Woodruff (Main) Chemistry Music & Media Manuscript, Archives, Rare Books Oxofrd Business Health Law Theology
       EUCLID Catalog    Library Info
 
Overview of the Collections
Descriptions and Indexes
 

    Visiting MARBL
 
Hours
Directions
Accommodations
 

    Research Services
 
Requesting & Using Materials
Reproduction Services
Permissions
Remote Research
 
 


    EUCLID Finding Aids Irish Literary Manuscripts Portal MARBL Subject Guides Digital Collections

This guide identifies manuscript collections that are related to the civil rights movement and the so-called “post-civil rights” movements. 

This guide is not intended to be a complete finding aid to the collections.  It serves as a preliminary research tool, providing a brief description of holdings with basic information on size, inclusive dates, types of records, and broad subject areas.  More detailed descriptions of the sources listed below are available in the Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library (MARBL) and through EUCLID, the Emory Libraries’ online catalog.  EUCLID contains bibliographic records for the majority of the manuscript collections held in MARBL as well as books and other printed material available at Emory University.  EUCLID is accessible through the Internet at http://www.library.emory.edu.  Finding aids for these sources are also available through MARBL's Web site at http://marbl.library.emory.edu/FindingAids/index.htmlPlease note that some collections may not yet have finding aids available and that this site is a work in progress.

Please note that not all manuscript collections are housed in MARBL.  Some collections are located at an off-site storage facility and must be requested in advance.  In addition, some collections have access restrictions.  Researchers are encouraged to contact MARBL to insure that materials will be available.  We are also happy to pull materials in advance of a research visit.

 

The guide is divided into two sections:

Section I: The Civil Rights Movement

This section concentrates on the years 1940 to 1970.  While there is no satisfactory answer to the question, “When did the civil rights movement begin?” this crucial thirty-year period witnessed an increase in activism during World War II and culminated with the long, hot summer in cities across the nation and the assassination of Martin Luther King, Jr.  Particular strengths of these collections include activism, journalism, and education.

 

 

Section II: Post-Civil Rights Movements

The second part of this guide covers the years after 1970.  Just as there is no answer to the question, "When did the civil rights movement begin?" there is also no consensus about when the black freedom struggle broadened to confront larger economic, political, and cultural issues that now fall under the umbrella of the term “post-civil rights.” The particular strengths of the post-civil rights collections are also in activism, journalism, and education.

 

TABLE OF CONTENTS

I:       The Civil Rights Movement..........................................................................3

II:      Post-Civil Rights Movements.......................................................................17

 

I: The Civil Rights Movement

 

ABRAM, MORRIS B. (MSS 514)

Papers, 1954-1986; 96 linear ft. (96 boxes, 3 oversized items)

Abram (1918-2000), a Georgia native, served as an educator, lawyer, statesman, and U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations Offices in Geneva, Switzerland. This collection documents his career, particularly his work on human and civil rights.  It includes materials about President Lyndon Baines Johnson’s 1966 White House Conference “To Fulfill These Rights,” which discussed the way to translate racial equality into economic, housing, and education issues as well as material related to Abram’s involvment with the United Nation’s  Subcommission on the Prevention of Discrimination and Protection of Minorities.

Restriction: Portions of the collection are restricted and cannot be used without permission of the donor.

BARKER, MARY CORNELIA (MSS 528)

Papers, 1912-1971; 6.5 linear ft. (13 boxes)

Barker (1879-1963) was a public school teacher, active in labor and inter-racial groups. The collection consists of materials relating to the Association of Southern Women for the Prevention of Lynching, Atlanta Urban League, Commission of Interracial Cooperation, Georgia Committee, Fulton-DeKalb Committee on Interracial Cooperation, Georgia Council on Human Relations, and the Greater Atlanta Council on Human Relations.

BLACK PRINT CULTURE (MSS 921)

Collection, 1854-1997; 5.5 linear ft. (15 boxes, 37 oversized items)

The Black Print Culture collection includes printed matter pertaining to religion and music; items published by the black press; publications relating to fraternities and sororities; to organizations, education, business and professional matters; to arts and entertainment; and, broadsides, posters, and ephemera.

The civil rights materials in the collection include newsletters, leaflets, and brochures from organizations like the Congress of Racial Equality (CORE), the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP), Southern Christian Leadership Conference (SCLC), and Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC).

BROWNING, JOAN C. (MSS 821)

Papers, 1961-1996; .5 linear ft. (1 box, 1 oversized item)

Joan C. Browning was raised in rural South Georgia.  She entered Georgia State College for Women (Milledgeville, Ga.) in 1960 but she was asked to leave the college after worshipping at an African American church. Browning moved to Atlanta in 1961 and became involved with the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC). She continued to work in human relations and anti-poverty programs throughout the 1960s and helped organize the Federation of Southern Cooperatives. Materials in this collection consist of correspondence, writings, and other materials pertaining mostly to her involvement in the civil rights movement in Georgia.

BULLARD, HELEN (MSS 599)

Papers, 1920-1979; 12.5 linear ft. (25 boxes, 2 oversized items)

Helen Elizabeth Bullard (1908-1979) was a gifted political advisor and public relations consultant. She directed the political campaigns of Atlanta mayors William B. Hartsfield, Ivan Allen, Jr., and Sam Massell, Congressman Wyche Fowler, and Senator Walter F. George. The papers contain general correspondence, subject files, writings, newspaper clippings, magazine articles, reports, photographs and other items.

CHERRY, JIM D. (MSS 655)

Papers, 1947-1988; 11 linear ft. (11 boxes, 13 oversized bound volumes)

Jim D. Cherry (1911-1980) was superintendent of the DeKalb County, Georgia, school system for twenty-five years. The school system underwent token integration by the time Cherry retired in 1972.  The collection consists of correspondence, speeches, writings, printed material, scrapbooks, photographs, clippings, and memorabilia. They document Jim Cherry’s career as superintendent of schools, his civic activities, his broad interest in education, and honors and awards he received.

Restriction: Restrictions on access and reproduction may apply.

CHURCHWELL, ROBERT (MSS 826)

Papers, 1943-2002; 2.25 linear ft. (5 boxes, 7 oversized items)

Robert Churchwell (1917-) joined the previously all-white Nashville Banner in 1950. He accepted the job at the Banner because there were no positions available at Nashville’s African American newspapers.  For the first decade he was at the paper, Churchwell typed his stories at home and dropped them off to his editor each day.  He did not have a desk in the newsroom because the Banner was segregated just like the rest of Nashville and the South.  Churchwell’s pioneering status earned him the nickname, “the Jackie Robinson of Journalism.” 

