Woodruff (Main) Chemistry Music & Media Manuscript, Archives, Rare Books Oxofrd Business Health Law Theology
       EUCLID Catalog    Library Info
 
Overview of the Collections
Descriptions and Indexes
 

    Visiting MARBL
 
Hours
Directions
Accommodations
 

    Research Services
 
Requesting & Using Materials
Reproduction Services
Permissions
Remote Research
 
 


    EUCLID Finding Aids Irish Literary Manuscripts Portal MARBL Subject Guides Digital Collections

This guide identifies manuscript collections that are related to Atlanta history.  The Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library (MARBL) has been fortunate to be able to collect and preserve primary sources spanning the city’s history, including those of Atlanta’s pioneers as well as those of its current citizens.  Represented among our holdings are many of Atlanta’s notable authors, journalists, politicians, business leaders, educators, social activists, community organizations, and families.

The following entries are intended as a guide to this division’s manuscript resources on Atlanta and her citizens.  It includes collections which relate to Atlanta in some way, or concern persons known to be associated with the city.  Please refer to the Civil War subject guide for collections related to any aspect of Atlanta during the Civil War (http://marbl.library.emory.edu/Guides/).  Please contact the University Archives for information concerning the history of Emory University.

This guide is not intended to be a complete finding aid to the collections.  It serves as a preliminary research tool, providing a brief description of holdings with basic information on size, inclusive dates, types of records, and broad subject areas.  More detailed descriptions of the sources listed below are available in the Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library (MARBL) and through EUCLID, the Emory Libraries’ online catalog.  EUCLID contains bibliographic records for the majority of the manuscript collections held in MARBL as well as books and other printed material available at Emory University.  EUCLID is accessible through the Internet at http://www.library.emory.edu.  Finding aids for these sources are also available through MARBL's Web site at http://marbl.library.emory.edu/FindingAids/index.htmlPlease note that some collections may not yet have finding aids available and that this site is a work in progress.

Please note that not all manuscript collections are housed in MARBL.  Some collections are located at an off-site storage facility and must be requested in advance.  In addition, some collections have access restrictions.  Researchers are encouraged to contact MARBL to insure that materials will be available.  We are also happy to pull materials in advance of a research visit.

  

 

SELECTED NAME AND SUBJECT INDEX

 

NAME AND SUBJECT HEADINGS:

  • Active Voters League of Atlanta

  • Antebellum Period

  • Architecture and Landscape

  • Arts and Literature

  • Atlanta Art School

  • Atlanta Arts Alliance

  • Atlanta City Council

  • Atlanta 2000

  • Atlanta World Service Committee

  • Boys’ High School

  • Business

  • Civil Rights

  • Coca-Cola Company

  • County Unit System

  • Druid Hills neighborhood

  • Eastern Airlines, Inc.

  • Education

  • Equitable Building

  • Fernbank Forest

  • Fernbank Science Center

  • Golf

  • Hanley-Bell Funeral Home

  • Housing

  • Journalism

  • Ku Klux Klan

  • Law

  • League of Women Voters

  • Libraries

  • Medicine

  • Metropolitan Area Rapid Transit Authority (MARTA)

  • Piedmont Driving Club

  • Poliitics and Government

  • Public Housing

  • Railroads

  • Reconstruction

  • Reid House

  • Religion

  • Rich’s, Inc.

  • Southern Regional Council

  • Techwood Homes

  • Trust Company Bank

  • Voluntary Organizations

Active Voters League of Atlanta:

        Davison, Hal McCluney (MSS 527)

Antebellum Period:

        Atlanta Miscellany (MSS 572)

        Battey, Robert  (MSS 361)

        Brown, Joseph E. (MSS 16)

        Bryan, Shepard  (MSS 698)

        Burke, Joseph Francis (MSS 251)

        Campbell, Henry S. (MSS 378)

        Candler, Asa Griggs  (MSS 1)

        Candler, Warren A. (MSS 2)

        Chaney, George Leonard (MSS 639)

        Dobbins, John S.  (MSS 322)

        Featherston, Lucius Horace (MSS 504)

        Fogle, Theodore (MSS 436)

        Georgia Miscellany collection (MSS 44)

        Georgia Political Leaders autographs (MSS 280)

        Grady, Henry Woodfin (MSS 28)

        Griffith, Beverly (MSS 42)

        Hambleton, James Pinkney (MSS 29)

        Harrison, Emily Stewart  (MSS 556)

        Harrold Brothers records (MSS 7)

        Humphrey, John (MSS 497)

        Iverson family papers (MSS 427)

        Jarrell, Charles Crawford  (MSS 428)

        Jones, Sam P. (MSS 312)

        Lumpkin,Wilson  (MSS 286)

        McCandless, Frances Augusta Coleman (MSS 254)

        McGill, Ralph (MSS 252)

        Maddox, Robert Foster (MSS 403)

        Martin, Harold H. (MSS 537)

        Methodist Leaders papers (MSS 41)

        Methodist Miscellany (MSS 329)

        Montgomery, Vincent (MSS 355)

        Oliver, Charles James (MSS 444)

        Orr Family papers (MSS 268)

        Richards, Samuel P. (MSS 518)

        Seydell, Mildred (MSS 449)

        Stephens, Alexander Hamilton (MSS 94)

        Swanton Family papers (MSS 430)

        Thiot Family papers (MSS 297)

        Thomson, William Sydnor (MSS 96)

        United Daughters of the Confederacy. Ga. Division. Alfred Holt Colquitt Chapter records (MSS 394)

        Alexander McGhee Wallace. Letters between Alexander McGhee and Frances Garland Singleton

                Wallace (MSS 1007)

        Winship Family records (MSS 305)

Architecture and Landscape:

        Cooper, Samuel Inman (MSS 546)

        Harris, Julian Hoke (MSS 450)

        Kurtz, Wilbur G. (MSS 586)

        Pauley, William Crooks (MSS 660)

        Trust Company of Georgia collection (MSS 294)

Arts and Literature:

        Bradley, Frances Sage (MSS 473)

        Daniel, Frank  (MSS 445)

        English, Thomas H. (MSS 275)

        Featherston, Lucius Horace (MSS 504)

        Harris, Joel Chandler (MSS 5)

        Hartsock, Ernest Abner (MSS 30)

        Kurtz, Wilbur G. (MSS 586)

        Lee, Harry James (MSS 32)

        Menaboni, Athos (MSS 665)

        Mitchell, Margaret (MSS 265)

        Metropolitan Opera collection (MSS 577)

        Moody, Minnie Hite (MSS 481)

        Neff, Lawrence W. (MSS 495)

        Newman, Frances (MSS 654)

        Reeves, Oliver Franklin (MSS 467)

        Rubin, Larry Jerome  (MSS 442)

        Stanton, Frank Lebby (MSS 166)

        Thompson, Maurice (MSS 339)

        Trocheck, Kathy Hogan (MSS 772)

        Uhry, Alfred (MSS 833)

        Village Writers Group (MSS 657)

Atlanta Art School:

        Carmichael, James Vinson (MSS 576)

Atlanta Arts Alliance:

        Carmichael, James Vinson (MSS 576)

        Rich, Richard  H. (MSS 575)

Atlanta City Council:

        Bradley, Panke M. (MSS 566)

        Thomson, Albert Danner (MSS 716)

Atlanta 2000:

        Gaines, Martha Wren (MSS 669)

        Hanie, Robert (MSS 702)

Atlanta World Service Committee:

        Cooper, Augusta Skeen (MSS 535)

Boys’ High School:

        Manry, James Campbell (MSS 487)

        Rainey, Glenn W. (MSS 471)

Business:

        Candler, Asa Griggs (MSS 1)

        Candler, Charles Howard (MSS 3)

        Candler Family collection (MSS 4)

        Carmichael, James Vinson  (MSS 576)

        Dobbins, John S. (MSS 322)

        Fulton Bag and Cotton Mills records (MSS 614)

        Gaines, Martha Wren (MSS 669)

        Harrison, Emily Stewart (MSS 556)

        Harrold Brothers records (MSS 7)

        Hartsfield, William Berry (MSS  558)

        Jones, Joseph W. (MSS 1003)

        Muse’s Department Store records (MSS 881)

        Rich, Richard H. (MSS 575)

        Richards, Samuel P. (MSS 518)

        Ridenour, Mabel Loeb (MSS 560)

        Woodruff, Robert W.  (MSS 10)

        YWCA of Greater Atlanta records (MSS 720)

Civil Rights:

        Abram, Morris B. (MSS 514)

        Barker, Mary Cornelia (MSS 528)

        Bullard, Helen (MSS 599)

        Cherry, Jim D. (MSS 655)

        Community Council of the Atlanta Area (MSS 570)

        Curry, Constance (MSS 818)

        Davis, James C. (MSS 507)

        Dunbar, Leslie (MSS 694)

        Egerton, John (MSS 915)

        Episcopal Society for Cultural and Racial Unity records (MSS 723)

        Griffin, John A. (MSS 767)

        Harding, Vincent (MSS 868)

        Hartsfield, William Berry (MSS 558)

        May, James W. (MSS 667)

        McGill, Ralph (MSS 252)

        Newsweek Atlanta Bureau records (MSS 629)

        Parsons, Sara Mitchell (MSS 946)

        Paschall, Eliza K. (MSS 532)

        Pauley, Frances F. (MSS 659)

        Pendergrast, Nan (MSS 730)

        Rainey, Glenn W. (MSS 471)

        Rich, Richard H. (MSS 575)

        Rothschild, Jacob M. (MSS 637)

        Sibley, John A. (MSS 437)

        Southern Regional Council. “Will the Circle Be Unbroken?”

