Woodruff (Main) Chemistry Music & Media Manuscript, Archives, Rare Books Oxofrd Business Health Law Theology
       EUCLID Catalog    Library Info
 
Overview of the Collections
Descriptions and Indexes
 

    Visiting MARBL
 
Hours
Directions
Accommodations
 

    Research Services
 
Requesting & Using Materials
Reproduction Services
Permissions
Remote Research
 
 


    EUCLID Finding Aids Irish Literary Manuscripts Portal MARBL Subject Guides Digital Collections

 

This guide identifies manuscript collections that are related to women or women’s lives.

Since most collections in a general manuscript repository will relate to women in some way, we have tried to identify those which are directly related to particular women or which have significant material on women's roles.  Some collections are entered under women's names; others may be entered under the name of a family, an organization, or a male relation.

This guide is not intended to be a complete finding aid to the collections.  It serves as a preliminary research tool, providing a brief description of holdings with basic information on size, inclusive dates, types of records, and broad subject areas.  More detailed descriptions of the sources listed below are available in the Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library (MARBL) and through EUCLID, the Emory Libraries’ online catalog.  EUCLID contains bibliographic records for the majority of the manuscript collections held in MARBL as well as books and other printed material available at Emory University.  EUCLID is accessible through the Internet at http://www.library.emory.edu.  Finding aids for these sources are also available through MARBL's Web site at http://marbl.library.emory.edu/FindingAids/index.htmlPlease note that some collections may not yet have finding aids available and that this site is a work in progress.

Please note that not all manuscript collections are housed in MARBL.  Some collections are located at an off-site storage facility and must be requested in advance.  In addition, some collections have access restrictions.  Researchers are encouraged to contact MARBL to insure that materials will be available.  We are also happy to pull materials in advance of a research visit.

 


SUBJECT INDEX

Subject headings:

  • Antebellum South

  • Arts, Performance, and Literature

  • Civil Rights

  • Civil War

  • Diaries and Journals

  • Education

  • Emory

  • Journalism

  • Medicine and Nursing

  • Politics and Activism

  • Religion

  • Slavery

 

Antebellum South

              Battey, Robert  (MSS 361)

              Burge Family  (MSS 266)

              Burns, Sarah  (MSS 367)

              Callaway, Morgan  (MSS 122)

              Creagh-Ketchum Family  (MSS 434)

              Culpepper Family (MSS 638)

              Dobbing, John S.  (MSS 322)

              Documents, Georgia  (MSS 281)

              Featherston, Lucius  (MSS 504)

              Georgia Miscellany  (MSS 44)   

              Goulding, F. R.  (MSS 197)

              Gregory Family  (MSS 624)

              Grisham Family  (MSS 404)

              Iverson Family  (MSS 427)

              Kollock Family  (MSS 476)

              Lovett, Robert Watkins  (MSS 486)

              McBlair, Virginia Myers  (MSS 74)

              Means, Alexander  (MSS 51)

              Northend, William  (MSS 338)

              Old South Miscellany (MSS 45)

              Oliver Family  (MSS 724)

              Orr Family  (MSS 268)

              Park Family  (MSS 397)

              Pindar Family  (MSS 886)

              Reid-Jordan Family  (MSS 749)

              Rogers, Loula Kendall  (MSS 696)

              Stiles, William Henry  (MSS 229)

              Thiot Family  (MSS 297)

              Wheatley, Phillis  (MSS 796)

Arts, Performance, and Literature

              Andrews, Benny  (MSS 845)

              Baker, Josephine (MSS 955)

              Barnes, Margaret Anne  (MSS 916)

Billops, Camille and James V. Hatch Archives  (MSS 927)

Black Print Culture Collection  (MSS 921)

Blackburn, Joyce  (MSS 578)

Bramblett, Agnes Cochran  (MSS 831)

Bricktop  (MSS 831)

Burns, Olive Ann  (MSS 790)

Carr, Sharon  (MSS 692

Carr, Virginia Spencer (MSS 1067)

Duffy, Carol Ann  (MSS 834)

Fabre, Michel  (MSS 932)

Fallon, Peter (MSS817)

Fowler, Manet Harrison (MSS 978)

Frances E. W. Harper Literary and Social Circle (Savannah, GA.)  (MSS 986)

Gardner, Emma Brescia  (MSS 852)

Gonne, Maud  (MSS 771)

