2 Vols. Manchester: 1911. [Facsimile]. Z115Z .C3
-----. Troilus and Criseyde: Corpus Christi College, Cambridge Manuscript G1. Intr. M. B. Parkes and Elizabeth Salter. Cambridge: 1978. [Facsimile]. PR1895 .A2 1978 FOLIO
-----. The workes of our antient and learned English poet, Geffrey Chaucer, newly printed. London: Adam Islip, 1598. PR1850 1598
-----. The works of Geoffrey Chaucer and The kingis quair. Intr. Julia Boffey and A. S. G. Edwards. Cambridge: D. S. Brewer, 1997. [Facsimile]. PR1203 .B57 1997
Exeter Book of Old English Poetry. Intr. R. W. Chambers, et al. London: 1933. [Facsimile]. PR1490 .A1 1933 FOLIO

B: France
Chifflet, Jean Jacques. Anastasis Childerici I Francorum regis, sive Thesaurus sepulchralis Tournaci Nerviorum effossus et commentario illustratus. Antwerp: Platin, 1655. DC66 .C5 SEYDEL Note: First archaeological report on the the discovery of the grave of King Childeric of the Franks (d. 481) under the cathedral at Tournai.
-----. Les marques d’honneur de la maison de Tassis. Anueers: 1645. DD85.8 .T38 C48 1645 FOLIO SEYDEL
Lambert le Tort (12th century). The Romance of Alexander. Intr. M. R. Jones. Oxford: 1931. [Facsimile]. PQ1421 .A5 1933 Note: Contains French metrical Roman d’ Alexandre.
Les Sires de Gavre. Histoire de seigneurs de Gavres: Roman du xe Siecle. Bruxelles: Van Dale, 1845. [Lithographic Facsimile]. PQ1533 .S55 1845 SEYDEL
Chartier, Alain (15th century). Les Oeuvres de Maistre Alain Chartier. Paris: 1617. PQ1557 .A1 1617 Note: Chartier was clerk, notary, and secretary to kings Charles VI and VII of France.
***See also Adam of Bremen, Gesta Hamburgensis ecclesiae pontificum: Codex Havniensis.

C: Germany
Ambraser Heldenbuch: Codex Vindobonensis Series Nova 2663 Oesterreichische Nationalbibliothek. Ed. Frank Unterkirchen. Graz: 1973. [Facsimile]. PT1413 .A4 1973 FOLIO
Carmina Burana. Ed. Bernard Bischoff. Munich: 1970. [Facsimile]. PA8133 .S8 C283 Note: Poems in Latin and German.
Das Nibelungenlied und die Klage Handschrift C Hofbibliothek Donaueschingen. 2 Vols. Intr. Heinz Engels. Stuttgart: 1968. [Facsimile]. PT1575 .A1 C 1968
Die Weingartner Liederhandschrift. 2 Vols. Intr. Wilhelm Hoffmann, et al. Stuttgart: 1969. [Facsimile]. PT1419 .W4 W4 Note: Includes poems by Reinmar, Dietmar von Aist, Walther von der Vogelweide, Wolfram von Eschenbach, and several other 12th and 13th century authors.
Goldast, Melchior (1578-1635). Collectio Consuetudinum et legum imperialum. Frankfurt: 1613. JN3249 .G64 FOLIO Note: Collection of acts and records dating from Roman times to 1609 (Letter of Majesty). Also includes texts of Lombard Laws, Sachsenspeigel (Saxon Mirror), Wichbild (Magdeburg Law), Saxon Feudal Code, and the Jus Cammerale Novissima (1604).
Konrad der Pfaffe (12th century). Das Rolandlied der Pfaffen Konrad, Codex Palatinus Germanicus 112. Bibliothek Heidelberg. 2 Vols. Intr. Wilhelm Werner and Heinz Zirnbauer. Weisbuch: 1970. [Facsimile]. PT1553 .A1 1970 Note: Middle High German text of the Song of Roland.
vom Stein, Marquart. Die Holzschnitte zum Ritter vom Turn (Basel 1493) mit 48 zinkätzungen mit einer einleitung von Rudolf Kautzsch. Strassburg: J. H. E. Heitz, 1903. [Facsimile]. NE1255 .R5 K3 1903 SEYDEL Note: The “Ritter vom Turn” is a translation, by Marquart vom Stein, of "Le livre pour l'enseignement de ses filles," by Geoffroy de La Tour- Landry.
Wolfram von Eschenbach (12th century). Parzival, Titural, Tagelieder; Cgm 19, der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek, Munich. 2 Vols. Intr. Gerhard August, et al. Stuttgart: 1970. [Facsimile]. PT1682 .A23

