|
The visual materials guide provides information on some of the variety of photographs, engravings, lithographs, cartoons, paintings, maps, and artifacts related to the Civil War that are available in Special Collections. Although some items are part of manuscript collections, most of the visual materials listed here are part of Special Collections' Memorabilia, Pictorial, and Map collections.
Artifacts and Memorabilia
Images of Flags, Ships, Uniforms, and Artifacts
Images of People and Military Units
Images of Places and BattlesMaps
Political Cartoons
Artifacts and Memorabilia
Bibles
- King James version, Oxford University Press, 1855. Carried by Rev. Lucas (later rector of Christ Church, Fort Frederica and St. Marks, Brunswick, Georgia) during service in the Confederate Army. [Confederate Memorabilia (MSS341)]
Busts
- Marble bust of Dr. Robert Battey (1828-1895) in Confederate uniform. [Robert Battey papers (MSS361)]
Cards
- "Reward of Merit" card [for school work] to Hamilton Barschall from Sarah Teasdale, April 20th, and a card with verse and illustration, autographed by Fannie Teasdale, June 1861. [Confederate Memorabilia (MSS341)]
Clothing
- Belt Buckles
- Confederate belt buckle from the Battle of New Hope Church, Ga. [Confederate Memorabilia (MSS341)]
- Confederate belt buckle from the uniform of William Henry Stiles (1834-1878). [Confederate Memorabilia (MSS341)]
- Confederate belt buckles (2) imprinted with palmetto designs. [Confederate Memorabilia (MSS341)]
- Buttons
- Buttons (5) from the Confederate Navy uniform of John Albert Peterson. Peterson served on the gunboat Savannah. [Confederate Memorabilia (MSS341)]
- Palmetto button from a Confederate uniform. [Confederate Memorabilia (MSS341)]
- Epaulettes (2) from a Confederate uniform. [Confederate Memorabilia (MSS341)]
- Handkerchief printed in London during the Civil War and sold for the benefit of the Confederacy. Decorated with portraits of Confederate leaders. [Map Case, C XVI]
- Insignia (metal) for the 2nd Regiment, New York Infantry, ca. 1861. [Confederate Memorabilia (MSS341)]
- Socks (2) sent to G. Preston by Mrs. Robert E. Lee for his sons during the war. [Confederate Memorabilia (MSS341)]
Commemoratives
- Commemorative medal in honor of Stonewall Jackson. [Confederate Memorabilia (MSS341)]
- Funeral invitation and program for the funeral of Jefferson Davis, March 1893. [Confederate Memorabilia (MSS341)]
Currency
- Confederate bills (3 for $5.00 and 1 for $10.00). [Confederate Memorabilia (MSS341)]
- Confederate bills (1 each of $20, $50, $100), 1862. [Confederate Memorabilia (MSS341)]
- Confederate bills (481) arranged by state and denomination, 1861-1864. Includes currency from Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Virginia. [Confederate Memorabilia (MSS341)]
- Confederate bills (3) from Georgia (5 cents, 25 cents, and 50 cents), 1863. [Confederate Memorabilia (MSS341)]
- Paper (1 piece) used in printing Confederate bank notes, watermarked C.S.A. [Confederate Memorabilia (MSS341)]
Dishes
- Soup Bowl from the wardroom china of the CSS Alabama. An ironstone piece manufactured by E. F. Bodley & Co., Burslem, England. [on display]
Flags
- Battle flag of Company C, 6th Georgia Regiment, 1863. [Confederate Miscellany (MSS20), Section Id, J. M. Culpepper]
- Flag believed to have flown over Fort Moultrie when South Carolina seceded. (See letter from F. W. Pickens to W. G. DeSaussure, Edgewood, S.C., 26 January 1862.) [Map Case C XVI]
- Piece of flag of Hagood's Brigade along with an exchange of letters between Hagood and C. P. A. Brown upon Brown's giving Hagood this portion of the flag. [Confederate Miscellany, Section IIa (MSS21)]
- Flag (or design for a flag) bearing the palmetto emblem of South Carolina surrounded by stars. [Map Case C XVI]
- Star from the flag that flew over the grave of Stonewall Jackson at Lexington, Va. Accompanied by 6 letters. [Map Case C XVI]
Playing Cards
- Playing cards (43) handmade by John Hill Hewitt while he was manager of the Blackmar music store in Augusta, Georgia. Each with the portrait of a different Confederate General. [Confederate Memorabilia (MSS341)]
Seals
- Great Seal of the Confederacy. Original by John Huntley Foley and executed by Joseph S. Wyon in London, 1864.