Gonne, Maud and W.B. Yeats  (MSS 930)

Gregory Family  (MSS 624)

Hanson, Gladys  (MSS 540)

Harris, Helen Curl  (MSS 977)

Harris, Joel Chandler (MSS 5)

Holiday, Billie (MSS 1035)

Hood, Mary  (MSS 736)

Hughes, Frieda (MSS 1004)

Hughes, Olwyn  (MSS 980)

Hughes, Ted  (MSS 644)

Hughes, Ted (MSS 1058)

Jackson, Delilah (MSS 923)

McCullers, Carson  (MSS 668)

McGuckian, Medbh  (MSS 770)

Miller, Flournoy E.  (MSS 1002)

Mitchell, Margaret (MSS 265)

Moody, Minnie Hite  (MSS 481)

Murfree, Mary Noailles  (MSS 90)

Myrick, Susan  (MSS 542)

O’Brien, Edna  (MSS 855)

O'Connor, Flannery  (MSS 59)

O'Connor, Flannery (MSS 1064)

Paris, Rachel Theresa  (MSS 554)

Patterson, Louise Thompson  (MSS 869)

Phillips, J. J.  (MSS 970)

Pollard, Marie Antoinette Nathalie Granier Dowell  (MSS 222)

Santacroce, Mary Nell  (MSS 835)

Sered, Danielle, interviewer  (MSS 853)

Settle, Mary Lee  (MSS 80)

Sibley, Celestine  (MSS 762)

Smith, Lillian Eugenia  (MSS 491)

Southall, Geneva H.  (MSS 1004)

Spivey, Victoria  (MSS 809)

Stanton, Lucy M.  (MSS 601)

Steedman, Marguerite Couturier  (MSS 412)

              Stevenson, Elizabeth  (MSS 839)                         

              Tennant, Emma  (MSS 913)

Vaughn, Elizabeth Dewberry  (MSS 666)

Village Writers Group  (MSS 657)

Wheatley, Phillis  (MSS 796)

Williams, Vinnie  (MSS 584)

Civil Rights

Barker, Mary Cornelia (MSS 528)

Black Print Culture Collection  (MSS 921)

Bradley, Panke  (MSS 566)

Browning, Joan C.  (MSS 821)

Curry, Constance  (MSS 818)

Gaines, Martha Wren  (MSS 669)

Parsons, Sara Mitchell  (MSS 946)

Paschall, Eliza K.  (MSS 532)

Pauley, Frances Freeborn  (MSS 659)

Rainey, Glenn W.  (MSS 471)

Smith, Lillian Eugenia  (MSS 491)

Tilly, Dorothy Rogers  (MSS 539)

Wilkins, Josephine Mathewson  (MSS 580)

Civil War

Blackshear, James Appleton  (MSS 302)

Bomar Family (MSS 86)

Bone, Robert Donnell  (MSS 406)

Brown, Lucius Franklin  (MSS 472)

Callaway, Morgan  (MSS 122)

Champion, Sidney S.  (MSS 512)

Chunn, William Augustus  (MSS 18)

Culpepper Family  (MSS 638)

Davidson, John Mitchell  (MSS 357)

Edge, Andrew J.  (MSS 346)

Georgia Miscellany Collection  (MSS 44)

Goulding, F. R.  (MSS 197)

Green Family  (MSS 636)

Hood, Rebecca Rainey  (MSS 325)

Jett, Richard Burch  (MSS 57)

Kirkland, Moses J.  (MSS 348)

Mead Chauncey W.  (MSS 498)

Monks, Zerah Coston  (MSS 376)

Oliver Family  (MSS 724)

Perrigo Family  (MSS 635)

Quarterman Family  (MSS 250)

Redwood-Cannon Family  (MSS 295)

Rigby, Alfred A.  (MSS 368)

Rowland, Kate Whitehead  (MSS 238)

Smith, Jennie Safford  (MSS 415)

Taylor, Thomas Thomson  (MSS 354)

Union Microfilm Miscellany  (MSS 468)

United Daughters of the Confederacy, Georgia Division, Alfred Holt Colquitt

    Chapter  (MSS 394)

United Daughters of the Confederacy, Georgia Division, Vienna Chapter

     (MSS 820)

Wadley, Sarah Lois  (MSS 461)

Watkins, James W.  (MSS 413)

Diaries and Journals

Barton, Etta Pursley (MSS 737)