             Program files and sound recordings (MSS 934)

        Stevens, Richard L. (MSS 520)

        Patricia Sullivan.  Progressive Party oral history interviews (MSS 621)

        Tilly, Dorothy Rogers (MSS 539)

        WSB (Radio Station: Atlanta, Ga.) collection (MSS 663)

        Wilkins, Josephine Mathewson  (MSS 580)

        Woodward, Emily (MSS 424)

Coca-Cola Company:

        Allen, Frederick (MSS 850)

        Candler, Asa Griggs (MSS 1)

        Candler, Charles Howard (MSS 3)

        Coca-Cola Company collection (MSS 620)

        Gresham, Richard Clinton  (MSS 83)

        Jones, Joseph W. (MSS 1003)

        Sibley, John A. (MSS 437)

        Woodruff, Robert W. (MSS 10)

County Unit System:

        Avary, Robert Lee (MSS 460)

        Carmichael, James Vinson (MSS 576)

        Gosnell, Cullen Bryant (MSS 425)

        Gregory, Cleburne E. (MSS 604)

        Pauley, Frances F. (MSS 659)

Druid Hills neighborhood:

        Boozer, Jack Stewart (MSS 685)

        Candler, Asa Griggs (MSS 1)

        Druid Hills Civic Association records (MSS 65)

        Mackay, James A. (MSS 456)

        Pauley, William Crooks (MSS 660)

        Phyllis Schwartz.  Presidential Parkway Opposition files (MSS 738)

Eastern Airlines, Inc.:

        Griffith, Beverly (MSS 42)

Education:

        Arrington, Marvin (MSS 714)

        Atlanta Film Council records (MSS 488)

        Barker, Mary Cornelia (MSS 528)

        Candler, Asa Griggs (MSS 1)

        Candler, Warren A. (MSS 2)

        Cherry, Jim D. (MSS 655)

        Day, Butts, and Seabrooks families papers (MSS 1044)

        DeLorme, Grace McKinley Holmes

        Dove, Pearlie Craft

        Dunbar, Leslie

        Ellison, Alice Roberta Parks 

        Emmerich, Charles O. (MSS 517)

        Emory University.  Sanford S. Atwood office files (RG 100/Series No. 2)

        Emory University.  Tommie Dora Barker papers (RG 800/Series No. 12)

        Emory University.  Robert Cotter Mizell office files (Series No. 6)

        Emory University.   Judson C. Ward office files (Series No. 27)

        Emory University.  Robert Fleming Whitaker office files (Series No. 4)

        Emory University.  Goodrich Cook White office files (RG 100/Series No. 1)

        English, Thomas H. (MSS 275)

        Episcopal Society for Cultural and Racial Unity records (MSS 723)

        Harding, Vincent  (MSS 868)

        Harris, Julian LaRose (MSS 6)

        Haygood, Atticus G. (MSS 138)

        Hemphill, William Arnold  (MSS 511)

        Hightower, Grace (MSS 561)

        Lomax, Michael  (MSS 785)

        McCandless, Frances Augusta Coleman  (MSS 254)

        McGill, Ralph (MSS 252)

        Manry, James Campbell (MSS 487)

        Metropolitan Atlanta Boys’ Clubs records (MSS 544)

        Montgomery, Vincent (MSS 355)

        Newsweek Atlanta Bureau records (MSS 629)

        Orr Family papers (MSS 268)

        Parsons, Sara Mitchell (MSS 946)

        Paschall, Eliza K. (MSS 532)

        Powell, Sadye Harris (MSS 1041)

        Southern Regional Council." Will the Circle Be Unbroken?"

             Program files and sound recordings (MSS 934)

        Sutton, Willis A. (MSS 713)

        Thomson, William Sydnor (MSS 96)

        Georgia Woman’s Christian Temperance Union records (MSS 647)

        Woodward, Emily (MSS 424)

        Woolf, Winfield P. (MSS 780)

        YWCA of Greater Atlanta records (MSS 720)

Equitable Building:

        Trust Company of Georgia collection (MSS 294)

Fernbank Forest:

        Cherry, Jim D. (MSS 655)

        Druid Hills Civic Association records (MSS 65)

        Harrison, Emily Stewart  (MSS 556)

        Mackay, James A. (MSS 456)

        Pauley, William Crooks (MSS 660)

Fernbank Science Center:

        Bullard, Helen (MSS 599)

        Cooper, Augusta Skeen (MSS 535)

        Emory University.  Robert Cotter Mizell Office Files (Series No. 6)

        Harris, J. Robin  (MSS 661)

Golf:

        Jones, Bobby  (MSS 500)

Hanley-Bell Funeral Home

        Hanley Bell Funeral Home (Atlanta, Ga.) records (MSS 893)

Housing:

        Bradley, Panke M. (MSS 566)

        Bullard, Helen (MSS 599)

        Community Council of the Atlanta area (MSS 570)

        Druid Hills Civic Association records (MSS 65)

        Emory University.  Sanford S. Atwood office files (RG 100/Series No. 2)

        Palmer, Charles F. (MSS 9)

Journalism:

        Adams, Julia (MSS 136)

        Allen, Frederick (MSS 850)

        Atlanta Daily World photograph collection (MSS 1023)

        Daniel, Frank (MSS 445)

        Egerton, John  (MSS 915)

        Grady, Henry (MSS 28)

        Hambleton, James Pinkney (MSS 29)

        Harris, Joel Chandler (MSS 5)

        Harris, Julian LaRose (MSS 6)

        Harrison, Emily Stewart (MSS 556)

        Hemphill, William Arnold (MSS 511)

        Howell, Clark  (MSS 501)

        Knight, Mary Lamar (MSS 515)

        Lee, Harry James (MSS 32)

        McGill, Ralph (MSS 252)

        Martin, Harold H. (MSS 537)

        Mathewson, Tracy (MSS 362)

        Mitchell, Margaret (MSS 265)

        Moody, Minnie Hite (MSS 481)

        Myrick, Susan (MSS 542)

        Neff, Lawrence W. (MSS 495)

        Newsweek Atlanta Bureau records (MSS 629)

        Pendergrast, Nan  (MSS 730)

        Perkerson, Medora Field (MSS 458)

        Pomerantz, Gary M. (MSS 890)

        Reeves, Oliver Franklin (MSS 467)

        Ridenour, Mabel Loeb (MSS 560)

        Rogers, Ernest (MSS 328)

        Rowsey, Frank  (MSS 223)

        Seydell, Mildred (MSS 449)

        Sibley, Celestine (MSS 762)

        Stanton, Frank Lebby (MSS 166)

        Watters, Pat  (MSS 905)

        Styles, Carey Wentworth (MSS 231)

        Thompson, Maurice  (MSS 339)

        WSB (Radio Station: Atlanta, Ga.) collection (MSS 663)

        Woodward, Emily (MSS 424)

Ku Klux Klan:

        Craig, Calvin Fred (MSS 612)

        McGill, Ralph (MSS 252)

        Neighbor’s Network (Atlanta, Ga.) records (MSS 1009)

        Newsweek Atlanta Bureau records (MSS 629)

        New South Miscellany papers (MSS 49)

        Parsons, Sara Mitchell (MSS 946)

Law:

        Abram, Morris B. (MSS 514)

        Avary, Robert L. (MSS 460)

        Bryan, Shepard (MSS 698)

        Geffen Family papers (MSS 651)

        Gregory, Cleburne E. (MSS 604)

        Hames, Margie Pitts  (MSS 825)

        Lokey, Hamilton (MSS 758)

        Mackay, James A. (MSS 456)

        Powell, Arther G. (MSS 530)

        Stephens, Alexander Hamilton (MSS 94)

        Thomson, William Sydnor (MSS 96)

        Williams, Samuel Cole (MSS 272)

        Woolf, Winfield P. (MSS 780)

League of Women Voters:

        Barker, Mary Cornelia  (MSS 528)

        Davis, Mary R. (MSS 742)

        Haas, Be (MSS 781)

        League of Women Voters of DeKalb County, Inc. records (MSS 773)

        Moran, Charlotte (MSS 617)

        Paschall, Eliza K. (MSS 532)

        Pauley, Frances F. (MSS 659)

        Raoul family papers (MSS 548)

        Wilkins, Josephine Mathewson (MSS 580)

        Woodward, Comer McDonald (MSS 531)

Libraries:

        Barker, Mary Cornelia (MSS 528)

        Emory University. Tommie Dora Barker papers (RG 800/Series No. 12)

        Hightower, Grace (MSS 561)

Medicine:

        Avary, Robert Lee (MSS 460)

        Battey, Robert (MSS 361)

        Bradley, Frances Sage (MSS 473)

        Davis, Rose  (MSS 125)

        Davison, Hal McCluney (MSS 527)

        Georgia Public Health Nurses Oral History Collection (MSS 733)

        Montgomery, Vincent (MSS 355)

        Woodruff, Nell Hodgson (MSS 47)

Metropolitan Area Rapid Transit Authority (MARTA):

        Childs, Peggy Childs (MSS 588)

        Gaines, Martha Wren  (MSS 669)

        Harris, J. Robin (MSS 661)

Piedmont Driving Club:

        Wilmer, Cary B. (MSS 589)

Politics and Government:

        Arrington, Marvin S.