- Metal replica cast for J. T. Pickett in 1874, copies of which were sold for the benefit of Confederate veterans. [Confederate Memorabilia (MSS341)]
- Wax impression. [Confederate Memorabilia (MSS341)]
Stamps and Envelopes
- Confederate stamps (14). [Confederate Memorabilia (MSS341)]
- Confederate 10 cent stamp (1). [Confederate Memorabilia (MSS341)]
- Confederate covers (2). [Confederate Memorabilia (MSS341)]
- Confederate patriotic envelopes (15), 1861-1865. [Confederate Memorabilia (MSS341)]
- Federal patriotic envelopes (98), 1861-1865. [Union Memorabilia (MSS342)]
Return to List of Categories
Images of Flags, Ships, Uniforms, and Artifacts
- Drawings of Confederate States of America items by Wilbur Kurtz. [Pictorial Files, B VI]
- Flags--Confederate
- Cleenewerck[e], Henry (1854-1872). "First Flag of Independence Raised in the South by the Citizens of Savannah, Georgia, November 8, 1860," lithograph by R. H. Howell, dedicated to the Savannah Morning News. [Pictorial File, B V]
- ["The Warrior's Banner Takes Its Flight to Greet the Warrior's Soul," charcoal drawing of ca. 1863 flag of the Confederacy, signed ST. AG. [Pictorial File, B V]
- Ships--Confederate
- Atlanta (ironclad). Photo reproduction of torn original photograph and of 1901 painting by Skerrett. [Pictorial File, B VI]
- Confederate blockade runner Colonel Lamb built by Jones, Quiggin
& Co. of Liverpool, 1864. Carte-de-viste from The People's Gallery,
Halifax.. [Pictorial File]
- Confederate ship plans for the following types of vessels: iron clad gun boat, iron clad steamer, wooden gun boat, and steam gun boat. Includes ship plans for the armored vessels Savannah, Milledgeville, and Macon. [Henry Frederick Willink Letters (MSS243)]
- Hunley (submarine). Chapman, Conrad Wise. Engraving of submarine torpedo-boat H. L. Hunley dockside, Charleston, SC, 6 December 1863. [Pictorial File, B V]
- Petrel (Confederate Privateer). Destruction of the Confederate Privateer Petrel. [Pictorial File, B VII]
- Ships--Union
- Manassas (Ram). The Manassas as she appeared after receiving a broadside from the Mississippi. Lithograph by Bowen & Co., Philadelphia, ca. 1863 [Pictorial File, B V]
- Monitor (ironclad). The Monitor cleared and submerged for action off Fort Sumter, ca. 1863. Handpainted photo. [Pictorial File, B V]
- Uniforms--Union
- Carte-de-visite by Gurney & Son, ca. 1861 [Pictorial File, B VI]
- "The Union Volunteer." Lithograph by Currier & Ives, New York, 1861 [Pictorial File, B VI]
- "Uniforms of the United States Army." Reproductions of paintings by H. A. Ogden, group 6, 1851-1861. [Pictorial File, B VI]
- Zouave. Albumen print attributed to Mathew B. Brady or his assistant, ca. 1861. (Horan, Mathew Brady, image 227.) [Pictorial File, B VI]
Return to List of Categories
Images of People and Military Units
- Anderson, Robert (1805-1871). U.S. Major General. Engraving by H. Wright Smith. [Pictorial Files, B IX]
- Banks, Nathaniel Prentiss (1816-1894). U.S. Major General. Engraving by H. Wright Smith. [Pictorial Files, B IX]
- Battey, Robert (1828-1895). Confederate physician. Carte-de-viste in uniform. [Robert Battey papers (MSS361)]
- Beauregard, Pierre Gustave Toutant (1818-1893). Confederate General.