Although Churchwell covered the civil rights movement during the 1960s, his editors rarely printed the stories.  Churchwell won awards for his education reporting in the 1970s and ended his career at the Banner as a columnist.  The papers include writings by Churchwell including newspaper columns and articles, speeches, and an incomplete copy of his autobiography, “What’s That Nigger’s Name?”

 

CLAYTON COUNTY (GA.) ORAL HISTORY (MSS 828)

Collection, 1989-1998; 1 linear ft. (3 boxes)

This collection consists of eighty-eight audiocassettes of interviews addressing social change in Clayton County since World War II.  The interviewees were asked questions about the relationship between the races, memories of the Ku Klux Klan, the changing roles of women, and how personal attitudes have changed since 1945.

COE, JOHN MORENO (MSS 628)

Case Files, 1919-1973; 113 linear ft. (18 boxes)

John Coe (1896-1974) was a Florida lawyer, who litigated many cases concerning segregation and discrimination. He also served a term as a Florida state senator and chaired the Florida State Progressive Party. The collection contains Progressive Party materials, personal and professional correspondence as well as case files from his law practice. The case files include materials concerning specific cases involving issues about segregation and discrimination. A list of cases is available upon request.

Restriction: Special permission is required for access to some case file materials.

 

COMMUNITY COUNCIL OF ATLANTA AREA, INC. (MSS 570)

Records, 1960-1974; 28 linear ft. (28 boxes)

The Community Council of the Atlanta Area, Inc. was a social planning agency that provided technical assistance and information to various independent agencies and governmental bodies for the formulation and implementation of services and programs.  The collection includes minutes, reports, correspondence, administrative, and subject files. These materials relate to the Council’s work on social concerns such as poverty, drug abuse, daycare, recreation, employment, housing, and aging in the Atlanta area.

CRAIG, CALVIN FRED (MSS 612)

Papers, 1957-1975; 3 linear ft. (3 boxes, 1 oversized item)

Calvin F. Craig, a dry cleaner by trade, was named Grand Dragon of the Knights of the Ku Klux Klan for the state of Georgia in 1960.  He resigned his post in 1968 to pursue a career in politics.  When his political career failed to take off, Craig returned to the Klan in the 1970s.  The collection contains Klan broadsides, brochures, certificates, press releases, membership cards, meeting minutes, and correspondence.

CRAWFORD, MATT N. AND EVELYN GRAVES (MSS 882)

Papers, ca. 1932-1967; 9.75 linear ft. (20 boxes, 8 oversized items)

Matt Nathaniel Crawford (1903-1996) was politically active in California and nationally from the 1930s until his death in 1966.  Born in Anniston, AL, he migrated to Oakland with his family in 1911.  His wife Evelyn (1889-1972) was born in San Francisco.  The couple married in 1929 and lived in Berkeley throughout their married life.  The collection includes books, periodicals, pamphlets, broadsides, and programs documenting Matt Crawford’s involvement in the CIO Minority Commission; Negro Commission/Communist Party USA; National Negro Congress; Civil Rights Congress, International Labor Defense, National Negro Labor Council, and other political groups.  It also contains extensive correspondence with intimate friends Langston Hughes, Louise Thompson Patterson, and William L. Patterson.  A list of books originally found in the Crawford family library is available.

 

CURRY, CONSTANCE W. (MSS 818)

Papers, 1951-1997; 8 linear ft. (14 boxes, 1 oversized item)

Constance W. Curry (1933-) is an author, attorney, community organizer, and political activist. From 1960-1964 she was Director of the Southern Student Human Relations Project of the National Student Association and became the first white female on the executive committee of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC). From 1964-1975, she was Southern Field Representative of the American Friends Service Committee. In 1975, she became Director of the Office of Human Services for the City of Atlanta. Her book, Silver Rights, won the 1996 Lillian Smith Award for non-fiction and recounts the story of one rural Mississippi family’s struggle for education and for civil rights during the 1960’s. Curry’s papers include materials relating to her civil rights activities, personal papers, and printed material.

DAVIS, JAMES C. (MSS 507)

Papers, 1919-1966; 221 linear ft. (216 boxes)

James C. Davis (1895-1981), an ardent segregationist, served as a Georgia representative in the U.S. Congress from 1947-1963.  His papers contain files on segregation and the materials also detail efforts to maintain segregation in public schools in Georgia.

 

DERBY, DORIS ADELAIDE (MSS 935)

Papers; 26 linear ft. (26 boxes)

This collection consists of the personal papers of Doris Derby, civil rights activist, educator, and photographer.  Derby worked principally in Mississippi and she was a co-founder of the Free Southern Theater.  The collection includes correspondence, printed material, and photographs.

DUNBAR, LESLIE (MSS 694)

Papers; 14.50 linear ft. (19 boxes)

Leslie Dunbar (1921-) is a writer, consultant, and educator. He served as a political science professor at Emory University before joining the Southern Regional Council as executive director in 1961. Dunbar published five books on social welfare, minorities, and liberalism. The collection includes professional and personal correspondence, lectures, articles, speeches, book reviews, audio recordings of interviews and speeches, typescripts of books, holographs, as well as thirteen issues of “New South,” a Southern Regional Council publication.

Restriction: Access to boxes 4-6 and 16 is restricted.

 

EMORY UNIVERSITY.  DIVISION OF CAMPUS LIFE (RG 300/Series 15)

Student Government Association records, 1946- ; 12 linear ft.

Records of the Student Government Association (Record Group 300: Series 15) include materials relating to activities and issues affecting the student body, including subject files relating to the Martin Luther King, Jr. Scholarship Fund (box 22: folder 4), and race relations (box 22: folder 9).

EMORY UNIVERSITY. LEGAL COUNSEL (RG 100/Series 5)

Henry L. Bowden office files, 1970-1983; 17 linear ft.

Record Group 100: Series 5 consists of the office files of Henry Lumpkin Bowden (1910-1997), lawyer and Emory University trustee. Bowden also served Emory University legal counsel. The collection includes files related to Bowden’s activities with Emory University, including correspondence about the integration of the University.

Restriction: Portions subject to access restriction; special permission required for use.

Note: Related materials in this repository are in the Emory University Archives.

EMORY UNIVERSITY. STUDENT AND ACADEMIC SERVICES (RG 200/Series 17)

Thomas L. Fernandez office files, 1967-1980; 5 linear ft.

