Woodruff (Main) Chemistry Music & Media Manuscript, Archives, Rare Books Oxofrd Business Health Law Theology
       EUCLID Catalog    Library Info
 
Overview of the Collections
Descriptions and Indexes
 

    Visiting MARBL
 
Hours
Directions
Accommodations
 

    Research Services
 
Requesting & Using Materials
Reproduction Services
Permissions
Remote Research
 
 


    EUCLID Finding Aids Irish Literary Manuscripts Portal MARBL Subject Guides Digital Collections

This guide identifies manuscript collections that are related to Asia.  Although Asian materials are not among the major areas of concentration in the holdings of the Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library, many of the collections described in this guide include items that illuminate the society and the history of the region.  Many of these collections concern missionary activity primarily conducted by the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, and date from circa 1850 to the 1960s.  The rest are papers of journalists, soldiers, travelers, diplomats, and scholars.

This guide is not intended to be a complete finding aid to the collections.  It serves as a preliminary research tool, providing a brief description of holdings with basic information on size, inclusive dates, types of records, and broad subject areas.  More detailed descriptions of the sources listed below are available in the Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library (MARBL) and through EUCLID, the Emory Libraries’ online catalog.  EUCLID contains bibliographic records for the majority of the manuscript collections held in MARBL as well as books and other printed material available at Emory University.  EUCLID is accessible through the Internet at http://www.library.emory.edu.  Finding aids for these sources are also available through MARBL's Web site at http://marbl.library.emory.edu/FindingAids/index.htmlPlease note that some collections may not yet have finding aids available and that this site is a work in progress.

Please note that not all manuscript collections are housed in MARBL.  Some collections are located at an off-site storage facility and must be requested in advance.  In addition, some collections have access restrictions.  Researchers are encouraged to contact MARBL to insure that materials will be available.  We are also happy to pull materials in advance of a research visit.

Researchers may visit MARBL Monday through Friday 8:30-5:30; Saturdays 9- 5:30. Hours are subject to change during holiday and intersession periods. During the summer, Saturday hours are 10-4. It is recommended that researchers contact the archives in advance to confirm information about the collections and business hours. Address inquiries to: Research Services, Manuscripts, Archives, and Rare Book Library, Emory University, Robert W. Woodruff Library, Atlanta, GA 30322. Phone: 404-727-6887; Fax: 404-727-0360; Email:marbl@emory.edu. You may also visit our Web site at the following address for further information about the archives and its holdings: http://marbl.library.emory.edu


ALLEN, YOUNG JOHN (MSS 11)

Papers, 1854-1924; 16.25 linear ft. (35 boxes, 3 bound volumes, 13 oversized papers)

Georgia; China

Allen (1836-1907), an Emory College alumnus, was a Methodist missionary to China (Shanghai), editor of the North China Herald, and founder of and writer for the Wan Kwoh Kung Po (Review of the Times).  He also helped to establish the Anglo-Chinese University and the McTyeire Home and School in Shanghai.  The collection contains correspondence with family, church officials, members of the Board of Missions and others, including several native Chinese and Yun Tchi Ho, a Korean convert and president of the Anglo-Korean School at Songdo (Kaesong).  Additional material includes diaries (1855-1878); missionary lists; clippings and subject files reflecting religious, political and social issues; sermons and essays; and printed works on both religious and secular themes written or published by Allen.  Topics discussed include Chinese culture, United States-Chinese and Sino-Japanese relations, and missionary activity.  A related collection, the Warren Akin Candler Papers (MSS2), contains Candler's unpublished biography of Allen.

BARTON, ETTA PURSLEY (MSS 737)

Papers, 1915-1992; 20.25 linear ft. (46 boxes, 2 oversized papers)

Korea

Etta Pursley Barton (1897-1992) and her husband Rev. J. Hamby Barton began the Barton Education Fund (BETF) in 1950, which was designed to aid foreign Methodist students who wished to study in the United States.  These students came primarily from Korea but also China, Vietnam, Nigeria, and India.  Material about the BETF is located in Series 3 and includes correspondence and other items concerning those students BETF supported.  Topics discussed in the correspondence include Methodism, adjustment to American life, the Korean War (1950-1953), Korean unification, and education.  Series 6 includes slides Etta Barton took of these students.