- Steel engraving, 1862 [Pictorial File, B VIII]
- Carte-de-visite, 1863 [Pictorial File, B VIII]
- Watercolor painting on cardboard of Beauregard and his men on horseback, ca. 1863 [Pictorial File, B VIII]
- Cabinet card, 1870 [Pictorial File, B VIII]
- (see also Groups--Confederate)
- Brown, Joseph E. (1821-1894). Governor of Georgia.
- Cabinet card, C. M. Bell (Washington, DC). [Frances Sage Bradley papers (MSS473)]
- Photograph of steel engraving. [Pictorial File, A VIII]
- Burnside, Ambrose Everett (1824-1881). U.S. General.
- Engravings by H. Wright Smith. [Pictorial File, B IX]
- Steel engraving from painting by Alonso Chappell. [Pictorial File, B IX]
- Butler, Benjamin Franklin (1818-1893). U.S. General and politician. Steel engraving from painting by Alonso Chappel. [Pictorial File, B IX]
- Clinch Rifles. Steel engraving of a review of the Clinch Rifles on the parade ground of the U.S. Arsenal, Augusta, Ga., February 1861. Removed from The Soldier in Our Civil War. [Pictorial File, B I]
- Cobb, Howell (1815-1868). Confederate General. Carte-de-visite, signed "[Mathew B.] Brady, New York," ca. 1860. [Pictorial File, B VIII]
- Cobb, Thomas Read Rootes (1823-1862). Confederate General. Engraving by an unidentified artist, ca. 1862. [Pictorial File, A VIII]
- Currier & Ives
- "The Assassination of President Lincoln: at Ford's Theatre, Washington, D.C., April 14th, 1865," New York, 1865. [Pictorial File, A X]
- "The Death of President Lincoln," New York, 1865. [Pictorial File, A X]
- "Death of Stonewall Jackson," New York, 1872. [Pictorial File, B V]
- "Hon. Charles Sumner," New York, n.d. [Pictorial File, B V]
- "President Lincoln and Family Circle," n.d. [Pictorial File, A X]
- "Surrender of General Lee," New York, c. 1873. [Pictorial File, B V]
- Three-way, framed lithographic print of portraits of Robert E. Lee, Jefferson Davis, and Stonewall Jackson, ca. 1860s. [Pictorial File, framed items]
- "The Union Volunteer," New York, 1861. [Pictorial File, B VI]
- Davis, Jefferson (1808-1889). President of the Confederate States of America.
- "Jeff's last shift, capture of Jefferson Davis, May 10, 1865, at Irwinsville, Georgia,", lithographer John H. Bufford, Bufford's Print Publishing House, Mass., 1865. Signed with initials JEB, supposed artist Joseph E. Baker. One of the variations on the popular theme of Jefferson Davis's capture by Union soldiers. In a wooded setting Davis, wearing a bonnet and dress and wielding a Bowie knife, tries unsuccessfully to flee from three armed Union soldiers. One soldier grabs Davis's arm, while the others point their weapons at him. A woman, possibly Davis's wife, raises her hands in alarm. The quotation at bottom, attributed to Mrs. Davis, reads: "The men had better not provoke the President as he might hurt some of 'em." [Pictorial File, B VIII]
- Photograph of Davis in Savannah, 1886. [Frances Sage Bradley papers (MSS473)
- (See also Groups--Confederate)
- Dimock, Joseph Judson, Sr. Glass negative (portrait) by Mathew B. Brady, ca. 1861. [Dimock Family papers (MSS587)]
- Dupont, Samuel F. (1803-1865). U.S. Navy Admiral. Engraving by H. Wright Smith. [Pictorial File, B IX]
- Eberhardt, Uncle Steve (1830-?). Photograph of African-American Confederate in uniform at Confederate reunion, Montgomery, Alabama, 1931. Self styled "biggest chicken thief" in the Confederate Army. [Bell Irvin Wiley papers (MSS521)]
- Ellsworth, Ephraim Elmer (1837-1861). U.S. Colonel. Engravings by J. A. O'Neill. [Pictorial File, B IX]
- Farragut, David Glasgow (1801-1870). U.S. Navy Admiral.