Record Group 200: Series 17 contains folders on minority admission requirements (box 3), Black House (box 8: folder 29), the Black Student Alliance (box 6: folder 64 and box 8: folder 29), racism reports from 1969 to 1970, and papers on the Martin Luther King, Jr. Scholarship Fund (box 4: folder 5).  Box 6 also contains material about racial discrimination submitted by individuals and student organizations in the 1970s.

EPISCOPAL SOCIETY FOR CULTURAL AND RACIAL UNITY (MSS 723)

Records, 1961-1966; .25 linear ft. (1 box)

The Episcopal Society for Cultural and Racial Unity (ESCRU), a voluntary society of the then Protestant Episcopal Church, was founded in Atlanta in 1960. The organization worked to establish total participation in the Church by all persons regardless of race, class, or national original. This collection consists of statements of purpose, newsletters, official correspondence, and materials related to the Lovett School segregation controversy.

 

GOOD, PAUL (MSS 1025)

Papers; .25 linear ft. (1 box)

Paul Joseph Good, Jr. (1929-2005) was a television and print journalist known for his coverage of the civil rights movement.  He arrived in Atlanta in 1961 to work there as Southern bureau chief for ABC News.   During his time as Southern bureau chief, Good traveled throughout the South covering the civil rights movement.  The papers consist of audio recordings. The recordings include speeches; reports from marches, rallies, and clashes over school integration; and interviews of civil rights leaders such as Andrew Young, Martin Luther King, Jr., John Lewis and of Klan Wizard Robert Shelton.  The tapes document events in Atlanta, Georgia, Notasulga, Alabama, St. Augustine, Florida, Philadelphia, Mississippi, and Jackson, Mississippi. 

 

GRIFFIN, JOHN A. (MSS 767)

Papers, 1964- ; 58 linear ft. (58 boxes)

John A. Griffin was an educator, activist, and labor arbitrator.  He was a founding member of the Southern Regional Council.  In 1964, Griffin worked as deputy director of the U.S. Department of Justice, Community Relations Service.  As deputy director, he helped mediate conflicts in Alabama, Mississippi, and Louisiana.  Between 1965 and 1978, Griffin served as the director of the Southern Education Foundation, a foundation dedicated to equal educational opportunities for African Americans in the American South.

This collection consists of the personal papers of John A. Griffin.  It includes correspondence, reports, audiovisual items, and other material documenting Griffin’s work with the Southern Regional Council and the Southern Education Foundation as well as his career as an arbitrator.

 

HARDING, VINCENT (MSS 868)

Papers, 1961-1974; 29.25 linear ft. (59 boxes, 27 oversized items)

Harding (b. 1931) is a theologian, historian, activist, and one of the founders of the Institute of the Black World.  This collection covers the years Harding was with Mennonite House, Spelman College, the Martin Luther King, Jr. Documentation Project, and the Institute of the Black World.  The collection includes correspondence and a number of black-published periodicals.

 

HARTSFIELD, WILLIAM BERRY (MSS 558)

Papers, 1892-1980; 22 linear ft. (60 boxes, 12 oversized items)

Hartsfield (1890-1971), the son of a tinsmith, was an attorney, an untiring civic booster, politician, and longtime mayor of Atlanta (1937-1962). The collection contains materials relating to race relations and the early civil rights movement in Atlanta.

HARVEY, THOMAS W. (THOMAS WATSON) (MSS 1066)

Papers; 7 linear ft. (7 boxes and 1 oversized paper)

Thomas Watson Harvey (1893-1978) was an African American leader in the Universal Negro Improvement Association (UNIA). He served in the United States Army before becoming involved with the UNIA in 1919. He was associated with Marcus Garvey as a part of the Pan-African movement. Harvey was elected President-General of the UNIA from 1950-1978. He died on June 27, 1978 in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.  The collection contains papers of Thomas W. Harvey from circa 1924-1972 related to his involvement with the Universal Negro Improvement Association. The papers include pamphlets and other printed material, correspondence, including 80 letters signed by Marcus Garvey, and reports of the UNIA.

 

HERBERS, JOHN (MSS 806)

Papers, 1950-1996; 7.5 linear ft. (13 boxes, 1 oversized item)

John Herbers (1923-), journalist, began his career on the Greenwood, Mississippi Morning Star where he worked for eighteen months.  A short time later, Herbers moved to the Jackson, Mississippi Daily News and then to the United Press International in Mississippi.  Herbers joined The New York Times in 1964 and worked there until his retirement in 1987.  The collection consists of materials from Herbers’ years at The New York Times Washington Bureau.   It includes material about the civil rights movement and the Nixon presidency.

KILLENS, JOHN OLIVER (MSS 957)

Papers, 1937-1987; 18 linear ft. (53 boxes)

John Oliver Killens (1916-1987) was an African American novelist, essayist, screenwriter, political activist, and teacher.  After years of struggling, Killens saw his first novel, Youngblood, published in 1954 to critical acclaim.  In 1964 his World War II novel, And Then We Heard the Thunder, was nominated for the Pulitzer Prize in Fiction.

After the success of Youngblood, Killens received assignments from Harry Belafonte, the popular singer and actor, to write outlines for screenplays as well as story ideas and screen treatments.  Like Belafonte, Killens was active in the civil rights movement, serving in various capacities in the New York State NAACP and as Chairman of the NAACP’s National Cultural Committee.  He also supported the Congress of Racial Equality (CORE) and the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC) as well as helping Malcolm X set up the Organization for Afro-American Unity. 

The John Oliver Killens papers document Killens’ personal, intellectual, professional, and political life.  The collection includes correspondence, writings by Killens, writing by others, and printed material.  The writings of Killens includes critical writings; forewords and prefaces; essays; speeches; novellas and novels; plays; screenplays; scripts; and story ideas.

MAY, JAMES WILLIAM (MSS 667)

Papers 1929-1988; 8.50 linear ft. (16 boxes)

May (1912-) is professor emeritus of theology at Emory University. During the 1950s and 1960s, he was interested in the issue of school desegregation and the church's response to integration. He also helped formulate Emory's position on race relations. The collection includes bound volumes, printed materials, sermons, correspondence, and a manuscript of his book The Glenn Memorial Story (1985).

MCGILL, RALPH (MSS 252)

Papers, 1853-1971; 60.25 linear ft. (118 boxes, 32 oversized papers, 75 bound volumes, 7 reels of microfilm)

 

McGill (1898-1969) was the editor-in-chief (1941-1960) and publisher (1960-1969) of the Atlanta Constitution. He was a prominent Southern civil rights advocate, who was known as the "Conscience of the South." The collection consists of family and general correspondence, committee records and correspondence, writings, financial papers and subject files, photographs, scrapbooks, memorabilia, and audiovisual materials. Letters include correspondence with persons involved in the civil rights movement. Topics covered in the subject files include race relations and integration; local, state and national politics, 1948-1968; education and the public schools in the South and Atlanta; the church and the race issue; the Ku Klux Klan and Columbians in Georgia in the 1930s and early 1940s. The collection also includes information on organizations such as the Southern Conference for Human Welfare, the Southern Regional Council, the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People, and segregationist organizations.