        Atlanta (Ga.) Political Oral History collection (MSS 828)

        Avary, Robert Lee (MSS 460)

        Brotherton, William H. (MSS 278)

        Brown, Joseph E.  (MSS 16)

        Brown, Joseph M. (MSS 107)

        Bullard, Helen  (MSS 599)

        Carmichael, James Vinson (MSS 576)

        Childs, Peggy Childs (MSS 588)

        Community Council of the Atlanta Area records (MSS 570)

        Curry, Constance (MSS 818)

        Davis, James C. (MSS 507)

        Davis, Mary R. (MSS 742)

        Druid Hills Civic Association (MSS 65)

        Dunaway, Kathryn Fink (MSS 618)

        ERA Georgia, Inc records (MSS 622)

        Emmerich, Charles O. (MSS 517)

        Feminist Action Alliance, Inc. records (MSS 568)

        Gaines, Martha Wren (MSS 669)

        Georgia Political Leaders autographs (MSS 280)

        Gregory, Cleburne E. (MSS 604)

        Haas, Be (MSS 781)

        Hallenborg, Linda Kurtz (MSS 671)

        Hambleton, James P. (MSS 29)

        Harris, J. Robin (MSS 661)

        Hartsfield, William Berry (MSS 558)

        Hemphill, William Arnold (MSS 511)

        Howell, Clark (MSS 501)

        Lumpkin,Wilson (MSS 286)

        Newsweek Atlanta Bureau  records (MSS 629)

        Richardson, Eleanor L. (MSS 623)

        Patricia Sullivan.  Progressive Party oral history interviews (MSS 621)

        Trammell, Leander Newton (MSS 236)

Public Housing:

        Palmer, Charles F. (MSS 9)

Railroads:

        Brown, Joseph E. (MSS 16)

        Brown, Joseph M. (MSS 107)

        Raoul family papers (MSS 548)

        Raoul, William Greene (MSS 162)

        Trammell, Leander Newton (MSS 236)

        Wright, James Martin (MSS 493)

Reconstruction:

        Battey, Robert (MSS 361)

        Hambleton, James P. (MSS 29)

Reid House:

        Cooper, Samuel Inman (MSS 546)

Religion:

        Andrews, Viola P. (MSS 813)

        Avary, Robert Lee (MSS 460)

        Baxter, James Hamilton (MSS 64)

        Boozer, Jack Stewart  (MSS 685)

        Brown, Joseph E. (MSS 16)

        Candler, Warren A. (MSS 2)

        Chaney, George Leonard (MSS 639)

        Day, Butts, and Seabrooks families papers (MSS 1044)

        Dickey, James Edward (MSS 67)

        Ellison, Alice Roberta Parks (MSS 906)

        Episcopal Society for Cultural and Racial Unity records (MSS 723)

        Farinholt, Katharine Woltz  (MSS 597)

        Geffen Family papers (MSS 651)

        Haven, Gilbert (MSS 292)

        Haygood, Atticus G. (MSS 138)

        Jones, Sam P. (MSS 312)

        Knight, Mary Lamar (MSS 515)

        Manry, James Campbell (MSS 487)

        Methodist Leaders papers (MSS 41)

        Methodist Miscellany collection (MSS 329)

        Neff, Lawrence W. (MSS 495)

        Oliver, Charles James  (MSS 444)

        Sadye Harris Powell family papers (MSS  1041)

        Rothschild, Jacob M. (MSS 637)

        Tilly, Dorothy Rogers  (MSS 539)

        Weinstein, Alfred Abraham (MSS 564)

Rich’s, Inc.:

        Rich, Richard H. (MSS 575)

Southern Regional Council:

        Dunbar, Leslie (MSS 694)

        Griffin, John A. (MSS 767)

        McGill, Ralph (MSS 252)

        Paschall, Eliza K. (MSS 532)

        Pauley, Frances F. (MSS 659)

        Rainey, Glenn W.  (MSS 471)

        Southern Regional Council.  “Will the Circle Be Unbroken?”

              Program files and sound recordings (MSS 934)

        Tilly, Dorothy Rogers (MSS 539)

        Watters, Pat  (MSS 905)

        Wilkins, Josephine Mathewson (MSS 580)

Techwood Homes:

        Palmer, Charles F. (MSS 9)

Trust Company Bank:

        Candler, Charles Howard  (MSS 3)

        Martin, Harold H. (MSS 537)

        Sibley, John A. (MSS 437)

Voluntary Organizations:

        Episcopal Society for Cultural and Racial Unity records (MSS 723)

 

 

 

ABRAM, MORRIS B. (MSS 514)

Papers, 1954-1986; 96 linear ft. (96 boxes)

Abram (1918-2000), a Georgia native, served as an educator, lawyer, statesman, president of Brandeis University and U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations European office.  This collection documents his career, particularly his work on human and civil rights.  It also includes material relating to Abram's unsuccessful candidacy in the Georgia 5th District Congressional race in 1954.

ADAMS, JULIA (MSS 136)

Scrapbooks, 1926-1942; 1 reel microfilm

Adams, a writer for the Eatonton Messenger, collected materials about Georgia history.  Many clippings in her scrapbooks were taken from the Atlanta Journal and Constitution.

ALLEN, FREDERICK (MSS 850)

Papers, 16 linear ft. (16 boxes)

Frederick Allen (1948- ), journalist and author.  Allen is a former political commentator for CNN and columnist for the Atlanta Journal-Constitution.  His books include Secret Formula and Atlanta Rising: The Invention of an International City, 1946-1996.  The collection consists of materials relating to Frederick Allen’s book, Secret Formula.  The materials include manuscript and typescript drafts, research materials and notes, reviews and publicity materials, and printed material relating to the history of the Coca-Cola Company.

AMERICAN JEWISH COMMITTEE, ATLANTA CHAPTER.

ATLANTA ORAL HISTORY PROJECT (MSS 596)

Records, 1976-1983; 1 linear ft. (2 boxes)

This project was instituted to celebrate the 75th anniversary of the American Jewish Committee.  Its purpose was to preserve the history of the Jewish community in Atlanta.  Many tapes include recollections of prominent Atlanta Jews about the history of Atlanta and their place in it.

Note:  Copies of the tapes are also held by the American Jewish Committee's Werner Oral History Library in New York.

Restrictions:  Restrictions on access and reproduction may apply.

ANDREWS, VIOLA P.  (MSS 813)

Family papers, 1957-1998; 12.5 linear ft. (23 boxes and 2 oversized papers)

Viola P. Andrews (1912-2006), an African American writer, columnist and Sunday School teacher, moved from rural Morgan County, Georgia to Atlanta in the early 1950s.  The collection consists of the papers of the Viola P. Andrews family from 1957-1998 and includes writings, correspondence, photographs, religious material, scrapbooks and other miscellaneous papers.  The correspondence focuses upon family events and business, although they occasionally include reactions to current events.

ARRINGTON, MARVIN S. (MSS 714)

Papers, 1986-1994; 6 linear ft. (15 boxes, 1 oversized paper, 1 oral history)

Arrington, an Atlanta city council member, is a 1969 alumnus of Emory law school.  The collection includes correspondence about the city council, civic affairs, revitalization of the Auburn Avenue area, other political and civil rights issues, and printed materials both by and about Arrington.

ATLANTA.  DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC WORKS (MSS 169)

Records, 1909-1945; .25 linear ft. (1 box)

The collection contains correspondence , reports, blueprints and plans, and clippings relating to a proposed plaza in downtown Atlanta.  Also includes photographs of downtown Atlanta (Pryor St./Central Ave. area) ca. 1928.

ATLANTA DAILY WORLD (MSS 1023)

Photograph collection, [ca. 1970s-2001]; 94 linear ft.

Photographs accumulated by the Atlanta Daily World, an African American newspaper in Atlanta, Georgia.

ATLANTA FILM COUNCIL (MSS 488)

Records, 1947-1952; .25 linear ft. (1 box)

The Atlanta Film Council was affiliated with the Film Council of America and was committed to increasing information about and promoting more effective use of audiovisual materials.  The collection includes correspondence, program announcements, membership and committee lists, reports of meetings, and a copy of the council’s constitution.  Also includes records of the Audio and Visual Education Workshop sponsored jointly by Emory University and the Atlanta Film Council, 1949.

 

ATLANTA MISCELLANY (MSS 572)

Collection, ca.  1845-  ; .75 linear ft. (2 boxes, 2 oversized papers)

This is an artificial collection consisting of single items or small groups of manuscripts  having some connection to Atlanta, either:  created in Atlanta, concerning Atlanta, or by, to, or about Atlantans.

ATLANTA (GA.) POLITICAL ORAL HISTORY (MSS 824)

Collection, 1997-1998; .5 linear ft. (1 box)

The collection consists of oral history interviews conducted in 1997-1998 of individuals discussing the history of Atlanta, Georgia.   Interviewees include Angelo Fuster, David Gambrell, Leroy Johnson, Michael Lomax, Ruth Scott Simmons, and Herman and Tyler Talmadge.

AVARY, ROBERT LEE (MSS 460)

Papers, 1895-1947; 2.5 linear ft. (5 boxes)

Avary (b. 1863) was a lawyer who served as a professor of medical jurisprudence at Georgia Medical College and as a professor of law at Atlanta law school.  He also served as the president of the Emory University Alumni Association.  The collection includes correspondence and materials relating to the Emory Alumni Association (1895-1942), Atlanta Medical College, the beginning of the County Unit System (1942), and the First Methodist Episopal Church, South, of Atlanta.  The collection also includes correspondence, business papers, and miscellaneous legal papers of Atlanta city court judge Howard Vann Epps (1896-1917).