Bingham, Jane Raoul  (MSS 937)

Brown, Lucius Franklin  (MSS 472)

Burge Family  (MSS 266)

Burns, Susan  (MSS 367)

Carr, Sharon  (MSS 692)

Chisholm, Frank P.  (MSS 808)

Corn, Pauline Pierce  (MSS 751)

Dreiser, Theodore  (MSS 753)

Farinholt, Katharine Woltz  (MSS 597)

Featherston, Lucius Horace  (MSS 504)

Georgia Miscellany  (MSS 44)

Green Family  (MSS 636)

Harris, Julian La Rose  (MSS 6)

Harrison, Emily Stewart  (MSS 556)

Haygood, Atticus G.  (MSS 138)

Hood, Rebecca Rainey  (MSS 325)

Iverson Family  (MSS 427)

Keef, Hattie R.  (MSS 941)

Martin, Harold H.  (MSS 537)

Means, Alexander  (MSS 51)

Newman, Frances  (MSS 654)

Old South Miscellany  (MSS 45)

Parke Family  (MSS 583)

Parsons, Sara Mitchell  (MSS 946)

Paschall, Eliza K.  (MSS 532)

Pindar Family  (MSS 886)

Raoul Family  (MSS 548)

Raymond, Manley A.  (MSS 552)

Richardson, Sue  (MSS 333)

Rogers, Loula Kendall  (MSS 696)

Rowland, Kate Whitehead  (MSS 238)

Seydell, Mildred  (MSS 449)

Stiles, William Henry  (MSS 229)

Thompson, Maurice  (MSS 339)

Wadley, Sarah Lois  (MSS 461)

Wadley, William M.  (MSS 727)

Wesley, John  (MSS 100)

Wiestling, Maria Catherine  (MSS 679)

Education

Bailey-Thurman Family  (MSS 807)

Barker, Mary Cornelia  (MSS 528)

Barker, Tommie Dora  (MSS 585)

Barton, Etta Pursley  (MSS 737)

Black Print Culture Collection  (MSS 921)

Bonnell, John Mitchell  (MSS 105)

Curry, Constance  (MSS 818

Dove, Pearlie Craft  (MSS 864)

Edmiston, Althea Brown  (MSS 883)

              Emanuel, Christopher H.  (MSS 959)

              Featherston, Lucius H.  (MSS 504)

              Fort, Ada  (MSS 701)

              Fowler, Manet Harrison  (MSS 978)

              Goulding, F. R.  (MSS 197)

Harrison, Emily Stewart  (MSS 556)

Hightower, Grace  (MSS 561)

Leverette, Fannie Lee  (MSS 135)

Lewis, Sarah Evelyn  (MSS 819)

McCandless, Frances Augusta Coleman  (MSS 254)

Moran, Charlotte  (MSS 617)

Paris, Rachel Theresa  (MSS 554)

Peacock, Frances  (MSS 857)

Reeve, Thomas Ellis  (MSS 863)

Skypeck, Dora Helen  (MSS 710)

Spence, Mary E.  (MSS 811)

Spencer, Rita Evelyn (MSS 1048)

Woodruff, Nell Hodgson  (MSS 47)

Emory

Burge Family  (MSS 266)

Candler, Warren A.  (MSS 2)

Carr, Sharon  (MSS 692)

Cline Family  (MSS 816)

Cooper, Augusta Skeen  (MSS 535)

Davis, Rose  (MSS 125)

Dewey, Maybelline Jones  (MSS 193)

Emory University Woman’s Club  (Series No. 34)

Emory University Archives, President’s Commission on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual,

                and Transgender Concerns  (Series No. 28)

Emory University Archives, President’s Commission on the Status of Women at

Emory  (Series No. 30)

Emory University Archives, Student Organizations. Panhellenic and Sororities

Emory University Archives, University Activities, Miscellaneous.  Emory

                Women’s Caucus

Emory University Atlanta, Division of Librarianship

Fort, Ada  (MSS 701)

Haygood, Atticus G.  (MSS 138)

Hunt, Caroline Candler  (MSS 752)

Malcolm, James V.  (MSS 765)

Peed, Mansfield Theodore  (MSS 591)

Reeve, Thomas Ellis  (MSS 863)                         

Skypeck, Dora Helen  (MSS 710)

Stevenson, Elizabeth  (MSS 839)                         

Woodruff, Nell Hodgson (MSS 47)