MCMICHAEL, JACK R. (MSS 649)

Papers, 1933-1984; 23.50 linear ft. (30 boxes)

Jack R. McMichael (1917-1984) was a Methodist minister, social activist, and educator. The collection includes material related to McMichael’s involvement in community organizations and social movements from the 1930s through the 1970s.

NEWSWEEK, INC. ATLANTA BUREAU (MSS 629)

Records, 1954-1979; 19 linear ft. (19 boxes)

The Atlanta bureau of Newsweek was the hub of the weekly magazine’s southern network.  Reporters from Atlanta fanned out across the region to write stories for Newsweek’s editorial office in New York.  These stories were then edited, combined, and consolidated by the editors for publication. 

The Atlanta bureau files include press clippings, drafts of stories, handwritten notes, press releases, correspondence, and printed materials.  Reporters gathered most of these materials while out on assignment.  Newsweek correspondents filed stories about the civil rights movement from Albany, Atlanta, Birmingham, Little Rock, McComb, Montgomery, New Orleans, Orangeburg, St. Augustine, and Winston Salem.  There are also subject files on organizations such as the NAACP, SCLC, SNCC, and the KKK, as well as files on prominent individuals like Martin Luther King, Jr.

 

PASCHALL, ELIZA K. (MSS 532)

Papers, 1932-1988; 51 linear ft. (76 boxes, 2 oversized items)

Paschall (1917-1990) was an Atlanta civic activist who was involved in a variety of civil rights organizations and women's groups, including the Greater Atlanta Council on Human Relations (GACHR). The collection includes files from Paschall's tenure as executive director of the GACHR (1961-1967), and from the Community Relations Commission (1967-1968).  The collection includes correspondence, minutes, inter-office memoranda, reports, press releases, and clippings as well as materials relating to the League of Women Voters, National Organization for Women, and other organizations.

PATTERSON, LOUISE THOMPSON (MSS 869)

Papers, 1909-1996; 17.50 linear ft. (33 boxes, 3 oversized items, 1 bound volume)

Louise Thompson Thurman Patterson (1901-1999) was an important figure in the Harlem Renaissance and an active campaigner for civil rights, racial and sexual equality, economic justice, and international human rights.  The collection includes correspondence concerning the film on the Negro in American life to have been made in the Soviet Union in1932, and records of the Sojourners for Truth and Justice, a national black women’s organization co-founded with Beah Richards.  Emory also holds the personal library of Louise Thompson Patterson.

PAULEY, FRANCES FREEBORN (MSS 659)

Papers, 1919-1992; 54.25 linear ft. (100 boxes, 11 oversized items, 3 oversized bound volumes)

Pauley (1905-2003) was an activist for civil rights and social causes.  She was active in the League of Women Voters, Georgia Council on Human Relations, U.S. Department of Health, Education, and Welfare (HEW) Office for Civil Rights, Georgia Poverty Rights Organization, and the Southern Regional Council. The collection includes correspondence, reports, clippings, printed material and collected data which document Pauley's work in the areas of school desegregation, civil rights and poverty.

PENDERGRAST, NAN (MSS 730)

Papers 1935-1993; .5 linear ft. (1 box)

Pendergrast (1920- ) is a native Atlantan who worked as a freelance journalist and civic activist. She’s published articles in the Atlanta Constitution, the Atlanta Journal, the Christian Science Monitor, and other publications. In addition to her journalistic endeavors, Pendergrast worked for Planned Parenthood Atlanta, Georgia Council on Human Relations, and Atlantans for Peace.  The collection consists of correspondence, mainly with prominent political and media figures, and photocopies of Mrs. Pendergrast's scrapbooks.

POMERANTZ, GARY M. (MSS 890)

Where Peachtree Meets Sweet Auburn research files and interviews, 1991-1996; 13 linear ft. (26 boxes)

Gary M. Pomerantz is an award-winning journalist and author.  His first book, Where Peachtree Meets Sweet Auburn: A Saga of Race and Family (1996), tells the story of race relations in 20th century Atlanta through the history of two families: the Allens and the Dobbs.  Both of these families produced future mayors of Atlanta: Ivan Allen, Jr., who was the only southern politician to go to Washington, D.C. to speak in favor of the 1964 Civil Rights Act, and Maynard H. Jackson, the first African American mayor of a southern city. 

This collection consists of materials relating to Where Peachtree Meets Sweet Auburn: A Saga of Race and Family.  It includes interviews, interview transcripts, research materials, notebooks and audio materials relating to the history of the Allen and Dobbs families as well as the history of modern Atlanta. Of particular interest are the interviews and interview transcripts, which recount the racial, political, economic and social life of 20th century Atlanta.

 

RAINEY, GLENN W. (GLENN WEDDINGTON) (MSS 471)

Papers, 1917-1974; 10 linear ft. (20 boxes, 1 oversized item, 9 bound volumes)

Rainey (1907-1989), an alumnus of Emory University, was a professor of English at the Georgia Institute of Technology in Atlanta from 1932 until 1974. He was involved in many political, social, civic and professional organizations, including the Georgia Commission on Interracial Cooperation, the Committee for Georgia of the Southern Conference for Human Welfare, and the Southern Regional Council. The collection consists mainly of correspondence dealing with Rainey's organizational activities.

 

RICH, RICHARD H. (MSS 575)

Papers, 1902-1981; 42.50 linear ft. (83 boxes, 7 oversized items, 9 oversized bound volumes)

Rich (1901-1975), an Atlanta business and civic leader, was the grandson of the founder of Rich's Department Store. He started working at Rich’s in 1924 and he served as chairman of the Board from 1961 until 1972. His papers include material related to race relations in Atlanta and how the civil rights movement affected polices at Rich’s.  For example, the company’s employee magazines reflect changing societal attitudes about segregation and race relations in the workplace. There are also materials relating to sit-ins and other protests from 1958-1961.