BARKER, MARY CORNELIA (MSS 528)

Papers, 1912-1971; 6.5 linear ft. (13 boxes)

Barker (1879-1963) was a public school teacher who was active in the labor movement, president of the American Federation of Teachers (1925-1931), and an organizer of the Southern Summer School for Women Workers.  The collection includes correspondence, organizational records, printed matter, notes, and clippings relating to the above organizations as well as the Atlanta Public School Teachers’ Association, the Atlanta Forum Association, the Atlanta Teachers’ Union, the Atlanta Urban League, and other educational, inter-racial, and labor groups.   Also included are a scrapbook and clippings regarding the Atlanta Public Schools (1915-1944), Atlanta Public School directories (1922-1944), as well as papers pertaining to Miss Barker’s sister, Tommie Dora Barker, an Atlanta librarian and library educator.

BARNETT, SAMUEL (MSS 505)

Papers, 1909-1932; 1 linear ft. (2 boxes)

Barnett (1850-1943) was an Atlanta lawyer who specialized in insurance and corporation law. The collection contains correspondence (including letters from Charles Sanders Peirce, Arthur Kenyon Rogers and John Dewey)  and the literary manuscript of Barnett’s unpublished book on "Probability."  The collection also includes some biographical data on Barnett.

 

BATTEY, ROBERT (MSS 361)

Papers, 1810-1894; .75 linear ft. (2 boxes, 1 oversized paper)

Battey (1828-1895) was a physician from Rome, Ga., who specialized in gynecology and obstetrics.  He served as a surgeon in an Atlanta hospital during the Civil War and returned to Atlanta in 1873 as a professor of obstetrics in the Atlanta Medical College.  The collection contains letters and miscellaneous family papers of Battey and covers such subjects as slavery, social conditions, and Reconstruction in Georgia, as well as medical studies and practice.

BAXTER, JAMES HAMILTON (MSS 64)

Papers, ca. 1876-1889; .25 linear ft. (1 box)

Baxter (1848-1891) was a Methodist minister who served as an elder in the Northern Georgia Conference and held pastorates in and around Atlanta, 1869-1890.  The collection includes sermons, sermon notes and fragments, and miscellaneous material.

BELL, WILLIAM AUGUSTUS  (MSS 888)

Diaries, 1910, 1932; .25 linear ft. (1 box)

William Augustus Bell (b. 1882) was a prominent businessman in Atlanta.  The collection consists of two diaries for the years 1910 and 1932.  The 1932 diary includes entries which discuss daily and social life in Atlanta.

BOMAR FAMILY (MSS 86)

Papers, 1862-1870; .25 linear ft. (1 box)

The collection consists of the family papers of Benjamin F. Bomar, pioneer Atlanta citizen elected mayor in 1849.  The collection includes the letters of Amaryllis Bomar, daughter of Benjamin, which describe Atlanta during the Civil War.  One letter is from a Confederate soldier friend of the Bomars and describes the evacuation of Atlanta and the military situation in North Georgia.

 

BOOZER, JACK STEWART (MSS 685)

Papers, 1950-1989; 56.5 linear ft. (57 boxes)

Boozer (1918-1989) was an Emory professor of religion, author, lecturer, and activist in civic and social movements.  His local interests encompassed the Presidential (now Freedom) Parkway and CAUTION, Olmsted Parks, and the Druid Hills Civic Association.  In addition, he was involved in many issues at Emory University.  Correspondence and administrative and printed materials reflect in part his involvement with the Druid Hills Civic Association.

BRADLEY, FRANCES SAGE (MSS 473)

Papers, 1893-1965; 1.5 linear ft. (3 boxes , 2 oversized papers, 2 medals)

Bradley (1866-1949) worked as a physician in Atlanta between 1899 and 1914.  In 1914 she began work with the United States Children’s Bureau and served as doctor and health educator to mothers and children in the rural sections of the southern and western United States.  Bradley's papers consist of correspondence, manuscripts of Bradley's short stories and an unpublished autobiography; also includes photographs, clippings, and mementos.  The collection also contains sketches and miscellaneous materials of her husband, Horace James Bradley, an artist who was chief of the Fine Arts Department of the Cotton States International Exposition, held in Atlanta in 1895.

BRADLEY, PANKE M. (MSS 566)

Papers, ca. 1970-1977; 8 linear ft. (8 boxes)

Bradley was the first woman to serve on Atlanta’s Board of Aldermen, 1971-1973; she also served as a member of Atlanta City Council.  The collection contains primarily files relating to Bradley’s service on the Atlanta City Council, as well as some personal and campaign materials.  Papers relate to various aspects of city government, particularly to transportation, housing, zoning, and law enforcement.

 

BRICE, RICHARD THEOBALD (MSS 567)

Papers, ca. 1930-1970; 4.5 linear ft. (10 boxes)

The collection (1910-) includes family correspondence, World War II letters written by Brice from the Pacific, and memorabilia from his student days at Boys High School (Atlanta) and Emory University.

BROTHERTON, WILLIAM H. (MSS 278)

Papers, 1862-1908; .25 linear ft. (1 box , 1 oversized bound volume, 1 reel microfilm)

Brotherton (1839-1908) served as an Atlanta City Councilman in 1869, 1873, 1882 and 1883 and on the Board of Police Commissioners for seventeen years, many times as chairman.  The collection consists of 36 Civil War letters and other items, including a deed to a lot in Atlanta.  A scrapbook contains clippings from Atlanta newspapers from 22 Jun 1890 to  4 Mar 1908 and is concerned with the political career of  Brotherton, particularly with the affairs of the Atlanta police commission.

BROWN, JOSEPH E. (JOSEPH EMERSON) (MSS 16)

Papers, 1853-1928; .25 linear ft. (1 box, 2 reels microfilm)

Brown (1821-1894) was the governor of Georgia from 1857-1865 and U.S. Senator from Georgia from 1880-1891.  The collection includes original court appointment documents of the Confederate period as well as copies of family correspondence.  The letters are largely personal but do refer to Brown's campaign for governor, his war activities, and his railroad and other business activities, as well as to several well-known persons of the period.

 

BROWN, JOSEPH M. (MSS 107)

Papers, 1891-1925; .13 linear ft. (1 box, 17 bound volumes)

Brown (1851-1932) was the governor of Georgia (1909-1913) and the traffic manager of the Western & Atlantic Railroad.  The collection includes Brown's letterbooks from his tenure at the Western & Atlantic Railroad (1891-1898).  These letters deal primarily with railroad business, but  also discuss Brown's personal affairs.  Unbound material consists of several letters, speeches, including  the 1913 “Governor’s Message to the General Assembly of Georgia,” a clipping, and materials relating to Brown’s inclusion in Men of Mark in Georgia.

BRYAN,  SHEPARD (MSS 698)

Papers, 1750-1984; 1.25 linear ft. (3 boxes, 3 oversized papers, 1 oversized bound volume)

Bryan (1871-1970) was a lawyer in the firm of Bryan, Carter, Ansley and Smith and a judge of the Superior Court, Atlanta Circuit.  He was active in the Bar Association.  His civic works included membership on the Atlanta Board of Education, and the Atlanta Chamber of Commerce as well as many charitable organizations.  The collection includes writings, speeches, correspondence (both personal and professional), minutes, genealogical information, scrapbooks and photographs.

 

BRYAN, WILLIAM LYLE (MSS 148)

Papers, 1908-1960; .13 linear ft. (1 box)

Bryan (1890-1960) was an Atlanta insurance executive and Emory alumnus.  The collection contains letters written by Bryan to his parents while a student at Emory College (Oxford, Ga.), 1908-1911.  Bryan's Emory alumni file is also included in the collection, and contains correspondence, photographs, clippings, and biographical data.

BULLARD, HELEN (MSS 599)

Papers, 1920-1979; 12.5 linear ft. (25 boxes, 2 oversized papers)

Helen Elizabeth Bullard (1908-1979) was a political advisor and public relations consultant.  She was involved in many civic projects, and directed approximately 165 political campaigns, including those of mayors William B. Hartsfield, Ivan Allen, Jr., and Sam Massell, Congressman Wyche Fowler, and Senator Walter F. George.  The papers contain general correspondence, subject files, writings, newspaper clippings, magazine articles, reports, photographs, and other items.

 

BURKE, JOSEPH FRANCIS (MSS 251)

Papers, 1832-1929; .25 linear ft. (1 box)

Burke (1845-1927) was an Atlanta businessman and commander of the Gate City Guard, (1879-1914).  The collection consists primarily of business and legal papers relating to the property  (233 Peachtree St.) of Marie E. Bullock, wife of governor Rufus Bullock of Ga.  There is some correspondence, including letters of the Bullocks and one autograph letter of Jefferson Davis.  The collection also contains the papers of Burke’s father-in-law, D. G. Cotting, Georgia secretary of state (1868),  and included among these papers are letters from Alexander Stephens.

CAMPBELL, HENRY S. (MSS 378)

Papers, 1817-1864; .25 linear ft. (1 box, 1 reel microfilm)

The collection of this Gainesville, Ga. family includes letters of Warren H. Campbell, an Atlanta bookkeeper, which describe the situation in Atlanta just before the Civil War.

CANDLER, ASA GRIGGS (MSS 1)

Papers, 1821-1951; 7 linear ft. (22 boxes, 7 bound volumes, 4 oversized papers)

Candler (1851-1929) was an Atlanta businessman and philanthropist, the founder of the Coca-Cola Company, mayor of Atlanta, 1917-1918, and benefactor of Emory University.

The collection contains business papers relating to Candler’s various business and real estate ventures including materials regarding Coca-Cola Company, Emory University, Ansley Hotel, Forsyth Building, and other properties and corporations in Atlanta in which Candler had an interest.   The collection also contains material relating to the land development of Druid Hills, including the original land grant, 1821; Druid Hills Corporation Records, 1908-1913; and the original plan of Druid Hills, 1905; along with other plans, deeds, charters, and contracts.  The collection includes some family correspondence, speeches, photographs, and clippings.