Woodward, Comer McDonald  (MSS 531)

Journalism

Adams, Julia  (MSS 136)

Andrews, Viola P.  (MSS 813)

Black Print Culture Collection  (MSS 921)

Burns, Olive Ann (MSS 790)

Dunnigan, Alice Allison  (MSS 929)

Harris, Corra  (MSS 199)

Harris, Joel Chandler  (MSS 5)

Harris, Julian LaRose  (MSS 6)

Knight, Mary Lamar  (MSS 515)

Moody, Minnie Hite  (MSS 481)

Myrick, Susan  (MSS 542)

Perkerson, Medora Field  (MSS 458)

Sibley, Celestine  (MSS 762)

Tennant, Emma  (MSS 913)

WSB (Radio Station, Atlanta, Georgia)  (MSS 663)

 

Medicine and Nursing

Akin, Benjamin F.  (MSS 508)

Battey, Robert  (MSS 361)

Bradley, Frances Sage  (MSS 473)

Ellis, James Nimmo  (MSS 896)

Fort, Ada  (MSS 701)

Georgia Public Health Nurses  (MSS 733)

Holden, Mariam  (MSS 862)

Jones, Francis Marion  (MSS 656)

Woodruff, Nell Hodgson (MSS 47)

Politics and Activism

Bergmark, Jean B.  (MSS 1047)

Bomar Family  (MSS 86)

Bradley, Panke  (MSS 566)

Bullard, Helen  (MSS 599)

Butt, Archibald Willingham  (MSS 84)

Childs, Peggy  (MSS 588)

Dunaway, Kathryn Fink  (MSS 618)

Dunnigan, Alice Allison  (MSS 929)

ERA Georgia  (MSS 622)

Feminist Action Alliance, (Atlanta, GA)  (MSS 568)

Gaines, Martha Wren  (MSS 669)

Georgia Women’s Christian Temperance Union  (MSS 647)

Haas, Be (Beatrice Hirsch)  (MSS 781)

Hicks, Mildred  (MSS 496)

League of Women Voters of DeKalb County, Inc. (DeKalb County, Georgia) 

              (MSS 773)

Moran, Charlotte  (MSS 617)

Parsons, Sara Mitchell  (MSS 946)

Paschall, Eliza K.  (MSS 532)

Pauley, Frances Freeborn  (MSS 659)

Pendergrast, Nan  (MSS 730)

Rainey, Glenn W.  (MSS 471)

Raoul Family  (MSS 548)

Richardson, Eleanor L.  (MSS 623)

Sullivan, Patricia  (MSS 621)

Wilkins, Josephine Mathewson (MSS 580)

Woodward, Emily Barnelia  (MSS 424)

Religion

Allen, Young John (MSS 11)

Avant, Mamie Wade  (MSS 887)

Bailey-Thurman Family  (MSS 807)

Black Print Culture Collection  (MSS 921)

Bonnell, John Mitchell  (MSS 105)

Candler, Warren A.  (MSS 2)

Church Women United in DeKalb County (MSS 1059)

Clark, James Osgood Andrew (MSS 19)

Cline Family  (MSS 816)

Edmiston, Althea Brown (MSS 883)

Ellison, Alice Roberta Parks  (MSS 906)

Geffen Family  (MSS 651)

Georgia Women’s Christian Temperance Union  (MSS 647)

Goulding, F. R.  (MSS 197)

Independent Presbyterian Church (Savannah, Georgia)  (MSS 490)

Mackay Family  (MSS 691)

Reeve, Thomas Ellis  (MSS 863)                         

Robinson, Arwilda G.  (MSS 860)

Wesley, John  (MSS 100)

Wilson, Alpheus Waters  (MSS 417)

Slavery

              Blackshear, James Appleton  (MSS 302)

              Burge Family  (MSS 266)

              Champion, Sidney S. (MSS 512)

              Dobbins, John S.  (MSS 322)

              Grisham Family  (MSS 404)

              Leslie, Kent Anderson  (MSS 974)

              Metts Family  (MSS 984)

              Oliver Family (MSS 724)

              Pindar Family  (MSS 886)

              Reid-Jordan Family  (MSS 749)

              Wheatley, Phillis  (MSS 796)

              Wiley, Bell  (MSS 521)

              Wilson, Alpheus Waters  (MSS 417)


ADAMS, JULIA  (MSS 136)

Scrapbooks, 1926-1942; (2 reels microfilm)

Julia Adams was a journalist and longtime Putnam County, Georgia resident.  These three scrapbooks primarily contain newspaper clippings.  One scrapbook includes clippings of the feature “Stories of Old Putnam,” written by Adams for the Eatonton Messenger, 1940-1942.  The other two are devoted to materials on Georgia history, mainly newspaper features dated 1926-1940.