BINGHAM, JOSEPH REID (MSS 237)

Papers, 1889-1939; .125 linear ft. (1box)

Mississippi; China; Japan

Correspondence of  Joseph Reid Bingham (1861-1933), a Methodist layman who was active on the Board of Missions, includes letters from Bishop Charles Betts Galloway during his travels abroad as a representative of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, in the early 1900's, and contains information about American attitudes towards the Chinese and Japanese.

 

BRICE, RICHARD THEOBALD (MSS 567)

Papers, 1926-1969; 4.5 linear ft. (10 boxes)

Pacific Islands; China

Brice (1910- ) served as a supply officer in the Asian theater (Solomon and Philippine Islands) during World War II.  His correspondence with his family during this period, chiefly personal in nature, includes speculation about future desert combat in China and other Asian matters.

BURKE, WILLIAM BLOUNT (MSS 187)

Papers, 1887-1964; .5 linear ft. (1 box)

Georgia; China; Japan

Most of these papers comprise letters (1933-1941) from William Blount Burke (1864-1947) to his son, James, personal in nature, that describe Burke's daily life during his service as a Methodist missionary in Sungkiang.  Little in these letters reveals the political or social climate of China, although the "New Life Movement" (1934, 1935), student protests against the Japanese (1935), and general comments on China's lack of progress in world affairs all find mention.  A small group of letters, written while Burke was in Macon, Georgia and during his return to Sungkiang in 1938, contains observations on affairs between Japan and China.  Included are an account of Burke's difficulties in passing through the Japanese blockade and comments criticizing America's role in supporting Japan in the Sino-Japanese War.  Some letters (1942) deal with Burke's and other missionaries' arrests by the Japanese. Clippings in the collection include articles Burke wrote for the North China Daily News and notices in Chinese newspapers on Burke's retirement.  Also in the collection are materials relating to James Burke's career with Time-Life as a photographer and journalist in the Far East, including drafts for his book, My Father in China.  N.B.  Other Burke papers are held by the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

CANDLER, WARREN A. (MSS 2)

Papers, 1846-1977; 31 linear ft. (124 boxes, 4 oversized papers, 2 bound volumes, 1 oversized bound volume)

Georgia; China; Japan; Korea

Candler (1857-1941), an educator and a Methodist bishop, was president of Emory College and instrumental in establishing Emory University.  He also at various times held Episcopal responsibility in the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, for Mexico, for Cuba, and for the Orient.  Most of the collection comprises official correspondence reflecting Candler's various duties.  The materials pertaining to the Orient date from 1893 to 1928 and mainly reflect missionary activity in China, Korea, and, to a lesser extent, Japan. Correspondents include Yun Ch’i-ho, Young John Allen and Bishop E. R. Hendrix.  Yun's letters are particularly illuminating, and he reports on a wide variety of political and social issues as well as on his struggle to establish the first Methodist Episcopal Church, South, mission in Korea.  Other letters and reports relate to the Board of Missions and missionary administration and remark on daily life in China and Korea.  Topics include Chinese/Japanese hostilities (from 1895 on); Korean political repression and reform; social conditions in Korea and China; the "Tong Haks;" architecture; antecedents of the Russo-Japanese War; western influences on Oriental culture and education; western views of Japanese militarism; relations between Korea and Japan; travel.  For a related collection, see the Young John Allen Papers (MSS 11) and the Yun Ch’I-ho papers.

CLARK, JAMES OSGOOD ANDREW (MSS 19)

Papers, 1807-1945; 3. 75 linear feet (9 boxes)

James Osgood Andrew Clark (1827-1894), clergyman, lawyer, and educator, was educated in New England, but returned to Savannah, where he was admitted to the Georgia bar (1853) and was ordained in the Methodist Episcopal Church, South (1854). He became financial agent for Emory College (1867-1871). He and his family settled in Macon, Georgia, where he served as presiding elder of the South Georgia Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South (1875-1894).  The papers include two scrolls given to Ella Anderson Clark by Madame Chang Kai-Shek in appreciation for tutoring her while she was at Wesleyan College in 1913.  The scrolls, written in Chinese, talk about missionary activities in China.