CANDLER, CHARLES HOWARD (MSS 3)

Papers, 1880-1959; 8 linear ft. (17 boxes, 3 oversized papers, 2 bound volumes)

Charles Candler (1878-1957), son of Asa Candler, was an Atlanta businessman and civic leader, the president of the Coca-Cola Company, president of Asa G. Candler, Inc., director of Trust Company Bank, and chairman of the Board of Trustees, Emory University.  The collection includes correspondence, programs, brochures, and clippings regarding the Metropolitan Opera’s tour season in Atlanta, as well as drafts, notes, letters, and clippings regarding Candler’s biography of his father.  The collection includes some personal correspondence as well as biographical material, clippings, photographs, and memorabilia.

 

CANDLER, WALTER TURNER (MSS 68)

Papers, 1923-1967; .5 linear ft. (2 boxes, 1 oversized paper)

Candler (1885-1967), son of Asa Candler, was an Atlanta businessman, sportsman, and philanthropist.  The collection includes correspondence, clippings, and photographs, as well as some biographical information and materials relating to the Lullwater house and estate, horse racing, and the Walter T. Candler lecture series at Emory University.

 

CANDLER, WARREN A. (WARREN AKIN) (MSS 2)

Papers, 1846-1977; 33.25 linear ft. (129 boxes, 2 bound volumes, 1 oversized bound volume, 2 oversized papers)

Warren Akin Candler (1857-1941), a bishop of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, was the president of Emory University who was instrumental in moving Emory to Atlanta from Oxford, Ga. in 1914.  The collection includes correspondence, sermons, articles, reports, clippings, and photographs, relating to his association with the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, Emory College and Emory University as well as other political, social, and personal concerns.  Principal subjects covered include Methodist missions in Cuba, the establishment of the Wesley Memorial Hospital in Atlanta, the controversy  concerning Vanderbilt University and the church, Methodist unification, the founding of Emory University and its further development.  Also included are the manuscripts of Candler’s biographies of Young John Allen and Bishop Charles Betts Galloway.

CANDLER FAMILY (MSS 4)

Collection, 1875-1974; 1.75 linear ft. (5 boxes, 3 bound volume, 1 oversized bound volume)

This collection contains papers of members of this prominent Atlanta family, with the exclusion of Asa Griggs Candler, Charles Howard Candler, Walter T. Candler, and Warren Akin Candler, for whom there are separate collections.  The collection includes correspondence, clippings, photographs, scrapbooks, and other materials.  The bulk of the material relates to Milton Asa Candler, Asa Warren Candler, Samuel Charles Candler, John Slaughter Candler, Florence Candler Harris, and Frances G. Candler.  Genealogical material is included as well as biographical cards for numerous members of the Candler family.

 

CARMICHAEL, JAMES VINSON (MSS 576)

Papers, 1913-1982; 42.5 linear ft. (88 boxes, 71 oversized papers, 4 bound volumes, 24 oversized bound volumes, 1 oral history)

Carmichael (1910-1972), a Marietta resident, served as the president of Scripto, Inc. (1947-1964), as general manager of the Georgia Division of Lockheed Aircraft Corporation (1951-1952), and as a member of the Georgia legislature (1936-1940).  He also ran for the governorship in 1946 and was active in Atlanta civic and social organizations.  The collection includes correspondence, speeches, legal documents, financial documents, clippings, photographs, and memorabilia regarding Carmichael’s business and political careers, his service on various committees and advisory councils, as well as some personal and family material.  The collection also includes material on the Atlanta Art School and the Atlanta Arts Alliance.

CAUTION, INC. (ATLANTA, GA) (MSS763)

Records, 1982-1986; 73 linear ft. (73 boxes, 26 oversized papers, 2 groupings of broadsides)

This collection holds materials related to CAUTION, Inc.'s fight against the Great Park and Freedom Parkway concept.  Contains mainly legal documents, but also includes correspondence, traffic observation photos, diagrams, maps, and drawings.

Restrictions:  Restrictions on access and reproduction may apply.

CHANEY, GEORGE LEONARD (MSS 639)

Papers, 1856-1908; 1.5 linear ft. (3 boxes, 1 oversized paper)

Chaney (1836-1922) was a Unitarian Church leader during the Civil War, and later pastored a church in Atlanta.  The collection includes records, music programs, broadsides and photographs.

CHERRY, JIM D. (MSS 655)

Papers, 1947-1988; 11 linear ft. (11 boxes, 13 oversized bound volumes)

Jim D. Cherry (d. 1980) was superintendent of the DeKalb Co. (Ga.) schools from 1947-1972, presiding over the system during the desegregation process.  Cherry was also instrumental in developing the Fernbank Science Center.  The papers document Cherry's career, civic activities and his interest in education generally.  The papers also contain interviews with Carl Sanders and Ellis Arnall as well as correspondence, financial records, speeches, writings, printed materials, scrapbooks, photographs, and memorabilia.

Note:  Restrictions on access and reproduction may apply.

CHILDS, PEGGY (MSS 588)

Legislative Papers, 1974-1977; 6.5 linear ft. (7 boxes)

Peggy Childs (1939-1987) was a DeKalb political activist and 12 year member of the Georgia General Assembly.  The collection, relating primarily to her work in the assembly, includes correspondence, minutes, reports, and special interest files including MARTA and the airport.

 

COCA-COLA COMPANY (MSS 620)

Collection, 1912-1990; 5.75 linear ft. (13 boxes, 3 oversized papers)

The company began in 1886, was acquired by Asa Griggs Candler in 1891, and sold to Ernest Woodruff and a group of investors in 1919.  In the 1960s, Coca-Cola diversified into other food and non-food items.  Materials in the collection include company publications (annual stock reports), articles, clippings, magazines, and photographs pertaining to the establishment, advertising, and personnel of the Coca-Cola Company itself and its related bottling companies.

COMMUNITY COUNCIL OF THE ATLANTA AREA (MSS 570)

Records, 1960-1974; 28 linear ft. (28 boxes)

The Community Council of the Atlanta Area, Inc., formed on 12 May 1960 and disbanded ca. 1974, was a social planning agency providing technical assistance and information to various independent agencies and governmental bodies for the formulation and organization of services and programs.  Records include minutes, reports, correspondence, administrative and topical files from the offices of the Community Council.  Papers relate to the council’s work with poverty, drug abuse, daycare, health, recreation, employment, housing, aging, and social legislation in the Atlanta area.

COOPER, AUGUSTA SKEEN (MSS535)

Papers, 1925-1970; 2 linear ft. (4 boxes, 1 oversized bound volume)

Cooper was a chemistry instructor at Emory University, and a member of the Board of Trustees of the Fernbank Science Center and Atlanta World Service Committee.  The collection contains personal correspondence as well as correspondence relating to Emory and Fernbank.  It also includes memorabilia such as plaques, certificates, diplomas, photographs and Agnes Scott College yearbooks (1914-1917).

COOPER, SAMUEL INMAN (MSS 546)

Papers, 1950-1970; 7 linear ft. (13 boxes, 1 oversized paper)

Cooper (1894-1974) was a prominent Atlanta architect.  The collection includes correspondence, printed material, photographs, plans, clippings, and memorabilia relating to Cooper’s architectural concerns and civic life.  There is material on buildings and houses designed by Cooper, the American Institute of Architects, and the Pan American Federation of Architects.  Also included are plans and interior photographs of “Reid House.”

COX, CHARLES HARDING (MSS 330)

Papers, 1860-1928; .25 linear ft. (1 box, 2 bound volumes, 1 reel microfilm)

Cox (1844-1928) was a Union soldier who served as a member of the 70th Regiment of the Indiana Infantry.  After the war he spent part of his life in Georgia as a resident of Ball Ground, Decatur, Atlanta, and Marietta, Ga.  Several of Cox’s wartime letters describe the fighting in and around Atlanta in 1864 and some of his postwar letters discuss places in and around Atlanta.

CRAIG, CALVIN FRED (MSS 612)

Papers, ca. 1957-1975; 3 linear ft. (3 boxes, 1 oversized paper)

Calvin Craig was Grand Dragon of the Ku Klux Klan in Georgia during the 1950s and 1960s.  He made some effort to get into the political mainstream.  The collection includes publications of the Klan and similar organizations, clippings, brochures and items of Klan clothing.

 

CURRY, CONSTANCE (MSS 818)

Papers, 1951-1997; 8 linear ft. (14 boxes and 1 oversized paper)

Constance Curry (b. 1933), civil rights activist, became Director of the Office of Human Services for the City of Atlanta in 1975.  The collection includes a small amount of material concerning her work with the Atlanta city government.

DANIEL, FRANK (WILLIAM FRANK) (MSS 445)

Papers, 1914-1973; 2 linear ft. (4 boxes, 4 oversized papers)

Daniel (1900-1981) was a journalist for the Atlanta Journal who served as opera critic, theater critic, book editor, editorial page columnist, and general assignment editor.  The collection contains correspondence, much of it with prominent Atlantans and Southern literary figures, clippings, photographs, and literary manuscripts.

DAVIS, JAMES C. (JAMES CURRAN) (MSS 507)

Papers, 1919-1966; 221 linear ft. (221 boxes, 5 oversized papers, 14 framed items)

Davis (1895-1981) served as a State Representative from DeKalb County (1931-1934), as a Democratic Representative from Georgia to the US Congress (1947-1963), and as a publisher of the Atlanta Times (1964-1965).  The collection contains correspondence, clippings, reports, and other materials from Davis’ Washington files.  The collection also includes some personal papers.