- Engraving by H. Wright Smith. [Pictorial File, B IX]
- Engraving from painting by Alonzo Chappel. [Pictorial File, B IX]
- Foote, Andrew H. (1806-1863). U.S. Navy Commodore.
- Engraving by J. A. O'Neill [Pictorial File, B IX]
- Engraving by J. Rogers. [Pictorial File, B IX]
- Fremont, John Charles (1813-1880). U.S. Major General. Engraving from painting by Alonzo Chapel. [Pictorial File, B IX]
- Gates, Luther L. 4 tintypes of Gates in uniform. Gates was a member of Company A, 60th Regiment, New York State Volunteers. [Luther L. Gates letters (MSS474)]
- Grant, Ulysses S. (1822-1885). Union General.
- Cabinet card of Grant and family at Mt. McGregor, 19 June 1885 [Dimock Family papers (MSS587)]
- Colored steel engraving of General Grant's trip on the Oklawaha River, Florida, from a sketch by Frank Taylor, New York, 1880. Detached from Harper's Weekly, 14 Feb 1880, p. 100. [Pictorial File, A X]
- Engraving, bust pose in uniform, with small etching of "Siege of Vicksburg" underneath, n.d. [Pictorial File, B IX]
- Lithograph political cartoon depicting Grant titled "Headquarters at Harrison's Landing," n.d. [Pictorial File, B V]
- Photograph of General Grant on Lookout Mountain, no date [Pictorial File, B VII]
- Portrait. [Pictorial File, B IX]
- (See also Groups--Union)
- Greble, John T. U.S. Lieutenant. Engraving by A.B. Walter. [Picture Files, B IX]
- Groups--Confederate
- "Boy Soldiers of the Confederacy." Photo reprint of John Kennedy and Enoch Hancock of Company A, 3rd Tennessee Regiment, [1860s]. [Bell Irvin Wiley papers (MSS521)]
- "Confederate Commanders." Reprint from the Traveler's Insurance Company. [James Longstreet papers (MSS210)]
- Lee, Robert E. and Stonewall Jackson on horseback. Oversized framed engraving by Julian, St. Louis, Missouri, 1869. [Pictorial File, framed items]
- "Lee and His Generals." Color lithograph, Andrew B. Graham Co. (Washington, DC), 1907. [Pictorial File, B V]
- Officers and soldiers. Part of collected photographs. [Bell Irvin Wiley papers (MSS521)]
- Parrish, George Jr. Sketches of Confederate leaders by Parrish; including Stonewall Jackson, Robert E. Lee, Jeb Stuart, and the Oglethorpe Light Infantry, 1961 [Pictorial File, B VIII]
- "Rebel Army of the Southwest." Carte-de-viste, published by Anthony, New York, ca. 1862. Montage of photographs of Hood, Smith, Price, Johnston, Bragg, Forrest, and Gardner. [Pictorial File, B VIII]
- Sheet music cover for "Our Generals." Lithograph published by D. P. Faulds, Louisville, Kentucky, ca. 1866. Depicts Johnston, Hill, Hardee, Bragg, Jackson, Price, Beauregard, and Longstreet. [Pictorial File, B VIII]
- Veterans. Part of collected photographs. [Bell Irvin Wiley papers (MSS521)]
- Groups--Union
- "The Council of War." Engraving by William Sartain, n.d. Ulysses S. Grant seated with William T. Sherman outside of tent. [Pictorial File, B IX]
- Wortley, Clark S. (b. 1841). Lieutenant and quartermaster, Company K, 20th Regiment, Michigan Infantry Volunteers. Photo album of ca. 54 carte-de-visites of various Union military officials and soldiers, including Abraham Lincoln and his son Todd. [Clark S. Wortley papers (MSS248)]
- Habersham, Joseph Clay. Confederate physician. Ambrotype in case of Habersham in Confederate uniform, ca. 1862. Hapersham was a Savannah physician and later served as President of the Georgia Medical Society. [Fragile Photographs]
- Halleck, Henry Wager (1815-1872). U.S. Major General.