COLEMAN, CHARLES (MSS 398)

Papers, 1819‑1909; .5 linear ft. (1 box)

Great Britain; China

This collection of correspondence, which reflects the lives and the attitudes of the Victorian upper class and nobility, includes a small group of letters from Charles Coleman’s [1824-1905] brother, John Coleman, a clerk who served in the Chinese (Canton, Foochow) colonial offices of Dent and Brothers from 1854-1858.  Coleman makes general observations about living conditions and colonial society in Canton, and he also relates his part in the lucrative drug trade between Calcutta and Canton.  The British capture of Canton in 1858 is also discussed.

COTTON FAMILY (MSS 279)

Papers, 1810-1939; .5 linear ft. (1 box)

China; Japan; Indonesia

Materials in this collection include correspondence of Charles Cotton Blackshear (1862-1938), a philosopher and chemist who abandoned teaching after twenty‑five years to study Sanskrit and Indian architecture.  Blackshear traveled widely and lived in Java for fifteen years.  Included among his papers are a discussion of school activities in Singapore (1913), a detailed account of Balinese cremation practices, and vivid descriptions of street scenes and general impressions of Yokohama, Tokyo (including Shiba Park), Nikko, Hong Kong and Singapore.  A diary of his 1912 world tour provides a brief itinerary of his journey but contains little detailed information.

 

DRAPER, THEODORE (MSS 579)

Research Files, 1919-1970; 30 linear ft. (48 boxes, 122 reels microfilm, 1 oversized paper)

United States; China

The research files of Theodore Draper (1912- ) comprise printed and non-print material gathered by him during his research of international affairs and his studies of the American Communist Party.  Material about Chinese communism is scant, although the collection includes published foreign and Communist International pamphlets that refer to Chinese developments, as well as a typescript article by Earl Browder entitled "Browder Talks: Mao Tse-tung and Tito"  (1953).

FLOYD, ARVA COLBERT (MSS 524)

Papers, 1934-1973; 4 linear ft. (4 boxes)

United States; China; Japan

Floyd (1898-1973) was professor of Christian missions and World Religions, and of Oriental History, in the School of Theology of Emory University.  Previously, he had been a Methodist missionary in Japan.  These papers constitute his office files while he was on the Emory University faculty and contain letters, numerous clippings, student papers, lecture notes and syllabi, and typescript drafts of Floyd's writings.  The fullest subject files pertain to the history of Christianity in Japan and in China.  Neither research material for his two books, White Man -- Yellow Man and the Diary of Young John Allen, nor items dating from his missionary days are among these papers.

FRANK FAMILY (MSS 966)

Papers, 1898-1992; 3 linear ft. (6 boxes, 15 oversized papers, 5 bound volumes)

Philippine Islands

Following the outbreak of war with Japan on December 8, 1941, in the Philippines, two brothers Samuel and Patrick James Frank were captured and imprisoned in the Davao Internment Camp.  Their father Patrick Henry Frank was captured in Manila and interned at Santo Tomas Internment Camp.  Father and sons survived internment and were liberated by American troops on February 3, 1945 and returned to the United States.  The papers include correspondence, materials relating to the Franks’ internment in the Philippines, photographs, printed material, and audio-visual materials, focusing on the family’s experience just prior to and during World War II in the Philippines.

GALLOWAY, CHARLES B. (MSS 39)

Papers, 1879-1910; .25 linear ft. (3 folders)

Mississippi; China

Although Galloway (1849-1909) was known as the "missionary bishop of Methodism," little in these papers reflects his extensive tours of the Orient.  A letter posted Shanghai, 1883, comments on Chinese xenophobia and the disinclination on the part of the Chinese to distinguish among kinds of foreigners.

 

GRIFFITH, BEVERLY (MSS 42)

Papers, 1832-1971; .5 linear ft. (1 box, 4 oversized papers)

United States; China

Beverly Griffith was a public relations agent for several Hollywood studios before he became director of public relations for Eastern Airlines.  This collection includes a letter (1932) postmarked Nanking concerning distribution rights of American films in China.