 

DAVIS, MARY R. (MSS 742)

Papers, 1950-1986; 6 linear ft. (6 boxes)

Davis (1903-1992) was an alumna of Emory University, and served as Reference Archivist in the Special Collections Department, Woodruff Library, Emory University.  She was a prominent civic and political leader in Atlanta.  She belonged to the Georgia and DeKalb chapters of the League of Women Voters, as well as being an active Democrat.  The collection consists of correspondence, diaries, clippings and photographs.

DAVIS, ROSE (MSS 125)

Papers, 1921-1973; .25 linear ft. (1 box)

The papers of this Atlanta nurse contain correspondence (primarily with Robert W. Woodruff and his wife, Nell Hodgson Woodruff), programs, photographs, and clippings.  The collection includes materials regarding Emory University School of Nursing, its early history and the dedication of its present building.

 

DAVISON, HAL MCCLUNEY (MSS 527)

Papers, 1911-1958; 9.5 linear ft. (10 boxes, 1 bound volume, 1 oversized paper)

Davison (1891-1958), a physician, served as a professor of medicine at Emory University (1923-1943), as President of Fulton County Medical Society, and as an officer and member of numerous other professional organizations.  He was also a member of numerous Atlanta civic and social clubs.  The collection includes correspondence, photographs, biographical information, speeches, and writings including typescripts of his book Doctors and Dogs Don’t Count.  The collection also includes materials relating to Albert Schweitzer, the Red Cross in Russia, 1919-1920, the Active Voters League of Atlanta, and various medical topics, particularly allergies and professional organizations.

DAY, BUTTS, AND SEABROOKS FAMILIES (MSS 1044)

Papers, [ca. 1900-1986]; .5 linear ft. (1 box)

The Day, Butts, and Seabrooks families are African American families from Atlanta, Georgia.  The collection contains papers related to these families from 1900-1986.   The papers include funeral bulletins of family members, discharge papers of Marion Day, a certificate from the Adelphi Club, a bank book from the Mutual Federal Savings and Loan Association of Atlanta, Georgia and other financial papers belonging to John L. Seabrooks, and a 1949 yearbook from Booker T. Washington High School.

DELORME, GRACE MCKINLEY HOLMES (MSS 910)

Papers; 4 linear ft. (4 boxes)

Grace McKinley Holmes DeLorme (1906-199?), a prominent African American from Atlanta, Georiga, taught biology at Spelman College.  The collection consists of the papers of Grace Mckinley Holmes DeLorme and the DeLorme family and includes correspondence, photographs, scrapbooks and printed material.

 

DICKEY, JAMES EDWARD (MSS 67)

Papers, 1903-1920; .25 linear ft. (1 box)

Dickey (1864-1928) was a Methodist clergyman, the president of Emory College (1902-1915), pastor of the First Methodist Church of Atlanta (1915-1920), and Bishop of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South (1922-1928).  The collection contains a small amount of correspondence, commencement and baccalaureate addresses from the period of Dickey’s presidency of Emory.  The collection also contains sermon notes (ca. 1915-1920.)

 

DOBBINS, JOHN S. (MSS 322)

Papers, 1834-1916; 2 reels microfilm

Dobbins (1800-1886) was a prosperous farmer and merchant, predominantly in north Georgia.  One member of the family was briefly in business, shortly after the Civil War, in Atlanta.  The collection includes letters, legal and business papers and is concerned with business, economic, political and social affairs, farm and family life.

DOVE, PEARLIE CRAFT  (MSS 864)

Papers, 1958-1996; 1.5 linear ft. (3 boxes and 1 oversized paper)

Pearlie Craft Dove served as Cluster Coordinator for The Atlanta Project from 1992-1996.  The mission of the Atlanta Project, which was sponsored by the Carter Center, is to improve the quality of life in local neighborhoods by helping the areas’ residents better identify and meet human needs.  The materials relating to The Atlanta Project (1992-1996) consist of minutes, newsletters, proposals, strategic plans, reports, and information on programs and projects sponsored by the project, including a videotape from The Washington Cluster of The Atlanta Project.

DRUID HILLS CIVIC ASSOCIATION (ATLANTA, GA.) (MSS 65)

Records, 1938-1990;  32.25 linear ft. (64 boxes, 4 oversized papers, 2 bound volumes)

The organization was formed in 1938 to further civic improvements, protect property rights, improve educational facilities, and promote the general welfare of that section of Atlanta bounded by Briarcliff, LaVista, Clairmont, Scott Boulevard, and Ponce de Leon.  The collection includes minutes of general meetings and treasurer’s reports, committee activities and reports, correspondence, petitions, resolutions, bylaws, and miscellaneous material, including a 1939 directory, rosters of officers, and announcements.  Papers relate to the Association’s opposition to annexation to Atlanta and to the erection of a war housing project at Clairmont and North Decatur Road, to their interest in and support of the Druid Hills School, increased firemen’s salaries, improvement of roads and sidewalks, installation of street and traffic lights, decrease in water and sewage rates, the introduction of feeder buslines, and the preservation of the Fernbank reserve; and to their opposition to the Stone Mountain Freeway and the Presidential Parkway.

Restriction:  Access to financial records in box  47 is restricted.

DUNAWAY, KATHRYN FINK (MSS 618)

Papers, 1951-1981; 15 linear ft. (15 boxes)

Dunaway (ca. 1906-1980) was a political activist in Georgia, predominantly for conservative causes.  Her involvements included the Eagle Forum, the Daughters of the American Revolution, the Republican Party and the Stop ERA Committee of Georgia.  The papers include correspondence, subject files and printed materials.

Restrictions:  Restrictions on access and reproduction may apply.

DUNBAR, LESLIE (MSS 694)

Papers; 14.5 linear ft. (19 boxes)

Leslie Dunbar (1921-) is a writer, consultant, and educator.  He served as a political science professor at Emory University (1948-1951), and was the executive director of the Southern Regional Council (1961-1965).  He has also served as director for a number of other councils and foundations.  Dunbar has also published five books on social welfare, minorities, and liberalism.  Materials in the collection include correspondence personal and professional, lectures, articles, speeches, book reviews, audio recordings of interviews and speeches (of other people), typescripts of books, holographs, and 13 issues of New South (a publication of the Southern Regional Council, 1962-1965.)

Restrictions: Access to boxes 4-6 and 15 is restricted.

ERA GEORGIA, INC (MSS 622)

Records, ca. 1960-1982; 6 linear ft. (6 boxes, 1 bound volume)

This equal rights organization included women such as Cathey Steinberg and Sherry Sutton who later became active in Atlanta politics.  The collection includes correspondence, clippings, publications, reports, notecards and audiotapes.

 

EARLY, CLIFFORD CABEL (MSS 264)

Papers, 1938-1967; 9 linear ft. (12 boxes,12 oversized bound volumes)

Early ([1883]-1967) was the commander of Ft. McPherson (1941-1943) and an active participant in Atlanta civic organizations.  The collection includes correspondence, estate papers, scrapbooks and memorabilia relating to his military career and his memberships in various Atlanta civic and social clubs.  Some papers of his wife, Harriet, are also included.

Restrictions:  Restrictions on access and reproduction may apply.

EGERTON, JOHN  (MSS 915)

Papers; 1.5 linear ft. (3 boxes)

Egerton, free-lance writer and author, was born in Atlanta, Georgia, in 1935.  The collection contains materials collected by Egerton  relating to John Popham, a journalist with the New York Times and William Gordon, an editor of the Atlanta Daily World.  The papers include notes, printed material, and audio and videotapes documenting the Popham Seminars from 1997-2000.

Egerton’s papers are also located in the Special Collections and University Archives of the Jean and Alexander Heard Library at Vanderbilt University.

ELLIS, ELMO ISRAEL (MSS 616)

Papers, 1947-1981; 25 linear ft. (25 boxes, 1 oversized paper, 39 sound recordings)

Mr. Ellis (1918-) is a retired executive and broadcaster for WSB, an Atlanta radio station.  During his lengthy career, he created many radio programs.  The collection includes sound recordings, clippings, and other papers by or about Ellis.

ELLISON, ALICE ROBERTA PARKS (MSS 906)

Papers; 1934-1960; .5 linear ft. (1 box and 20 bound volumes)

Alice Roberta Parks Ellison, a resident of Atlanta, lived in the West End district and belonged to a number of religious and social organizations, mostly prior to her marriage, including the Shiloh Baptist Church, the American Woodman, the Atlanta Negro Music Club, and the Hi-Hi Club, of which she served as president. 

The papers consist of material collected by Ellison, mostly documenting her participation in African American social and religious organizations in Atlanta, Georgia and include scrapbooks, photographs, correspondence, church bulletins, and programs from events in Atlanta.

EMMERICH, CHARLES O. (MSS 517)

Scrapbook, 1960-1964; 1 oversized paper

Emmerich (1902-1967) was the business manager of Emory University (1948-1960) and served as chairman of the DeKalb County Commission from 1960 to 1964.  The collection includes a scrapbook containing newspaper clippings, magazine articles, and other material relating to DeKalb County between 1960 and 1964.  The clippings concern government, history, planning and zoning, businesses, community services, public safety, construction, public works, finances, education, industry and advertising.

 

EMORY UNIVERSITY.  ATWOOD, SANFORD S. (RG 100/Series No. 2)

Office Files, ca. 1963-1977;  18 boxes

Atwood was the president of Emory University from 1963 to 1977.  The collection includes correspondence, reports, printed materials relating to Atwood’s presidency of Emory, and his tenure on the City of Atlanta Housing Resources Committee from 1966-1971.