D: Greece
Miniatures de plus anciens manuscrits grecs de la Bibliotheque Nationale du VIe au XIVe siecle. Paris: 1929. [Facsimile]. ND2898 .P205 FOLIO

E: Italy
Petrarca, Francesco. Il Petrarca. Venice: 1533. PQ4476 .B33

Reproductions from Illuminated Manuscripts: 50 plates from the Medicean Laurentiam Library. Intr. Guido Biagi. London: 1914. [Facsimile]. ND2898 .F5 A3 Note: Selections of manuscripts from the 7th to 15th centuries.

F: Portugal
Mendes da Vidigueira, Manoel. Vida e fabulas do insigne, fabulador Grego Esopo: de novo juntas, e tradusidas com breves applicacoens moraes a cada fabula. Lisboa: 1689. PA3855 .P8 M46 1689 Note: Portuguese translation of Aesop’s Fables.

G: Scandinavia
1: Corpus Codicum Danicorum
The Corpus Codicum Danicorum Medii Aevi is a collection of Danish documents from the eleventh through the fifteenth centuries reproduced in facsimile form. Most of the documents in the series are, as the name suggests, legal sources from the twelfth and thirteenth centuries. Each volume reproduces several codices, and the contents of each volume, along with the editor and the primary language, are listed below.
Corpus Codicum Danicorum Medii Aevi. General Editor, Johannes Brøndum-Nielsen. Hafniae: Eyner Munksgard, 1960f. DL103 .C6 FOLIO
Vol. 1 Necrologium Ludense. Ed. Erik Kroman. 1960. [Latin]. Vol. 2 Liber Capituli Arviensis (Arhus); Liber Monasterii Carae Insulae. Ed. C. A. Christensen. 1960. [Latin]. Vol. 3 Leaum Scaniae, Jus Ecclesiastium Scaniae. Ed. J. Brøndum-Nielsen. 1961. [Old and Middle Danish]. Vol. 4 Codices Scriptorum Rerum Danicorum: Chronica. Ed. Erik Kroman. 1962. Contains: Officium Sancti Canuti Ducis et Martyris necnon Chronica Roscildense; Fragmentum Saxonis Gestorum Danorum (Angers Fragment); Fragmentus Saxonis Gestorum Danorum quod dicitur Lassenianum; Fragmentus Saxonis Gestorum Danorum quod dicitur Kall Rassmussianum; Fragmentum Saxonis Gestorum Danorum quod dicitur Plexnerianum; Saxonis Gesta Danorum in Compendium Redacta et continuation eusdem sive chronica Jutensis; Gesta Danorum sive chronica Danice scripta; Chronica rerum danorum a dan ad Beronem Danice scripte vulgo Sagnkronike; Series Regum Danicorum Danice. [Latin and Danish].
Vol. 5 Codices Scriptorum Rerum Danicorum: Annales. Ed. Erik Kroman. 1965. Contains: Annales Colbazenses; Annales Dano Suecmi Dccccxvi-Mcclxiii; Annales Ludenses et Chronicon Lethense; Annales Scanici; Annales Valdemariai; Annales Nestuedienses Majores; Annales Sorani Minores; Annales Lxvi-Mcclxxxvii; Annales Ryenses; Annales Ryenses Danie; Annales Essenbecenses; Chronicon Regum Danie Esthoniense. Vol. 6 Codicem Rantzovianum, Legum Scaniae, Jus Ecclesiastia Scaniae, Legum Castrasem aliqum continentem, Consolatione Animae. Ed. J. Brøndum-Nielsen. 1966. Vol. 7 Codicem Ledreburgensem, 12, 12; Codicem Arnamegnaeanum 41, 4; Codicem Holmiensem B69; Codicem Holmiensem B72. Ed. Karl Martin Nielsen. 1965. Contains: Legum Scania; Jus Ecclesiasticum Scaniae. [Latin and Danish]. Vol. 8 Necrologium Ripense. Ed. Erik Buus. 1967. [Latin]. Vol. 9 Codicem Annamagnaeanum 286, 2; Codicem Annamagnaeanum 4, 4; Codicem Annamagnaeanum 435.12; Legum Jutiae. Ed. Peter Skatrup. 1972. [Danish]. Vol. 10 Codicem Holmiensem C44, C47; Legum Jutiae. Ed. Peter Skatrup. 1973.