 

HADEN, THOMAS HENRY (MSS 447)

Diaries, 1896-1946; 37 bound volumes

China; Japan; Korea

The diaries of Thomas Henry Haden (1863-1946) document Haden's service in Japan as a Methodist missionary and educator.  From 1896, he was a professor in the academic and biblical departments of the Kwansei Gakuin in Kobe, Japan.  Most of the entries reflect general mission routine and Haden's activities in teaching and in establishing a Christian university in Japan.  Among the entries are occasional essays on the educational history of Christian schools in Japan (vol. 2).  Scattered references discuss unsettled social conditions in Japan and antagonism towards Americans (vols. 12, 16. 29), the status of missions in Korea and China (vol. 15), and relationships among the United States, Japan and China (vol. 32).  Other entries give Haden's impressions as he traveled throughout the region, including his description of a "pleasure resort," complete with opium den, in Shanghai (vol. 2).

HARWELL, RICHARD B. (MSS 310)

Papers, 1940-1991; 2.25 linear ft. (5 boxes)

Japan

Richard B. Harwell (1915-1988), librarian, bibliographer, and author, served with the U.S. Navy during World War II.  The collection includes a notebook about Japan and miscellaneous World War II material.

INDEPENDENT PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH (SAVANNAH, GA) (MSS 490)

Records, 1800-1960; 15 reels microfilm

Georgia; China

Among these papers is a “Foreign Missions” series containing the equivalent of nine folders of correspondence, reports and photographs relating chiefly to the church’s support of and the Rev. Waddy H. Hudson’s mission to Kashing, China.  Most of this material dates from 1917 to 1924, with occasional items dated as late as 1957.  The correspondence, chiefly letters from Hudson, provides detailed financial reports of the mission, descriptions of the facilities and activities there, full documentation of mission administration, roughly sketched plats of mission property, and lists of “extension churches” together with their locations and membership statistics.  Hudson also comments on the cooperation between local Chinese officials and missionaries and remarks at length about the schedules and expenditures related to the mission’s motor boat.  Numerous photographs depict local scenes and mission personnel; a sketch map depicts Kashing presbytery.  Also among these documents are minute books of the Women’s Foreign Missionary Society in Savannah (1904-1922), which include records of the society’s financial support for Hudson’s mission, and a typed manuscript entitled “The Kashing Story,” which Hudson drafted in 1957 as his memoirs.  The entire collection is on microfilm only; the originals are held privately.

JAFFE, PHILIP J. (MSS 605)

Papers, 1936-1980; 90.25 linear ft. (160 boxes, 13 oversized paper, 1oversized bound volume, 3 reels microfilm)

China; Japan; Korea

Jaffe (1895-1980), a businessman who had a special interest in the Communist Party and in the Chinese communists, was a co-founder of the magazine Amerasia and enjoyed a wide reputation for his prominent position in left-wing circles.  These papers document his participation in the American Friends of the Chinese People, his editorial work for China Today and Amerasia, his visits with Mao Tse-tung and others in Yenan (1937), his investigation by the Federal Bureau of Investigation and the Tydings Committee (1945-1950), and his diminished stature with the Communist Party U.S.A.  Included are correspondence; published and unpublished writings, including a typescript of Jaffe's unpublished autobiography; legal documents; subject files on people associated with China; typed manuscripts, notes and correspondence regarding Amerasia, photographs of various Chinese Communists, guerrilla theater, political rallies and street scenes taken mainly during Jaffe's trip to Yenan; foreign correspondent reports filed from Japan by Hugh Dean during the American occupation (1945-1952), including translations from the Japanese communist presses and a series of "Korea Reports" (1948); case files pertaining to the FBI break-in of the Amerasia offices and the subsequent seizure of documents (1945).  A large group of notecards contain biographical information about prominent Asians and subscriber records of Amerasia magazine.  The largest and most diverse series in these papers is "China" (Series 111, 11 boxes), which focuses on the Chinese communists from the early 1930's until their accession to power in 1949.  The extensive subject files in this series pertain to relief organizations, United States-Chinese and Sino-Soviet relations.  Also included are copies of Mao's early speeches, newsletters from the Kiangsi Soviet (1933), and Jaffe's notebooks recording interviews with Mao Tse-tung, Chou En-lai, Chu Teh and P'o Ku in Yenan.  Other topics include analyses of Japanese power in 1941 and 1945, a proposed loan program to China in 1937, and the Institute of Pacific Relations.