 

EMORY UNIVERSITY.  BARKER, TOMMIE DORA (RG 800/Series No. 12)

Papers, 1905-1971; 6 boxes

Barker (1888-1978) was a librarian and educator in Atlanta.  Most of the papers concern the American Library Association (for which she was field agent, 1930-1935) and the Carnegie Library School (of which she was director, 1915-1950).  She was instrumental in the founding and functioning of numerous library organizations.

 

EMORY UNIVERSITY.  CENTER FOR RESEARCH IN SOCIAL CHANGE (FRED R. CRAWFORD) (RG 600/Series No. 10)

Office Files, ca. 1950-1980s; 20 boxes

The center studied such topics as mental health, violence and crime, community relations, racial attitudes, aging, and human resources.  Many of the organizations, neighborhoods and institutions studied are in and around the Atlanta area.  The files contain correspondence, documents, reports, printed materials and videocassettes.

EMORY UNIVERSITY. MIZELL, ROBERT COTTER (Series No. 6)

Office Files, 1935-1955; 6 boxes

Mizell (1889-1955), an Atlanta businessman, was the director of development and finance for Emory University (1935-1955), the acting dean of Emory Business School (1942-1946), and the president of the Atlanta Taxpayers League, (1932).  The collection includes correspondence, articles, clippings, reports, photographs, speeches,and other items related to Mizell's association with Emory. The collection also contains materials on Agnes Scott College, Fernbank, Atlanta hospitals, Georgia Tech, Morris Brown and Clark Colleges, Oglethorpe University, the University Center in Atlanta, Butler Street CME Church, the Atlanta City/Fulton County proposed governmental merger, 1935-1937, and the Atlanta police department.

 

EMORY UNIVERSITY. WARD, JUDSON C. (Series No. 27)

Office Files (Vice President and Dean of Faculties), 1930-1992; 36 boxes

Ward (1912-) served as a professor of History, as vice-president, as dean of faculties, and as dean of alumni of Emory University.  The collection consists primarily of Emory archival material from the office of Dean Ward, but also includes research papers, materials from classes Ward taught at Emory, and class notes from Ward's own days as a student at Emory.  The collection also contains audio recordings of lectures on Georgia history and a transcript of an oral history interview with Ward on Cobb County.

 

EMORY UNIVERSITY.  WHITAKER, ROBERT FLEMING (Series No. 4)

Office Files, 1925-1970; 1 box, 4 file drawers

Whitaker (1904-1969), an Emory University administrator from 1931-1969, served as superintendent of Emory Hospital (1944-1953), as associate director of development, (1953-1959), and as assistant to the president (1942-1944), (1959-1969).  The collection includes correspondence, reports and statistics relating to Emory.  The bulk of the material is dated 1955-1965.  The collection also includes some material on the Metropolitan Atlanta Community Services, Inc., and the University Center in Georgia.

Note:  Portions of these papers are restricted.

EMORY UNIVERSITY. WHITE, GOODRICH COOK (RG 100/Series No. 1)

Office Files, 1905-1975; 34 boxes

White (1889-), an Emory alumnus, ('08) continued his career at Emory as a professor of psychology (1914-1942), as the dean of both the College of Arts and Sciences (1923-1938) and the Graduate School (1929-1942), as president (1942-1957), and as chancellor (1957-1979).  The collection consists of personal and general correspondence, speeches, writings, financial correspondence, speeches, writings, financial correspondence and records, biographical information and memorabilia.  The bulk of the materials relate to White's professional and civic careers, but the collection also includes some family papers and memorabilia.

ENGLISH, THOMAS H. (THOMAS HOPKINS) (MSS 275)

Papers, 1905-1990; 17.5 linear ft. (34 boxes, 3 oversized papers, 6 oversized bound volumes, 2 bound volumes, 2 oral histories, 15 medals)

English (1895-1992) was a professor of English at Emory University from 1925 to 1964 and the author of Emory University, 1915-1965: A Semicentennial History.  The collection contains correspondence, poetry, photographs, articles and speeches, scrapbooks, bookplates, greeting cards, memorabilia, subject files, medals, collected material, manuscripts and an audiocassette and videocassette relating to Dr. English's teaching and writing career.   It includes his books and other publications as well as materials relating to his participation in the Southern Humanities Conference.

EPISCOPAL SOCIETY FOR CULTURAL AND RACIAL UNITY (U.S.)

(MSS 723)

Records, 1961-1966; .25 linear ft. (1 box)

The Episcopal Society for Cultural and Racial Unity, a voluntary society, was founded in 1960 with headquarters in Atlanta, Georgia.  Its stated purpose was to establish total participation in the Church for all persons regardless of race, class, or national origin.

The records consist of statements of purpose, newsletters, official correspondence, materials relating to the Lovett School segregation controversy, and collected material.

ESTES, WILLIAM CALLAWAY (MSS 509)

Papers, 1875-1926; 1 linear ft. (1 box, 1 oversized paper)

Estes (1856-1926) was a Georgia physician from Rex (Clayton County) and was a resident of Atlanta from 1901 to 1916.  The collection includes account books (1899-1926), a grain cradle contract (1885), three deeds of indenture for Clayton County land lots (1875-1887), and a diploma from the Atlanta Medical College.

EVERY SATURDAY CLUB, (ATLANTA, GA.) (MSS 198)

Programs, 1895-1981; .5 linear ft. (1 box)

The collection consists of the programs of an Atlanta women’s discussion group, affiliated with the Atlanta Federation of Women’s Clubs, 1895-1981.  Programs provide the names of members and officers as well as a schedule of presentations by each member.

FARINHOLT, KATHARINE WOLTZ (MSS 597)

Papers, 1930-1984; 8.5 linear ft. (18 boxes, 11 oversized bound volumes, 3 oversized papers)

Farinholt (1912-1990) was an educator and activist in social, cultural and religious causes.  Her interests included Agnes Scott College, the Westminster School (where she was an administrator), the National Association of Women Deans, the Child Service Association, and many others.  Her papers include correspondence (both business and family), cards, clippings, pictures, mementoes, printed materials, and scrapbooks.

FEATHERSTON, LUCIUS HORACE (MSS 504)

Papers, 1825-1979; 10.5 linear ft. (21 boxes, 2 bound volumes, 1 oversized bound volume, 3 oversized papers)

Featherston (1814-1886) was a lawyer, judge and landowner in Newnan, Ga., near Atlanta.  The collection including the papers of many family members, touches on the Atlanta Medical College in the 1890s and the arts in Atlanta (1920-1970).  It includes personal and business records, correspondence, diaries, legal and financial papers, genealogical materials and photographs.

FEMINIST ACTION ALLIANCE, INC. (ATLANTA, GA)   (MSS 568)

Records, 1973-1984; 8 linear ft. (8 boxes)

The Feminist Action Alliance is a statewide organization founded and headquartered in Atlanta for the purpose of promoting equality for women and supporting feminist legislation.  The FAA has addressed such issues as female political advocacy and candidacy; equal access to employment and economic opportunities; the crime of rape and the treatment of rape victims in the criminal justice system; and family issues.  The collection includes organizational records including correspondence, minutes, membership records, publications, committee working files, funding proposals, public relations materials, newsletters, and program materials.

FOGLE, THEODORE T. (THEODORE TURNER) (MSS 436)

Papers, 1851-1865, .5 linear ft. (1 box)

Fogle (1834-1864) was a Confederate soldier from Columbus, Ga. and a member of Co. G, 2nd Regt. Georgia Volunteer Infantry ("Columbus Guards").  The majority of Fogle's letters concern his service in the Columbus Guards in which he comments on his contact with other Georgians, but the collection also contains several letters he wrote from Marietta, Ga. while attending Georgia Military Institute, 1852-1853.

FRANK, LEO (MSS 674)

Collection, 1915-1988; .75 linear ft. (2 boxes, 1 oversized paper, 3 reels microfilm)

Leo Frank (1884-1915), superintendent of the National Pencil Factory of Atlanta, was sentenced to death for the alleged murder of a 13-year-old employee, Mary Phagan.  The case garnered a great deal of notoriety at the time.  Two years after his 1913 conviction, Governor John Slaton commuted the sentence and a mob subsequently captured and lynched Frank.  The collection contains the commutation hearing transcript, defense attorney's notes, speech, pardon materials, clippings, poem and a thesis.

Finding aids:  collection description, EUCLID, RLIN.

Restrictions:  Restrictions on reproduction, as noted in collection description.

FULTON BAG AND COTTON MILLS (ATLANTA, GA.) (MSS 614)

Records, 1881-1958; 2.75 linear ft. (4 boxes, 8 oversized bound volumes, 3 oversized papers, 1 reel microfilm)

Fulton Bag and Cotton Mills was established in 1881 by a German immigrant, Jacob Elsas.  A factory-supported and -built mill village, eventually known as Cabbagetown, grew up around the mill after 1881.  Elsas started a clinic and nursery for mill employees and their children.  At its height of prosperity, during and just after World War II, the mill employed 2700 workers.  By the 1980s the company had been subsumed by Fabric America.  The collection includes business records, correspondence, scrapbooks, historical information and photographs.

GAINES, MARTHA WREN (MSS 669)

Papers, 1962-1987; 15.75 linear ft. (35 boxes, 18 oversized papers, 1 oversized bound volume, 7 audiocassettes, 2 videocassettes)

Gaines (1939-1987) was a human rights and civil liberties activist in Atlanta.  Her interests included feminist causes such as ERA and NOW and she worked as a compliance officer for MARTA from 1977-1987.  She was also involved in local politics.  The collection includes correspondence, printed materials, audiocassettes and videocassettes, speeches and reports.