- Engraving by J. A. O'Neill. [Pictorial File, B IX]
- Engraving by G. Stodart. [Pictorial File, B IX]
- Engraving by H. Wright Smith. [Pictorial File, B IX]
- Hooker, Joseph (1814-1879). Engraving by H. Wright Smith. [Pictorial File, B IX]
- Iverson, Alfred (1829-1911). Confederate Brigadier General. Photo reproduction of image in newspaper clipping. [Iverson Family papers (MSS427)]
- Jackson, Thomas Jonathan ["Stonewall"] (1824-1863). Confederate General.
- Engraving of Jackson at the battle of Chancellorsville, May 4, 1863, by A. L. Weise and Co. [Pictorial File, B VIII]
- Engraving of Jackson with wife and daughter, by William Sartain, n.d. [Pictorial File, B VIII]
- Engraving of photograph of Jackson in uniform, by A. Varin, n.d. [Pictorial File, B VIII]
- Photograph of "Old Fancy," (General Stonewall Jackson's favorite horse, n.d. [Pictorial File, B V]
- (see also Currier & Ives and Groups--Confederate)
- Johnson-Jones family portrait. Photograph taken of this Confederate family at a camp near Richmond, Va., ca. 1862 (Spring). [Pictorial File, B VIII]
![Johnson-Jones family portrait. Photograph taken of this Confederate family at a camp near Richmond, Va., ca. 1862 (Spring). [Pictorial File, B VIII]](images/campvisit-small.jpg) |
This image is a detail from a photograph of the Confederate Johnson-Jones family at a camp near Richmond, Va., ca. 1862 (Spring). It was taken when a group of wives and sisters visited their relatives at camp. To see the entire photograph and the identifications written on the reverse, click on the image. From the Pictorial File [B VIII]. |
- Johnston, Joseph E. (1807-1891). Confederate General.
- Engravings by A.B. Walter. [Pictorial File B VIII]
- (see also Groups--Confederate)
- Lee, Robert E. (1807-1870). Confederate General
- Cabinet card, n.d. [Frances Sage Bradley papers (MSS473)]
- Carte-de-visite and other images. [Pictorial Files, B VIII]
- Photograph portrait of Lee seated. Copy by M. Miley of photograph made by Mathew B. Brady in 1865. [Pictorial File, A X]
- Portrait. [Stone Mountain collection (MSS95)]
- (See also Currier & Ives and Groups--Confederate)
- Lincoln, Abraham (1809-1865). U.S. President
- Color engraving, "Lincoln Family," n.d. [Pictorial Files, B IX]
- Color engraving, "President Lincoln and Family Circle," [Pictorial Files, B IX]
- Photo reproductions of photographs of Lincoln and his wife Mary Todd Lincoln, [1860s] Bell Irvin Wiley papers (MSS521)
- Photograph by Alexander Gardner (formal pose, bust), Washington, D.C., 11 Apr 1865 [Pictorial Files, B IX]
- (See also Currier & Ives and Groups--Union)
- Logan, John Alexander (1826-1886). U.S. Major General. Engraving from painting by Nash. [Pictorial Files, B IX]
- Longstreet, James (1821-1904). Confederate General.