ROTHSCHILD, JACOB M. (MSS 637)

Papers, 1933-1985; 13.25 linear ft. (27 boxes, 2 bound volumes)

Rothschild (1911-1973) was the rabbi of The Temple, Atlanta's leading Reform Judaism congregation, from 1947 to 1973. During this period, he was active in the civil rights movement and school desegregation.  The collection includes correspondence, sermons, writings, clippings, printed and audiovisual materials, and memorabilia as well as some materials relating to the 1958 bombing of The Temple.

Restriction:  Reproduction cannot be made of address given at dinner honoring Martin Luther King, Jr., January 1965 in Box 25, Folder 10.

ROZIER, JOHN (MSS 672)

Papers, 1967-1987; 2.50 linear ft. (5 boxes)

John Rozier (1918-) is journalist, newspaper publisher, and author. He also served as director of Emory University's Office of News and Information for twenty years. The majority of the collection contains research material for Rozier's book, Black Boss: Political Revolution in a Georgia County (1982).  The collection consists of newspaper clippings, correspondence, annual reports, biographical files, notecards, and other material about the Georgia Council on Human Relations and Hancock County, Georgia.  

It also includes drafts and edits of individual chapters of Rozier’s book.

Restriction: Interview notes for book, Black Boss, are closed.

SCOTT, WILLIAM H.  (WILLIAM HENRY) (MSS 1082)

Family papers, 1878-1918; 5 linear ft. (5 boxes)

William H. Scott (1848-1910), Baptist minister and political activist, was one of the original members of the Niagara Movement, predecessor organization to the NAACP.  William H. Scott, Jr. (1887-1976) was the son of William H. Scott and Laura Ann Fields Scott.  Scott followed his father's interest in politics and was active in the National Equal Rights League.  He wrote for radical periodicals, including The Clarion and The New Negro.

The collection consists of the papers of the William H. Scott family from 1878-1918, and includes correspondence, scrapbooks, photographs, pamphlets, broadsides, sermons, writings, and other collected material of William H. Scott and his son William H. Scott, Jr.  The majority of the correspondence concerns the political activities of William H. Scott.  Also of interest in the collection are a number of letters written by William H. Scott, Jr. to his wife while he was serving in the military from 1918-1919.  The correspondence details black life in the army during the Jim Crow era.  Scrapbooks contain newspaper clippings from African American newspapers concerning politics, African American history, and family history.  Sermons and writings are by both William H. Scott and William H. Scott, Jr.  Photographs are mostly of family members and many were taken by William H. Scott, Jr.  Printed material consists of pamphlets and announcements concerning political and religious activity in the African American community in Massachusetts and Washington, DC, during the early 20th century.  The collection also includes a Civil War era sword.

SIBLEY, JOHN ADAMS (MSS 437)

Papers, 1920-1989; 154.25 linear ft. (463 boxes, 2 oversized bound volumes)

Sibley (1888-1986) was a prominent Atlanta lawyer, banker, and civic leader. He was a partner in the Atlanta law firm of King and Spaulding, general counsel to Coca-Cola, president of Trust Company Bank, head of Atlanta's first United Way appeal, and chairman of the General Assembly Commission on Schools, which is known as the “Sibley Commission.”  The Sibley Commission sought a way to keep Georgia’s public schools open after the U.S. Supreme Court’s Brown v. Board of Education decision.  The collection includes Sibley's personal and professional files, including correspondence, speeches, legal and financial records, photos, and printed items.

Restriction:  Access to certain files relating to Coca-Cola and the Emily and Ernest Woodruff Foundation is restricted (series 1: subject files).

SITTON, CLAUDE FOX (MSS 633)

Papers, 1958-1990; 13 linear ft. (14 boxes)

Sitton (1925-) worked as the southern correspondent for The New York Times during the late 1950s and early 1960s.  During this time, he was widely considered the “dean” of the “Race Beat,” the best reporter on the southern civil rights assignment.  Later, he worked as editor of the Raleigh News and Observer.  He was awarded a Pulitzer Prize for his weekly column.  After his retirement, Sitton taught at Emory University, his alma mater.  The collection contains Sitton's personal and professional papers, including correspondence, printed materials, speeches and writings.  The correspondence, by-lines and columns, and speeches date from the period after Sitton left The New York Times.  The scrapbooks, though, contain clippings of his work from the late 1950s and early 1960s.

SOUTHERN REGIONAL COUNCIL (MSS 934)

“Will The Circle Be Unbroken?” program files and sound recordings; 21 linear ft. (21 boxes)

"Will the Circle Be Unbroken?: An Audio History of the Civil Rights Movement in Five Southern Communities and the Music of Those Times"  is an awarding-winning radio documentary.  Produced by the Southern Regional Council (SRC), it chronicles the struggle to end segregation in Atlanta, Georgia, Columbia, South Carolina, Jackson, Mississippi, Little Rock, Arkansas, and Montgomery, Alabama. While other civil rights documentaries concentrate on national leaders and national organizations, "Will the Circle Be Unbroken?" focuses on "the essential local character of the places and people who collectively became the Movement."  In order to capture the undocumented side of the movement, the producers conducted over a hundred of original interviews with civil rights activists and combed through archives all across the country for oral histories and other materials.  "Will the Circle Be Unbroken?" aired on Public Radio International (PRI) affiliates across the country in 1997, and it won a prestigious George Foster Peabody Award the same year.

The "Will the Circle Be Unbroken?" program files consist of interview transcripts, audiovisual materials, scripts, program research files, and production files. The largest part of the collection is made up of materials related to the interviews, including tapes and transcripts of interviews conducted by the SRC as well as transcripts and tapes from other archival repositories.  The program research files consist of inventories of archival collections, correspondence with archival repositories as well as historical materials, including biographical sketches, chronologies, notes, newspaper clippings, articles, excerpts from books, and guides for each city.  The production files relate to the production and administration of documentary.  Of particular interest in this series are the comments from listeners about the documentary as well as the station carriage lists, which list the stations that carried "Will the Circle Be Unbroken?" in the United States.

STEVENS, RICHARD L. (MSS 520)

Collection, 1964-1969; 14 linear ft. (28 boxes)

Activist and education, Richard Lee Stevens, arrived in Atlanta during the 1960s when he enrolled in Georgia Institute of Technology.  He was active in the peace, civil rights, and student movements in the Gate City and across the South.  In 1965 he became director of the Southern Student Human Relations Project, U.S. National Student Association.  The collection consists of pamphlets, newspaper clippings, news bulletins, periodicals, and handbills related to the anti-war and civil rights movements as well as the war of poverty.