Finding aids:  collection description, EUCLID, RLIN.

Restrictions:  Restrictions on access, as noted in collection description.

GEFFEN FAMILY (MSS 651)

Papers, ca. 1923-1996; 73 linear ft. (105 boxes)

The Geffen family has roots deep in both the Atlanta Jewish community and Emory University.  The patriarch, Tobias Geffen, became rabbi of the Shearith Israel Congregation in 1910.  Louis Geffen was a lawyer, involved in Atlanta and North Georgia cases.  Many family members attended Emory and maintain strong ties with the university.  The collection includes printed materials, personal and religious papers, photographs, school notebooks, research materials on Ralph McGill, radio scripts, sheet music and memorabilia.

Restrictions:  Permission for any type of reproduction must be secured in writing from donor.

GEORGIA MISCELLANY (MSS 44)

Collection, 1735-    ; .5 linear ft. (2 boxes, 3 bound volumes, 6 oversized bound volumes, 3 oversized papers, 1 reel microfilm)

The collection consists of single items or small groups of manuscripts written in Georgia, or by, to or about Georgians and Georgia.  Includes letters, diaries, articles, poems, lectures, and documents.  Some pieces were created in Atlanta or relate to Atlanta.

 

GEORGIA POLITICAL LEADERS (MSS 280)

Autographs, 1782-1940; .25 linear ft. (1 box)

The collection contains letters of politically prominent Georgians.  Letters deal primarily with routine patronage or business matters.  Includes a number of letters written from Atlanta, and by or to Atlantans.

GEORGIA PUBLIC HEALTH NURSES ORAL HISTORY (MSS 733)

Collection, 1986-1991; 2 linear ft. (4 boxes)

The collection consists of oral history interviews with Georgia public health nurses in the Atlanta and Savannah, Georgia areas, conducted from 1986-1991.  The collection highlights nursing as one of the few vocational options open to women during the mid-twentieth century and includes information on their training, education, and employment.

 

GEORGIA WOMAN'S CHRISTIAN TEMPERANCE UNION (MSS 647)

Records, 1888-1982; 26 linear ft. (58 boxes, 67 oversized papers, 2 audiocassettes)

The Georgia WCTU was established in Atlanta in 1883.  Besides their opposition to alcohol, members were concerned with other social reforms such as municipal improvements and compulsory education.  The bulk of the collection falls in the 1930-1956 time period and includes correspondence, reports, minutes, financial and membership records, printed materials and memorabilia.

Restrictions:  Researchers are required to use photocopies of The Georgia Bulletin (oversized papers 8-26)) due to the fragile nature of the originals.

 

GOSNELL, CULLEN BRYANT (MSS 425)

Papers, 1919-1964; 4.5 linear ft. (9 boxes, 7 oversized bound volume, 1 oversized paper)

Gosnell (1893-1963) was a professor of Political Science at Emory University, founder and director of Emory’s Institute of Citizenship, an author of several books on government, and an active proponent of governmental reform in Georgia.  The collection includes correspondence, literary manuscripts, articles, speeches, clippings, printed material, and scrapbook relating to Gosnell's career, particularly the Institute of Citizenship, the publication of his books, his Wofford College associations, the establishment of a book fund in his name in the Emory Library, and to his political interests, especially his fight against the county unit system.

GRADY, HENRY WOODFIN (MSS 28)

Papers, 1828-1971; 1.5 linear ft. (4 boxes, 11 bound volumes, 1 oversized paper)

Grady (1850-1889) was the managing editor of the Atlanta Constitution, (1880-1889) and gained national prominence with his "New South" philosophy.  The collection includes correspondence, legal papers, manuscripts of speeches, diaries, an account book, photographs, scrapbooks,  and the manuscript of Raymond B. Nixon’s biography, Henry W. Grady: Spokesman of the New South (1943).

GREGORY, CLEBURNE E. (MSS 604)

Legal Files, 1946-1947; 2 linear ft. (2 boxes)

Cleburne E. Gregory (1911-1982), attorney, was a graduate of Emory University and the University of Georgia School of Law.  He was one of the founders of Arnall, Golden & Gregory law firm in Atlanta (Ga.) and served as assistant attorney general under Attorney General Ellis Arnall in the late 1930’s.  The collection consists of legal documents from the files of Cleburne E. Gregory pertaining to Georgia court cases regarding the 1946 two governor controversy and the legality of the county unit system from 1946-1947.  Includes briefs and research notes prepared by attorneys involved in the cases, reports of fees and expenses, affidavits, general correspondence, and masterfiles of all papers submitted to the courts.

GRESHAM, RICHARD C. (MSS 83)

Papers, 1917-1967; 1 linear ft. (2 boxes, 1 oversized paper)

Gresham (d. 1972) was a Baptist minister of Moultrie, Ga., and a friend of Robert W. Woodruff.  The collection includes correspondence, scrapbooks, photographs, and certificates.  Much of the material is memorabilia relating to Robert W. Woodruff and the Coca-Cola Company.

GRIFFIN, JOHN A. (MSS 767)

Papers, 1964-1966; 58.25 linear ft. (58 boxes, 3 oral histories)

John A. Griffin (1912-1997) was a founding member of the Southern Regional Council, in which he remained active for 50 years.  In 1964 he went to Washington, D.C. to work for former Florida Governor LeRoy Collins as deputy director of the U.S. Community Relations Service.  In this role he mediated racial conflicts in Alabama, Mississippi, and Louisiana.  From 1965-1978, as director of the Southern Education Foundation, his focus was on education equity for black youth in the South.

The papers include correspondence, reports, student papers, audio-visual material, and other material documenting Griffin’s education, career as a professor and as an arbitrator, his work with the Southern Regional Council, and school desegregation.  

GRIFFITH, BEVERLY (MSS 42)

Papers, 1832-1973; .5 linear ft. (1 box, 4 oversized papers)

Griffith was the Public Relations Director of Eastern Airlines (which was headquartered in Atlanta).  The collection includes correspondence, scrapbooks, clippings, photographs, and memorabilia, most of which relates to Griffith’s career with Eastern Airlines.  Included are some materials of musical events in Atlanta and articles relating to the history of Atlanta.

HAAS, BE (BEATRICE HIRSCH) (MSS 781)

Papers, 1927-1993; 1 linear ft. (2 boxes, 1 oversized paper)

Be Haas (1905-) was a fundraising consultant in Atlanta who was engaged in many public relations endeavors, including work with the League of Women Voters, Atlanta Local Govt. Commission, and Commission to Redraft the Constitution of Georgia.  Materials in the collection relate to Be Haas's career and include correspondence, clippings, photographs, and printed materials.

HALLENBORG, LINDA KURTZ (MSS 671)

Papers, 1980-1988; 9 boxes, 1 oversized paper

Linda Kurtz, known as Linda Kurtz Hallenborg during her years in Atlanta and Washington, D.C., has been active in numerous political and feminist causes.  While she lived in Atlanta, she was a lecturer at the Martin Luther King Center for Non-Violent Social Change.  Other local organizations in which she was involved include Georgia Women's Political Caucus, ERA Georgia, National Women's Political Caucus, and Planned Parenthood of the Atlanta Area.  The collection includes minutes, reports, speeches, correspondence, memoranda, printed materials and files.

Note: On loan to Georgia State University, Special Collections Department.

 

HAMBLETON, JAMES PINKNEY (MSS 29)

Papers, 1857-1893; .25 linear ft. (1 box, 1 oversized paper)

Hambleton (1830-1897) was a Virginia-born physician who moved to Atlanta in the late 1850s and served as the first editor of the Southern Confederacy (1859-1861).  He also was a surgeon with the Georgia Infantry (1861-1862).  After the war he moved to Washington, D.C. when he worked as a lobbyist and as the clerk of the House Ways and Means Committee.  The collection contains correspondence, clippings, and a few miscellaneous items.  Letters concern national politics, Reconstruction Georgia, Southern claims for compensation for cotton confiscated during the Civil War, and family matters.

 

HAMES, MARGIE PITTS  (MSS 825)

Papers, 1969-1993; 98 linear ft. (98 boxes)

Margie Pitts Hames (d. 1993) graduated from Vanderbilt University School of Law in 1961 and began practicing law in Atlanta with Fisher and Phillips, specializing in labor-management relations.  In 1969, Hames volunteered for the Lawyers Committee for Civil Rights Under Law, a Ford Foundation project that worked to prevent confrontations between civil rights demonstrators and police.  She opened her own firm in 1971.  The collection includes case files which provide information on civil rights issues in Atlanta.

HANIE, ROBERT EDWARD (MSS 702)

Papers, 1961-1979; 26 linear ft. (26 boxes)

Robert Hanie (1937-)  is an author, educator, and student of social change.  He was the founder of the Georgia Conservancy and the executive director of Atlanta 2000, a public planning corporation found in July 1973 to study the problems of human ecology that would be faced in the Atlanta metropolitan area by the turn of the twenty-first century.  The collection includes personal papers and organizational records spanning the work of Atlanta 2000 and Hanie’s association with the organization from 1973-1979.

HANLEY-BELL FUNERAL HOME (ATLANTA, GA) (MSS 893)

Records; 60 linear ft. (60 boxes)

The Hanley-Bell Funeral Home, which served the African American community in Atlanta, was founded by Jesse Howard Hanley in 1917.  The collection consists of the records of the Hanley-Bell Funeral Home and includes funeral files, death certificates, financial records, and office files.