JANE, FREDERICK THOMAS (MSS 165)

Scrapbooks, 1905-1948; 16 bound volumes

Europe; Japan

These scrapbooks, kept by Frederick Thomas Jane (1870-1916) and by his successor as editor of Jane's Fighting Ships, F.E. McMurtrie, contain clippings of their newspaper articles concerning nautical topics and include numerous articles about the Japanese navy.  Jane's clippings are indexed.

JENKINS, ALFRED LE SESNE (MSS 681)

Papers, 1954-1979; 5 linear ft. (10 boxes, 1 oversized paper)

United States; China

Jenkins (1916-) served as the Director of Asian Communist Affairs in the Department of State and accompanied President Richard M. Nixon on his 1972 trip to the People's Republic of China.  These papers comprise official press releases, itineraries and newsclippings (American and Chinese) documenting both this tour and Secretary of State Henry Kissinger's visit to China the following year.  Also included are published reports (1954-1968), sound tapes and video recordings of interviews with and addresses by Jenkins (1971-1976).

KNIGHT, MARY LAMAR (MSS 515)

Papers, 1862-1975; 3.5 linear ft. (7 boxes)

United States; China; Indo-China

Papers of this journalist and foreign correspondent include a group of letters from Prince Le Chau Tuan of Annam and clippings of Knight's articles about China in the early 1950's; she strongly supports Chiang Kai-shek and denounces the communists.  Additional items include a banner documenting her interest in the "New Life Movement" (1946).

 

MARTIN, HAROLD H. (MSS 537)

Papers, 1837-1977; 20.75 linear ft. (54 boxes, 2 oversized papers)

Georgia; China; Philippine Islands

Among these papers of Harold H. Martin (1910-) are letters, lectures, speeches and notes from the diary kept by Nancy Hamilton Ogden documenting her service with the American Red Cross at Canton Christian College.  This material reveals her observations on the political, economic and social life of China, principally in Canton (1925-1927).  The fullest comments come from her diary entries, in which she discusses Cantonese monetary policies, local political struggles between the College and the Chinese community, and student strikes.  She also comments at length on civil war in China (especially between the Cantonese and the Yunnanese), the exploits of Chaing Kai-shek and Chang T'so-lin, the suppression of communists, military dangers in Hong Kong, and anti-foreign feeling towards English and American citizens.  Aside from political topics, Mrs. Ogden also details numerous social customs, including Chinese legends, a Chinese wedding, kite flying, the Chinese theater, dining customs, and celebrations of various festivals.  She also describes the silk worm industry, refers to Japanese mill workers and offers a vivid account of her visit to the monastery at Fei Loi.  Additional materials include a small group of letters written by Mrs. Ogden to her husband when she visited the Philippine Islands in 1925; scripts for slide shows that she prepared, entitled "Things Chinese," which depict street scenes chiefly in Shanghai and Hong Kong (photographs missing); and a group of transcriptions comprising English translations of Chinese poetry prepared by Professor Herbert A. Giles of Cambridge University.

MCGILL, RALPH EMERSON (MSS 252)

Papers, 1853-1971; 62.5 linear ft. (126 boxes, 32 oversized papers, 75 bound volumes, 7 reels microfilm, 30 framed items)

Georgia; Japan; Southeast Asia

McGill (1898-1969), who was editor and publisher of the Atlanta Constitution, made two trips to Asia, in 1962 and in 1966.  His papers reflect both trips incompletely.  Papers pertaining to his 1962 journey to Japan to meet with the Japanese Political Writers give views of Japanese journalists, their self-perceptions, and perceptions of the American press concerning Japanese reporters' prejudices and freedoms.  McGill's 1966 tour included visits to Japan and South Vietnam.  Most of the material pertaining to this tour comprises printed press packets and briefing material issued by the United States government, although additional items include photographs and South Vietnamese propaganda leaflets together with English translations.

METHODIST MISCELLANY (MSS 329)

1813-      ; .75 linear ft. (1 box, 1 oversized paper, 21 bound volumes)

Georgia; China; Japan

Among the papers in this collection of Methodist documents is a letter written by Ralph A. Ward, resident bishop of Chengtu, Szechuan, China, October 24, 1940 in which he discusses his recent visit to Japan, the break-down of Japanese-American relations and the Christian church in Japan.