SULLIVAN, PATRICIA, INTERVIEWER (MSS 621)

Progressive Party oral history interviews, 1975-1982; 2.25 linear ft. (6 boxes)

This collection consists of oral history interviews with participants in the 1948 Progressive Party campaign in the South.  Interviewees include John Abt, Randolph Blackwell, William Holmes Borders, James Dombrowski, Viginia Durr, Floyd Hunter, Curtis MacDougall, Claude Pepper, John Popham, Glenn Rainey, Pete Seeger, Studs Terkel, Strom Thurmond, and F. Palmer Weber.

TILLY, DOROTHY ROGERS (MSS 539)

Papers, 1868-1970; 2 linear ft. (4 boxes, 1 oversized item, 4 bound volumes)

Tilly (1883-1970) spent much of her life fighting for civil rights in Atlanta and the South. She worked as the director of women's work for the Southern Regional Council.  She was also active in the Georgia Interracial Committee, Atlanta Urban League, Georgia Conference on Social Work, the Fellowship of the Concerned, and President Truman's Committee on Civil Rights. The collection includes correspondence, newspaper clippings, biographical information, copies of records of the Committee on Civil Rights, and a scrapbook and record books for the Women's Missionary Society of the Methodist Church.

TUTTLE, ELBERT P. (MSS 792)

Judicial papers, 1952-1995; 87 linear ft. (92 boxes)

Judge Tuttle (1897-1996) was a member of the United States Court of Appeals for the 5th Circuit from 1954-1967.  He served as Chief Judge of that court from 1960 until 1967.  Until its division in 1981, the “old” 5th Circuit had jurisdiction over the six states in the South.  The 5th Circuit served as the federal appellate court one level below the Supreme Court, and it comprised the country’s largest and busiest Constitutional court during the civil rights movements.  The Tuttle judicial papers include correspondence, docket books, records relating to court administration, case files and opinions, and a small number of personal papers. The majority of the case files begin in 1965-1966.  However, there are some case files from earlier civil rights cases such as Meredith v. Fair and Armstrong et al. v. Board of Education of the City of Birmingham.

WILKINS, JOSEPHINE MATHEWSON (MSS 580)

Papers, 1920-1977; 50 linear ft. (66 boxes, 4 oversized items, 3 oversized bound volumes)

Wilkins (1893-1977), an Atlanta civic leader and social reformer, worked with the League of Women Voters, the Georgia Children's Code Commission, (1923-1937), the Citizens' Fact-Finding Movement of Georgia, (1937-1949), and the Southern Regional Council. The collection includes correspondence, minutes, subject files, reports, financial records, press releases, clippings, photographs and other items documenting Wilkins' roles in various organizations.

WOODWARD, EMILY BARNELIA (MSS 424)

Papers, 1918-1966; 5.75 linear ft. (12 boxes)

Woodward (1885-1970), journalist, worked as an editor of the Vienna News, contributed to the Atlanta Journal, and directed the Georgia Public Forums.  She also participated in other civic, cultural, and women's organizations. The collection includes correspondence, manuscript articles and addresses, clippings, photographs, scrapbooks, and biographical material.

WSB (RADIO STATION: ATLANTA, GA) (MSS 663)

Tape recordings collection, 1955-1980; 236 linear ft. (236 boxes, 2 oversized items)

Licensed in 1922, WSB was the first radio station in the South. Originally owned by the Atlanta Journal, WSB was bought by Governor James M. Cox of Ohio in 1939, and today remains a part of Cox Broadcasting, continuing a tradition of community involvement and service. WSB has documented many events important in Atlanta's history during the period from 1955 to 1980.

Restrictions: Restrictions on access and reproduction may apply.

 


II: Post-Civil Rights Movements

 

 

ABRAM, MORRIS B. (MSS 514)

Papers, 1954-1986; 96 linear ft. (96 boxes, 3 oversized items)

 Abram (1918-2000), a Georgia native, served as an educator, lawyer, statesman, and U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations Offices in Geneva, Switzerland. This collection documents his career, particularly his work on human and civil rights.  U.S. President Ronald Reagan nominated Abram to the United States Committee on Civil Rights (USCCR) in 1983. The papers include newspaper clippings, writings, correspondence, and other materials related to Abram’s time on the USCCR, including material on issues such as Affirmative Action, racial gerrymandering, and Title IX.

 Restriction: Portions of the collection are restricted and cannot be used without permission of the donor.

AFRICAN AMERICAN CINEMA (MSS 814)

Collection, 1907-2001; 8 linear ft.

This collection consists primarily of promotional materials, including lobby cards, press books, posters, and ephemera, related to African Americans in cinema.  The strength of the collection resides in the 1970s when the Hollywood studios attempted to reach out to African American audiences with the controversial “Blaxploitation” genre.

ARRINGTON, MARVIN S. (MSS 714)

Papers, ca. 1980- ; 6 linear ft. (15 boxes, 1 oversized item)

Marvin S. Arrington (b. 1941) was the president of the Atlanta City Council and is a 1969 alumnus of the Emory law school. The collection includes correspondence relating to the Atlanta City Council (1986‑1997); speeches and writings on civil rights, racial issues, and civic affairs (including the Sabrina Collins controversy, revitalization of the Auburn Avenue area, the Minority Counsel Program, and other issues); printed materials, including Arrington's Plain Talk (1992), articles about Arrington; photographs; and other materials.

CAMILLE BILLOPS AND JAMES V. HATCH (MSS 927)

Archives at Emory University, 1879-2002; 19.5 linear ft. (39 boxes)

The Billops/Hatch Collection in New York began in 1968 while Camille Billops (b. 1933), filmmaker and artist, and James V. Hatch (b. 1928), theatre historian, were teaching art and literature at the City College of New York.  Realizing that very little had been published about black American art, drama, and literature, they began collecting primary materials for their students. The Camille Billops and James V. Hatch Archives at Emory includes play scripts by Amiri Baraka, Lorraine Hansberry, August Wilson, and hundreds of others.

BLACK PRINT CULTURE (MSS 921)

Collection, 1854-1997; 15 linear ft. (15 boxes, 37 oversized items)

The Black Print Culture Collection includes printed matter pertaining to religion and music; items published by the black press; publications relating to fraternities and sororities; to organizations, education, business and professional matters; to arts and entertainment; and, broadsides, posters, and ephemera.

This collection includes periodicals like SCLC [The Southern Christian Leadership Conference magazine], Black Liberation Journal, and Black-World-View as well as some Black Panther Party press releases and newsletters.