- Reproduction from an oil painting on display in the main banking room of the Trust Company of Georgia. [Pictorial Files, B VIII]
- Portrait of General Longstreet and his wife (1901) [James Longstreet papers (MSS210)]
- (see also Groups--Confederate)
- Lyon, Nathaniel (1818-1861). U.S. Brigadier General. Engraving by John A. O'Neill. [Pictorial Files, B IX]
- McClellan, George Drinton (1826-1885). U.S. Major General
- Engraving by H. Wright Smith. [Pictorial Files, B IX]
- Engraving from painting by Alonzo Chappel. [Pictorial Files, B IX]
- Mitchell, Ormsby M. (1810-1862). U.S. Major General. Engraving from painting by Alonzo Chappel. [Pictorial Files, B IX]
- Mobley, [Thomas]. Private in the Burke County Volunteers, Georgia Infantry. 1/6th plate tintype, ca 1862. [Fragile Photographs]
- New York Infantry, 2nd Regiment. Carte-de-visite of officers at Camp Powell, Va., by Mathew B. Brady, 1861. [Dimock Family papers (MSS587)]
- Porter, David Dixon (1813-1891). U.S. Navy Rear Admiral. Engraving. [Pictorial Files, B IX]
- Randolph, George Wythe (1818-1867). Secretary of War of the Confederate States of America and Confederate General. Part of collected photographs. [Bell Irvin Wiley papers (MSS521)]
- Rodman, Isaac P. (1822-1862). U.S. Brigadier General. Engraving. [Pictorial Files, B IX]
- Rosecrans, William Starke (1819-1898). U.S. Major General
- Engraving by George E. Perine. [Pictorial Files, B IX]
- Engraving by H. Wright Smith. [Pictorial Files, B IX]
- Scott, Winfield (1786-1866). U.S. Lieutenant General. Engraving from painting by Alonzo Chappel. [Pictorial Files, B IX]
- Sheridan, Philip Henry (1831-1888). U.S. Major General. Engraving from painting by Nast. [Pictorial Files, B IX]
- Sherman, William Tecumseh (1820-1891). U.S. Major General
- Engraving. [Pictorial Files, B IX]
- Engraving of Sherman at Savannah, by The Major & Knapp from picture by Otto Botticheer, n.d. [Pictorial Files, B IX]
- (see also Groups--Union)
- Slappey, George H. (1812-1886). [Confederate Miscellany, Section Ib (MSS20)]
- Stephens, Alexander H. (1812-1883). Vice President of the Confederate States of America.
- Cabinet card, Pelot and Cole (Atlanta?), n.d. Stephens in wheel chair with black servant. [Frances Sage Bradley papers (MSS473)]
- Photograph of portrait. [Pictorial File, A VIII]
- (see also Currier & Ives and Groups--Confederate)
- Stevens, Isaac I. (1810-1862). U.S. Major General. Engraving by J. C. Buttre from photograph by Mathew B. Brady. [Pictorial Files, B IX]
- Stout, Samuel Hollingsworth. Medical Director of Hospitals under General Braxton Bragg. Photograph of Stout in Confederate uniform. [Samuel Hollingsworth Stout papers (MSS274)]
- Sumner, Edwin Vose (1797-1863). U.S. Major General.
- Engraving by H. Wright Smith. [Pictorial Files, B IX]
- Engraving from painting by Alonzo Chappel. [Pictorial Files, B IX]
- Tower, Levi. U.S. Captain.
- Engraving by J. A. O'Neill. [Pictorial Files, B IX]
- (see also New York Infantry, 2nd Regiment)
- White, Joseph P. Member of Company D, 1st Regiment, Georgia Volunteer Infantry (under S. Yates Levy's command). Ambryotype portrait in decorative thermoplastic case, wearing Confederate uniform, ca. 1862. [Fragile Photographs]
- Virginia Infantry, 59th Regiment, (part of Wise's Brigade). Engraving of Brigade at Diascund Bridge, May 1863.[Pictorial File, B VIII]
- Zollicoffer, Felix Kirk (1812-1862). Confederate Brigadier General.
- Carte-de-visite. [Pictorial File, B VIII]
- Photo of portrait. [Pictorial File, B VIII]
Return to List of Categories
Images of Places and Battles
- Andersonville Prison (Georgia).
- "Bird's-Eye View of Andersonville Prison from the South[-east]", n.p., ca. 1890. Colored lithograph. Apparently drawn for "Sparks from the Campfire" by J. W. Morton, Jr., but not used in it. [Pictorial File, B V]
- Walker, John Burns. Company G, 141st Regiment.