ORR FAMILY (MSS 268)

Papers, 1825-1970; 4.75 linear ft. (10 boxes, 4 oversized papers, 3 bound volume)

Georgia; Japan

Some letters in this collection provide casual and informal descriptions of sights visited during travels to Japan.  Included are narratives of visits to Nagasaki and Hiroshima (ca. 1955), together with comments about the effects of the atomic blasts.

PARKS, JACK HENRY (MSS 611)

Papers, 1959-1970; .5 linear ft. (1 box)

Japan

Jack Henry Parks (1918-) was a newspaper editor in Dahlonega, Georgia.  The photographs in the collection include one group depicting conditions on Okinawa (ca. 1945) during World War II.

 

RAOUL FAMILY (MSS 548)

Papers, 1856-1982; 23.25 linear ft. (47 boxes, 11 oversized papers, 1 oversize bound volume)

Georgia; China; Japan; Philippine Islands

Among these papers are letters and photographs by Mary Raoul Millis (ca. 120 items) documenting her residence in Manila (1905-1907), where her husband was stationed with the U.S. Army.  Lengthy journal letters recording the family's voyage include detailed descriptions of Yokohama, Tokyo and Koyoto, as well as comments on Shanghai.  Observations include the marked division of wealth in Shanghai and the crowded street scenes there, footbinding, Japanese baths, and other topics of social interest.  Letters from the Philippines provide vivid descriptions of Manila and comment on America as a colonial power.  Many of Millis' letters reflect her household routine and include such topics as diet, wages for staff, entertainment, clothing, shopping and bargaining with Chinese merchants, and the availability of western goods.

RIDENOUR MABEL LOEB (MSS 560)

Papers, 1920-1968; 2.5 linear ft. (5 boxes, 1 oversized paper)

Georgia; China

Papers of Mabel Loeb Ridenour (1888-1979), an Atlanta advertising executive, include a letter dated Peking, 1926 June 18, recounting frequent stops and inspections by troops during travel to that city through "the fighting zone."

SETTLE, MARY LEE (MSS 80)

Papers, [1984-1987]; .25 linear ft. (1 box)

China; Southeast Asia

Mary Lee Settle (1918-), author and American novelist, wrote about her travels to Hong Kong.  The collection includes correspondence to Tom Jenks of Esquire magazine in which she discusses an article she is writing for the magazine about her travels to Hong Kong.  Also includes two corrected typescripts for an untitled travel piece on Hong Kong and Southeast Asia and five color snapshots possibly of Hong Kong.

SEYDELL, MILDRED (MSS 449)

Papers, 1842-1978; 65.25 linear ft. (150 boxes, 48 oversized papers)

Georgia; China

The papers of Mildred Seydell (1889-1988) includes seven letters written by Mr. Gene Turner, a Y.M.C.A. official who served in Hanchow, China.  Turner writes about Chiang Kai-shek's "New Life Movement," the success of the Y.M.C.A. in China, particularly among non-Christian Chinese supporters, and, in 1937, about conditions in Hanchow during the Sino-Japanese War.  Turner describes the collapse of local government services, the exodus of the populace, the condition of emptying shops, troop morale, and the guarded security of the city once imminent danger had passed.

 

STANLEY, MORRIS BURNS. AMERICA FIRST COMMITTEE (MSS 411)

Research Collection, 1940-1942; .5 linear ft. (1 box; 2 oversized papers)

United States; Europe; Japan

These research files include correspondence with United States senators and others, clippings, transcriptions, and printed matter gathered by Stanley Morris Burns as he wrote his master’s thesis, “The America First Committee: a Study in Recent American Non-Interventionism” (M.A., Emory University, 1942).  Although most of this material is devoted to European developments, some printed matter and correspondence relate to the Asian theater.

THOMSON, ALBERT DANNER (MSS 716)

Papers, 1883-1919; 1.5 linear ft. (3 boxes, 1 oversized paper, 2 bound volumes, 1 oversize bound volume)

China; Japan; Korea

Albert Danner Thomson (1877-1953), an Atlanta businessman, accompanied Bishop Warren A. Candler and Asa G. Candler, Jr. to Japan, Korea, and China in 1906.  The collection includes correspondence from July-December 1906 describing the trip, two travel diaries (July 18-August 7, 1906 and August 8, 1906-January 17, 1907), a photo album, clippings, and printed materials.  With the correspondence is one letter from P.Y. Suezl, Acting Secretary of the Chekiang Society addressed to the Board of Trustees Methodist Mission South (July 9, 1906) which discusses a land dispute between the Huchow (of Chekiang Province) literati and Rev. T. A. Hearn, a Methodist missionary to China.