BROWN, ELAINE (MSS 912)

Papers; 8 linear ft. (8 boxes)

This collection contains the literary, artistic, and personal correspondence; videos; newspaper clippings; and drafts of published and unpublished writings of this activist and former Black Panther leader.  Correspondents include Jerry Brown, Joan Browning, Barbara Chase-Ribaud, David Hilliard, Tom Jones (Jomandi), Huey P. Newton, Jean Seberg, and Anna Devere Smith.  The collection focuses on the period following her active involvement in the Black Panther Party.

CHURCHWELL, ROBERT (MSS 826)

Papers, 1943-2002; 2.25 linear ft. (5 boxes, 7 oversized items)

Robert Churchwell (1917-) joined the previously all-white Nashville Banner in 1950. He accepted the job at the Banner because there were no positions available at Nashville’s African American newspapers.  For the first decade he was at the paper, Churchwell typed his stories at home and dropped them off to his editor each day.  He did not have a desk in the newsroom because the Banner was segregated just like the rest of Nashville and the South.  Churchwell’s pioneering status earned him the nickname, “the Jackie Robinson of Journalism.” 

Although Churchwell covered the civil rights movement during the 1960s, his editors rarely printed the stories.  Churchwell won awards for his education reporting in the 1970s and ended his career at the Banner as a columnist.  The papers include writings by Churchwell including newspaper columns and articles, speeches, and an incomplete copy of his autobiography, “What’s That Nigger’s Name?”

COMMUNITY COUNCIL OF ATLANTA AREA, INC. (MSS 570)

Records, 1960-1974; 28 linear ft. (28 boxes)

The Community Council of the Atlanta Area, Inc. was a social planning agency that provided technical assistance and information to various independent agencies and governmental bodies for the formulation and implementation of services and programs.  The collection includes minutes, reports, correspondence, administrative, and subject files. These materials relate to the Council’s work on social concerns such as poverty, drug abuse, daycare, recreation, employment, housing, and aging in the Atlanta area.

CRAIG, CALVIN FRED (MSS 612)

Papers, 1957-1975; 3 linear ft. (3 boxes, 1 oversized item)

Calvin F. Craig, a dry cleaner by trade, was named Grand Dragon of the Knights of the Ku Klux Klan for the state of Georgia in 1960.  He resigned his post in 1968 to pursue a career in politics.  When his political career failed to take off, Craig returned to the Klan in the 1970s.  The collection contains Klan broadsides, brochures, certificates, press releases, membership cards, meeting minutes, and correspondence.

CURRY, CONSTANCE W. (MSS 818)

Papers, 1951-1997; 7 linear ft. (14 boxes, 1 oversized item)

Constance W. Curry (1933-) is an author, attorney, community organizer, and political activist. From 1960-1964 she was Director of the Southern Student Human Relations Project of the National Student Association and became the first white female on the executive committee of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC). From 1964-1975, she was Southern Field Representative of the American Friends Service Committee. In 1975, she became Director of the Office of Human Services for the City of Atlanta. Her book, Silver Rights, won the 1996 Lillian Smith Award for non-fiction and recounts the story of one rural Mississippi family’s struggle for education and for civil rights during the 1960’s. Curry’s papers include materials relating to her civil rights activities, personal papers, and printed material.

DAVIS, THULANI (MSS 914)

Papers; 3.25 linear ft. (8 boxes)

This collection is comprised primarily of African American periodicals from the 1960s and 1970s collected by Davis, journalist, novelist, librettist, and poet.  The collection also includes interviews Davis conducted whilecovering Jesse Jackson's 1988 presidential campaign for The Atlanta Journal, as well as other print ephemera.

                                          

DERBY, DORIS ADELAIDE (MSS 935)

Papers; 26 linear ft. (26 boxes)

This collection consists of the personal papers of Doris Derby, civil rights activist, educator, and photographer.  Derby worked principally in Mississippi and she was a co-founder of the Free Southern Theater.  The collection includes correspondence, printed material, and photographs.

DOVE, PEARLIE CRAFT (MSS 846)

Papers, 1958-1996; 1.50 linear ft. (3 boxes)

This collection consists of the personal papers of Pearlie Craft Dove, educator and Cluster Coordinator for The Atlanta Project.  The papers include correspondence relating to her career as a teacher, photographs, newspaper clippings, her curriculum vita, speeches, oral history interviews, black history calendars, and records relating to The Atlanta Project, a community-based project to improve neighborhood schools. 

GRIFFIN, JOHN A. (MSS 767)

Papers, 1964- ; 58 linear ft. (58 boxes)

John A. Griffin was an educator, activist, and labor arbitrator.  He was a founding member of the Southern Regional Council.  In 1964, Griffin worked as deputy director of the U.S. Department of Justice, Community Relations Service.  As deputy director, he helped mediate conflicts in Alabama, Mississippi, and Louisiana.  Between 1965 and 1978, Griffin served as the director of the Southern Education Foundation, a foundation dedicated to equal educational opportunities for African Americans in the American South.

This collection consists of the personal papers of John A. Griffin.  It includes correspondence, reports, audiovisual items, and other material documenting Griffin’s work with the Southern Regional Council and the Southern Education Foundation as well as his career as an arbitrator.

, incidents

HERBERS, JOHN (MSS 806)

Papers, 1950-1996; 7.50 linear ft. (13 boxes, 1 oversized item)

John Herbers (1923-), journalist, began his career on the Greenwood, Mississippi Morning Star where he worked for eighteen months.  A short time later, Herbers moved to the Jackson, Mississippi Daily News and then to the United Press International in Mississippi.  Herbers joined The New York Times in 1964 and worked there until his retirement in 1987.  The collection consists of materials from Herbers’ years at The New York Times Washington Bureau.   It includes material about the civil rights movement and the Nixon presidency.

 

PASCHALL, ELIZA K. (MSS 532)

Papers, 1932-1988; 51 linear ft. (76 boxes, 2 oversized items)

Paschall (1917-1990) was an Atlanta civic activist who was involved in a variety of civil rights organizations and women's groups, including the Greater Atlanta Council on Human Relations (GACHR). The collection includes files from Paschall's tenure as executive director of the GACHR (1961-1967), and from the Community Relations Commission (1967-1968).  Paschall was also a compliance officer on the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (1966-1984).  The collection includes correspondence, minutes, inter-office memoranda, reports, press releases, and clippings as well as materials relating to the League of Women Voters, National Organization for Women and other organizations.

 

PATTERSON, LOUISE THOMPSON (MSS 869)

Papers, 1909-1996; 17.50 linear ft. (33 boxes, 3 oversized items, 1 bound volume)

Louise Thompson Thurman Patterson (1901-1999) was an important figure in the Harlem Renaissance and an active campaigner for civil rights, racial and sexual equality, economic justice, and international human rights.  She headed the Angela Davis Defense Fund in the 1970s. The collection includes the records of the Sojourners for Truth and Justice, a national black women’s organization co-founded with Beah Richards.  Emory also holds the personal library of Louise Thompson Patterson.