- "No. 1, North view, representing the imprisonment of 33,000 Union soldiers during the months of June, July, and August, 1864," ca. 1865. Lithograph by T. Sinclair, Philadelphia. [Pictorial File, B V]
- "No. 2 South View," c. 1864. Lithograph by T. Sinclair, Philadelphia. [Pictorial File, B V]
- Atlanta, Georgia.
- City Hall, 1864. [Pictorial File, B IV; negatives held by Atlanta Historical Society]
- Railroad Station, 1864. [Pictorial File, B IV; negatives held by Atlanta Historical Society]
- Atlanta Campaign (1864). [Views of Rebel Lines Near Atlanta, Campaign of 1864,] Julius Bien & Co., Lith. (New York), [1895?]. Twelve views on one sheet. Reproduced from "Atlas to accompany the official records of the Union and Confederate Armies 1861-1865. Accompanying report of O. M. Poe, Corps of Engrs. U.S. Army Series I, Vol. XXXVIII, Part I, pages 137 and 139, Plate CXXVIII." [Pictorial File, B VII]
- Bailey's Dam (Red River Campaign, 1864). Constructed under U.S. General Joseph Bailey. Part of collected photographs. [Bell Irvin Wiley papers (MSS521)]
- Buildings and sites related to the Civil War. Photographs, ca. 1870, 1947-1952 [Pictorial File, B VII]
- Camp Sorghum [prison] (Columbia, South Carolina). Lithograph of Camp Sorghum, n.d. [Pictorial File, B VII]
- Chattahoochee River. Fraternizing on the Chattahoochee (photo of Kurtz drawing). Part of collected photographs. [Bell Irvin Wiley papers (MSS521)]
- Chattanooga Campaign/Lookout Mountain (October-November 1863).
- Photograph of General Grant on Lookout Mountain, no date [Pictorial File, B VII]
- Photographic reproduction of painting by Captain W.L. Stork of Lookout Mountain [Pictorial File, B VII]
- Fort Pulaski, near Savannah, Georgia. Pictorial History of the War of 1861, 9 loose sheets [Pictorial File, B VI]
- Fort Stedman (Petersburg Campaign, March 1865). Copy photo. [Pictorial File, B VII]
- Fort Sumter, near Charleston, South Carolina. Reproduction of the Plan of the Approach at Attack on Fort Sumter by the Federal Ironclad Fleet. [Pictorial File, B VII]
- Kennesaw Mountain (Atlanta Campaign, June 1864). Framed illustration of the Battle of Kennesaw Mountain [Pictorial File, framed items]
- Libby Prison (Richmond, Va.) as it appeared 23 August 1863. [Pictorial File, B V]
- Military Post Cowan, Tennessee. "View of Military Post Cowan, Tennessee." Lithograph of drawing by Sergeant N. B. Abbott (Delaware) printed in [Henby County, New York.], ca. 1864. [Pictorial File, B VII]
- Reynolds House, Bartow County, Georgia. Photograph, 1942. Used as a headquarters during the war. [Pictorial File, B VII]
- Richmond, Virginia . Currier & Ives, "Evacuation of Richmond Va." [3 April 1865], New York, n.d. [Pictorial File, B V]
|
 |
This detail comes from "The Evacuation of Richmond Va." The print depicts people fleeing with their belongings across a bridge as the city burns in the background. Click on the image to view the entire print. |
- Savannah, Georgia. Engraving of "Town and Fortifications of Savannah" from the Illustrated London News, 9 April 1863. [Pictorial File, B V]
- Second Manassas/Second Bull Run (August 1862). Color illustration, 1863. [Pictorial File, B VII]
- Shiloh Campaign (April 1862). Engraving of Nelson crossing the Tennessee River at Pittsburg Landing. [Pictorial File, B VII]
- Soap Creek (Atlanta Campaign, 1864). Photograph, 1942. [Pictorial File, B VII]
- Susquehana Bridge. Copy photo. [Pictorial File, B VII]
- Vicksburg Campaign (October 1862 - July 1863).