WEINSTEIN ALFRED ABRAHAM (MSS 564)

Papers, 1908-1964; 2.25 linear ft. (5 boxes, 4 oversized papers, 10 oversize bound volumes)

Georgia; Philippine Islands; Japan

Weinstein (1908-1964) served as a U.S. Army surgeon in Bataan, where he was captured by the Japanese Imperial forces in 1942.  He was interned at Camp O'Donnell, transported to Japan and put in charge of a P.O.W. hospital in Shinagawa, subsequently removed to a punishment camp at Mitsushima, and liberated by U.S. forces in September, 1945.  These papers document Weinstein's incarceration, release and, occasionally, the subsequent progress of individuals who shared his experiences.  Items include correspondence during his imprisonment, letters written after his liberation recounting some of his ordeals, scrapbooks of letters and clippings from the World War II period, and near-print material and correspondence concerning the publication of Weinstein's book, Barbed-Wire Surgeon.

WILSON, ALPHEUS WATERS (MSS 417)

Papers, 1854-1916; .5 linear ft. (1 box, 1 oversized paper)

Maryland; China; Japan; Korea

Most of these papers comprise letters written by Bishop Wilson (1834-1916) and his wife during their various travels to Asia in Wilson's capacity as secretary of the Methodist (South) Board of Missions.  Letters from Wilson to his wife, dated 1886 and 1890, describe Kyoto and the Buddhist college there, travel from Peking to Shanghai, and the city of Shanghai and its harbor. Many of the letters in this collection were written by Mrs. (Susan Lipscomb) Wilson to her daughters during her 1907 visit to China, Japan and Korea.  Her frequent trips between China and Japan are well documented, and she refers in passing to such topics as foot-binding, canal travel in China, and her impression of Hong Kong.  She records the needs and activities of the McTyeire School (Shanghai) and the mission school at Songdo, Korea, as well as providing general information about Methodist missionary activity in the region.  Most of her accounts, however, concern whom she visited rather than what she did or observed.  Included among the papers are an account of the Centennial Conference commemorating 100 years of mission work in China (1907), which provides the number of doctors, teachers and preachers in service at the time of the conference, and a set of minutes documenting the First Japan General Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South (1907).

WOODWARD, EMILY BARNELIA (MSS 424)

Papers, 1918-1970; 5.75 linear ft. (10 boxes, 2 oversized bound volumes)

Georgia; Japan

Miss Woodward (1885‑1970), a Georgia journalist and a leader in developing public forums in the state, was a member of the United States Education Mission to Japan in 1946 under the auspices of the War Department and the Department of State.  Among her papers are: a printed report of the mission (Tokyo, 1946 March 30); a few letters concerning her participation in the trip; photographs of postwar (1945 September) Tokyo, Yokohama and Nagasaki; and a scrapbook of photographs documenting the mission's activities.

 

YUN CH’I-HO (MSS 754)

Papers, 1883-1943; 9 linear ft. (20 boxes)

China; Korea; Georgia; Tennessee

Yun Ch’I-ho (1864-1945) was a Methodist teacher and minister.  The collection consists mainly of Yun’s diaries dated 1883, 1889-1905, 1916-1935, 1938-1941, and 1943 and correspondence from 1895-1918 which documentYun’s activities as a secretary in the Korean Foreign Office (1883-1885), as a student at Vanderbilt University in Nashville,Tennessee (1888-1891), and Emory College in Oxford, Georgia (1891-1893), as a teacher in the Anglo-Chinese College in Shanghai (1893-1895), and as a political official holding various posts in Korea (1895-1906) as well as his activism after his retirement from politics.  Also, includes two copies of the Korean National Anthem, one in Yun’s hand and the other a presentation copy which includes a portrait of Yun.

 

 


 


© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322 | Updated: April 17, 2008