PAULEY, FRANCES FREEBORN (MSS 659)

Papers, 1919-1992; 52.50 linear ft. (100 boxes, 11 oversized items, 3 oversized bound volumes)

Pauley (1905-2003) was an activist for civil rights and social causes.  From 1968 to 1973, Frances Pauley worked for the Office of Civil Rights of the U.S. Department of Health, Education and Welfare.  She began working in the welfare compliance section, but was soon moved to the education division where she coordinated school desegregation compliance in Mississippi.  After her retirement in 1973, Pauley continued to be active in social causes, founding the Georgia Poverty Rights Organization in 1974.  The organization lobbied for the rights of poor people, concentrating specifically in the areas of welfare and energy assistance.  She was also involved in other human rights and civil rights organizations, including AID Atlanta, and People for Urban Justice (PUJ), an organization for the homeless sponsored by the Open Door Community. The collection includes correspondence, reports, clippings, printed material and collected data which document Pauley's work in the areas of school desegregation, civil rights and poverty.

PENDERGRAST, NAN (MSS 730)

Papers 1935-1993; .50 linear ft. (1 box)

Pendergrast (1920- ) is a native Atlantan who worked as a freelance journalist and civic activist. She’s published articles in the Atlanta Constitution, the Atlanta Journal, the Christian Science Monitor, and other publications. In addition to her journalistic endevors, Pendergrast worked for Planned Parenthood Atlanta, Georgia Council on Human Relations, and Atlantans for Peace.  The collection consists of correspondence, mainly with prominent political and media figures, and photocopies of Mrs. Pendergrast's scrapbooks.

PITTS V. FREEMAN (MSS 1036)

School desegregation case files; 10 linear ft.

This suit, Willie Gene Pitts, et al., v. Robert Freeman, et al., was filed in 1983.  It was one lawsuit in a series of litigation stretching back to 1969 in an effort to dismantle DeKalb County’s segregated public school system.  Pitts v. Freeman revolved around the school system’s efforts to expand Redan High School to relieve overcrowding at the school.  The plaintiffs filed a motion to block the expansion, arguing that the county’s efforts to expanding Redan’s capacity was a thinly-veiled effort to avoid reassigning white students to nearby “undercapacity” high schools that were predominately African American.  The proposed construction at the high school, the plaintiffs contended, violated a 1969 injunction that required DeKalb County to construct and expand school facilities “with the objective of eradicating segregation and perpetuating desegregation.”

The case files consist of materials from plaintiffs’ legal team, including legal memos, newspaper clippings, transcripts, expert reports, and other materials related to the case.

POMERANTZ, GARY M. (MSS 890)

Where Peachtree Meets Sweet Auburn research files and interviews, 1991-1996; 13 linear ft. (26 boxes)

Gary M. Pomerantz is an award-winning journalist and author.  His first book, Where Peachtree Meets Sweet Auburn: A Saga of Race and Family (1996), tells the story of race relations in 20th century Atlanta through the history of two families: the Allens and the Dobbs.  Both of these families produced future mayors of Atlanta: Ivan Allen, Jr., who was the only southern politician to go to Washington, D.C. to speak in favor of the 1964 Civil Rights Act, and Maynard H. Jackson, the first African American mayor of a southern city. 

This collection consists of materials relating to Where Peachtree Meets Sweet Auburn: A Saga of Race and Family.  It includes interviews, interview transcripts, research materials, notebooks and audio materials relating to the history of the Allen and Dobbs families as well as the history of modern Atlanta. Of particular interest are the interviews and interview transcripts, which recount the racial, political, economic and social life of 20th century Atlanta.

 

RECORD, WILSON (MSS 846)

Papers; 41 linear ft. (41 boxes)

Wilson Record (1916-1997), a sociologist, kept up an extensive correspondence with scholars and political leaders on issues of race including Ralph Bunche, Horace Cayton, and A. Phillip Randolph.  The collection also includes Record’s research files, drafts of professional papers, and documentation about the emergence of the field of Black Studies. 

SOUTHERN REGIONAL COUNCIL (MSS 933)

“Southways” audio recordings; 8 linear ft. (8 boxes)

“Southways” was a weekly documentary radio show.  It was produced and syndicated by the Regional Radio Network (RRN), a radio network established by the Southern Regional Council (SRC). The “Southways” audio recordings consist of reel-to-reel and cassette tapes of “Southways” programs.  The recordings cover a diverse range of topics from "Illiteracy in Savannah," "Growing Up in the [Mississippi] Delta," "High School Brass Band of New Orleans," and "Louisiana and David Duke."  Besides these topical shows, "Southways" also featured profiles of intriguing southerners such as Stetson Kennedy, folklorist, historian and infiltrator of the Ku Klux Klan, as well as musicians Etta Baker, the "Queen" of the Piedmont blues, and "Queen Ida" Guillory, a Louisiana-born Zydeco musician who rose to prominence far from the bayou out on the West Coast.

TUTTLE, ELBERT P. (MSS 792)

Judicial papers, 1952-1995; 87 linear ft. (92 boxes)

Judge Tuttle (1897-1996) was a member of the United States Court of Appeals for the 5th Circuit from 1954-1967.  He served as Chief Judge of that court from 1960 until 1967.  Until its division in 1981, the “old” 5th Circuit had jurisdiction over the six states in the South.  The 5th Circuit served as the federal appellate court one level below the Supreme Court, and it comprised the country’s largest and busiest Constitutional court during the civil rights movements.  The Tuttle judicial papers include correspondence, docket books, records relating to court administration, case files and opinions, and a small number of personal papers. The majority of the case files begin in 1965-1966.  However, there are some case files from earlier civil rights cases such as Meredith v. Fair and Armstrong et al. v. Board of Education of the City of Birmingham.

WSB (RADIO STATION: ATLANTA, GA) (MSS 663)

Tape recordings collection, 1955-1980; 236 linear ft. (236 boxes, 2 oversized items)

Licensed in 1922, WSB was the first radio station in the South. Originally owned by the Atlanta Journal, WSB was bought by Governor James M. Cox of Ohio in 1939, and today remains a part of Cox Broadcasting, continuing a tradition of community involvement and service. WSB has documented many events important in Atlanta's history during the period from 1955 to 1980.

Restrictions: Restrictions on access and reproduction may apply.

 

 


© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322 | Updated: January 15, 2008