2: Other Historical Sources
Ari Thorgilsson, Frodi (1068-1148). Arii Thorgilsis filii, cognomentô Froda, id est Multificii vel polyhistoris ... Schedae, seu Libellus de Is-landia, Islendinga-Bok dictus. Hafnae: 1733. PT7263 .A1 1733
Islands Landnamabok. Liber Origum Islandiae. Hafnae: 1774. PT7266 .A1 1774 Note: Old Icelandic with parallel Latin translation.
Iceland, Annales. Islenzkir Annalar. Sive analles islandici ab anno Christi 803 ad annum 1430. Hafnae: 1847. DL336 .I8 Note: Old Icelandic with parallel Latin translation.
Hin forna logbok Islendinga, sem nefnist Grags: Codex iuris islandorum antiquissimus…. Hafnae: 1829. PT7321 .G7 1829 Note: Old Icelandic with parallel Latin translation.
Hin forna logbok Islendinga, sem nefnist Jarnsida edr Hakonarbok; Codex juris Islandorum antiquissimus…. Hafnae: 1847. PT7321 .J3 1847 Note: Old Icelandic with parallel Latin translation.
Saxo Grammaticus (fl. 1200). Saxonis Grammatici Historiae Danicae Libri XVI. Sorae: 1644. DL147 .S27 1644

3: Literature, Icelandic Sagas
Most of the editions in this collection were printed in Havn from the manuscripts of Arni Magnussen, an early 18th century Icelandic scholar, who prepared the first critical editions of the Sagas. These editions mark the first printings of many of the full saga texts, and they are notable for the parallel Latin translations of the Icelandic text. Unless otherwise noted, all of the following works are printed in that format.
Eyrbyggia-Saga. Hafnae: 1787. PT7269 .E5 S9
Gothrici & Rolfi Westrogothiae regum historia. Upsalla: 1664. PT7287 .H83 V4 Note: Old Norse with parallel Swedish translation.
Hervarar Saga. Upsalla: 1672. PT7287 .H57 V4 Note: Old Norse with parallel Swedish translation.
Hervararsaga, ok Heidrekskongs. Hafnae: 1785. PT7287 .H57 A1 1785
Njals-Saga. Hafnae: 1809. PT7269 .N4 L54
Orkneyinga Saga. Saga hins Helga Magnussar eyia Jarls. Hafnae: 1780. PT7281 .O6 J6
Sturlusson, Snorri (1179?-1241). Edda, Saemundar Hinnas Froda. 3 Vols. Hafnae: 1787. PT7233 .A1 1787
Saga om Tryggwaszon i Norrege. Ed. Jacob Istmenos Reenbjeim. Upsalla: 1691. PT7279 .O7 R4 Note: Old Norse with parallel Swedish translation.
Sagan af Gunnlaugi Ormstungu ok Skald-Rafni. Hafnae: 1775. PT7269 .G9 A1 1775
Viga-Glums Saga. Hafnae: 1786. PT7269 .V5 A1

H: Spain
Ruiz, Juan Arcipreste de Hite. Libro de buen amor. Madrid: EDILAN, 1975. [Facsimile]. PQ6430 .A1 1975

 




 


© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322 | Updated: June 6, 2007