- Engraving of Admiral Porter's bombardment of Grand Gulf. [Pictorial File, B VII]
- Engraving of the packet Henry Von Phul running the CSA batteries. [Pictorial File, B VII]
- War scenes
- Forbes, Edwin (1839-1985). Steel engravings of war scenes, c. 1876. Plates 1, 3, 5-9, 12, 16-17, 19, 25, 28, 30-36. [Pictorial File, B V]
- Volck, Adalbert John (1828-1912). "Sketches from the Civil War in North America." 29 etchings, London, [1863?]. [Pictorial File, B V]
- White Point Battery, Charleston, South Carolina. "White Point Battery, Charleston, December 24, 1863." Engraving by Conrad Wise Chapman. [Pictorial File, B VII]
- Wilson's Creek Campaign (August-November 1861). Engraving of Wilson's Creek. [Pictorial File, B VII]
Return to List of Categories
Maps
MARBL holds a small collection of maps related to the Civil War. At present, no list of or index to the maps is available. Please contact MARBL for further information about the map collection.
 |
This map, drawn by illustrator Wilbur Kurtz, depicts action on 14 May 1864 at Resaca (part of the Atlanta Campaign. This map is one of several that Kurtz drew while supervising the restoration of the painting of the Battle of Atlanta at the Atlanta Cyclorama during 1935 and 1936. To see the entire map, click on the image. To read more about the Wilbur G. Kurtz papers (MSS586), please see the EUCLID record. for that collection. |
Return to List of Categories
Political Cartoons
- Currier & Ives
- "The Folly of Secession," New York. Governor F. W. Pickens of South Carolina and President James Buchanan fight over the Union cow as Georgia milks the cow into a bucket labeled "City of Savannah." The cow is labeled "The Union. I have a good Constitution, and can stand a pretty strong pull!" [Pictorial File, B V]
- "Jeff Davis on His Own Platform," New York, [ca. 1861-62]. Jefferson Davis is draped in a Confederate flag and is about to be hanged from a gallows, the trap door of which is labeled "Secession Trap." Other Southern leaders, including Robert Toombs, P. G. T. Beauregard, Alexander Stephens, and Francis W. Pickens await their turn with nooses around their necks. Though unattributed, this print was probably issued by Currier & Ives. [Pictorial File, B V]
- "The Political Siamese Twins," New York. McClellan and Pendleton are joined by "The Party Tie." [Pictorial File, B V]
- "Selling Out Cheap," New York. Charles Sumner makes a deal with the Devil. "Letter to Colorado Citizens" and "Sumner's Speech Against Grant" hang from the desk. [Pictorial File, B V]
- "South Carolina's Ultimatum," New York. Governor F. W. Pickens of South Carolina is standing before the "Peace Maker" cannon as he lights it while President James Buchanan looks on in alarm. The U.S. flag flies over Fort Sumter in the distance. [Pictorial File, B V]
- (see also People: Currier & Ives above)
- Lithograph political cartoon depicting Ulysses S. Grant titled "Headquarters at Harrison's Landing," n.d. [Pictorial File, B V]
- "Little Bo-Peep and Her Foolish Sheep," Strong's Dime Caricatures (no. 2), New York, ca. 1861. The second in a series of caricatures criticizing the secession of several Southern states from the Union during the last months of the Buchanan administration. Bo-Peep, representing the Union, tries to protect the sheep (two of which are labeled Virginia and Kansas). Seven of the sheep (representing the states that seceded) flee into a Palmetto forest full of wolves representing the European powers. An old dog "Hickory" (Andrew Jackson) lies dead in the grass while another, "Old Buck" (James Buchanan), flees toward the left. The artist was probably John H. Goater, the artist responsible for numbers one, three, and probably four in the "Dime Caricatures" series. [Pictorial File, B V]
Return to List of Categories
Please contact MARBL at 404-727-6887 or marbl@emory.edu with questions regarding any of our collections.
|