For assistance with Emory University Archives please contact:
EMORYARCHIVES@listserv.emory.edu
Many of the single-item photographs and other graphic materials relating to Emory's history have been gathered together in EUPIX. Access to EUPIX is either by general searching or by use of a preliminary, computer generated index.
The majority of these pictures is housed in acid-neutral folders in document cases. Within each series, folders are arranged alphabetically by folder title. Oversized items (designated OP) and fragile items (designated FP) such as cased daguerreotypes are housed separately. The index cumulates information about all items, regardless of format, size and housing location.
The Early Emory College Class Photograph Project consists of more than 1,110 still images dating from 1860-1911. The photographs document the class members of Emory College in Oxford, Georgia, which was founded in 1836. The class and faculty photographs have been digitized and may be accessed on the web:
http://www.oxford.emory.edu/OXFORD/EarlyEmoryPhotos/index.htm
Other photographs may be found in myriad university publications ranging from yearbooks to the alumni magazine, in collections of personal papers and organizational records associated with Emory; and in other sources. Archives staff will be happy to assist in locating other images.
Materials in EUPIX are divided into three groups, based upon the Emory campus from which they originated:
- ATL -- Atlanta campus, 1915-
Includes graduate and professional divisions, including their various predecessor schools
- OXF -- Oxford campus, 1836-
Includes Emory College, 1835-1915, and post-1915 programs on the Oxford campus.
- VAL -- Valdosta campus, 1928-1953
Within each campus group, images are organized by subject into 13 series:
- SERIES 1 -- CAMPUS AND BUILDINGS
Scope: |
Buildings, sites, scenes, aerial views |
Arrangement: |
Grouped into folder(s) by subject, folders arranged alphabetically. If a building has changed name over time, the image is normally filed by the name in use at the time of the photograph. |
Scope: |
Series 2.1 - Traditional (Opening convocation, commencement, etc.) |
|
Series 2.2 - Special (symposia, anniversaries, speakers, etc.) |
Arrangement: |
Grouped into folders by event or personal name; folders arranged alphabetically within each subseries; folders arranged chronologically for similar events in different years. |
- SERIES 3 -- PRESIDENTS, ADMINISTRATORS, BENEFACTORS, TRUSTEES
Scope: |
Series 3.1 - Individuals |
|
Series 3.2 - Groups (Board of Trustees, Board of Visitors, etc.) |
Arrangement: |
Individuals alphabetically by last name; groups alphabetically by name of group, then chronologically for images of similar groups in different years. |
- SERIES 4 -- FACULTY AND STAFF
Scope: |
Series 4.1 - Individuals |
|
Series 4.2 - Groups (committees, award recipients, social groups) |
Arrangement: |
Individuals alphabetically by last name; groups alphabetically by name of group, then chronologically for images of similar groups in different years. |
- SERIES 5 -- PRESIDENTS, STUDENT ORGANIZATIONS, STUDENT LIFE
Scope: |
Series 5.1 - Students as individuals and student class groups |
|
Series 5.2 - Student organizations (includes their buildings) |
|
Series 5.3 - Student engaged in informal activities on campus (includes Dooley himself and Dooley's Week-type activities) |
Arrangement: |
Individuals alphabetically by last name; class groups chronologically by year then subarranged by name as needed; organizations alphabetically by proper name of organization (note: performing arts groups located in Series 9); student life alphabetically by subject |
- SERIES 6 -- SCHOOLS, DEPARTMENTS, DIVISIONS AND CENTERS
Scope: |
Activities and functions of a particular school (Business, Nursing, etc.), department (English, Film Studies, etc.), division (Library and Information Management, Educational Studies) or center (Carter Center, Center for Research in Social Change) rather than of the university as a whole. |
Arrangement: |
Alphabetical by proper name of unit, generally omitting preliminary part of name such as "School of..." or "Department of..." or "Division of ...." |
Scope: |
University teams and individuals in action images and formal group photographs. Includes "official" university sports (field day competitions and "unofficial" sports such as pushball located in Series 5.3 Student Life). |
Arrangement: |
Alphabetically by subject of sports activity. |
Scope: |
ROTC, Emory Units in World Wars I and II, military-related activities such as Navy V-12 training on campus and the victory ship christened the Emory Victory. |
Arrangement: |
Alphabetical by subject. |
- SERIES 9 -- PERFORMING ARTS
Scope: |
Performing arts groups of Emory performers and/or based at Emory. |
Arrangement: |
Alphabetically by name of performing group. |
Scope: |
Series 10.1 - Individuals as post-college individuals |
|
Series 10.2 - Reunions |
Arrangement: |
Individuals alphabetically by last name; classes chronologically by year. |
- SERIES 11 -- EMORY ENVIRONS
Scope: |
Locations in and around campuses. For example, the environs in Atlanta would include the Emory Village, the Druid Hills neighborhood, etc. |
Arrangement: |
Alphabetically by subject. |
- SERIES 12 -- AFFILIATED PEOPLE, PLACES AND EVENTS
Scope: |
Affiliated organizations and institutions (Glenn Memorial Church, Wesley Woods, etc.); off-campus exhibits relating to Emory; non-Emory events hosted on campus, etc. |
Arrangement: |
Alphabetically by subject. |
- SERIES 13 -- MISCELLANEOUS
Scope: |
Images of academic costumes, insignia and seals, mace, gonfalons, awards, etc. which fit in no other category. |
Arrangement: |
Alphabetically by subject. |
|
|