AFRICAN AMERICAN MISCELLANY (MSS 1032)

.5 linear ft. (1 box, 4 bound volumes, 3 oversized bound volumes, 2 audio recordings)

African American miscellany is an artificially created collection that contains single items related to African American history and culture.  The collection includes scrapbooks, minute books, correspondence and sound recordings.  Among these items are the following: a scrapbook relating to the National Association of Colored Girls Citizen Institute for Future Leaders Institute at Howard University, March 1960; a scrapbook dating from 1946-1960 relating to the National Association of Colored Women’s Clubs, the National Council of Negro Women, the Iota Phi Lambda sorority, Mary McLeod Bethune and Mary Chuch Terrell; and a reel to reel recording of Martin Luther King, Jr. speech at Montreat, North Carolina, 1965.

AKIN, BENJAMIN F.  (MSS 508)

Papers, 1888-1940; .5 linear ft. (1 box, 3 oversized papers)

The papers of this Butts County, Georgia physician include letters, diplomas, and other materials relating to the Georgia College of Eclectic Medicine and Surgery.  They also include scattered materials of Hattie T. Barron Akin (Mrs. Benjamin F. Akin), graduate of the Women’s Medical College of Georgia, who was also a physician.

ALLEN, YOUNG JOHN  (MSS 11)

Papers, 1854-1924; 25 linear ft. (51 boxes, 10 oversized papers, 7 bound volumes)

Young John Allen (1836-1907) left the United States in 1859 to become a missionary in Shanghai, China, but after his arrival in 1860, he was forced to work also as a teacher, editor, and businessman due to the disruption caused by the American Civil War and his loss of contact with the Methodist Episcopal Church, South.  He later worked as a translator, became superintendent of the mission (1881-1886), was president of the Anglo-Chinese University in Shanghai (1885-1895; became Soochow University), helped found the McTyeire Home and School for Girls with Laura Askew Haygood (1892), and promoted missions in Japan and Korea.  He authored or translated about 250 works including Women of All Lands, and edited the monthly Review Of The Times (1868-1907) and other periodicals.  His papers include correspondence and letterbooks (1857-1907), diaries and notebooks (1855-1878), account books, clippings, writings, files and photographs relating to Allen, his family, his student years at Emory College, his work as a missionary, or to the Methodist Episcopal Church, South.  The collection also includes Allen’s extensive correspondence with his wife Mary before and after they got married, with his children Edgar, Arthur, and Malvina (Mellie), and with women promoting Methodist mission work, including Mrs. D. H. McGavock and Laura A. Haygood.

ANDREWS, VIOLA P.  (MSS 813)

Family Papers, 1957-1998; 12.5 linear ft. (23 boxes, 2 oversized papers)

Viola P. Andrews (1912- ), African-American writer, columnist, and Sunday School teacher, was born in Morgan County, Georgia.  She married George Andrews, a sharecropper and folk artist of Morgan County, Georgia, with whom she had ten children.  She and her husband lived as sharecroppers until 1953, when Viola and her children moved to Atlanta—without George.  There, she attended Beaumont’s School of Vocational Nursing and worked at McClendon Hospital for many years.  In 1971, she attended the Atlanta School of Biblical Studies.  She taught Sunday School at Hunter Hill Baptist Church beginning in the early 1950s and integrated the white Lakewood Presbyterian Church when she began to teach there in 1972.  In addition to religious activities, Andrews wrote short stories, poems, an autobiography, a newspaper column, and served as Religious Editor at the Metro Atlanta Community Bulletin.  Time Capsule, a literary magazine, published her short story “Go Down Moses” in 1971.  This collection includes letters from her children which primarily focus on family events and business, although they occasionally include reactions to current events.  Also included are photographs, extensive writings (including three drafts of an autobiography), as well as notebooks and scrapbooks Andrews constructed to save greeting cards and other papers of her family members. 

ARMSTRONG, EDWARD  (MSS 320)

Collection, 1701-1877; .2 linear ft. (1 box, 1 oversized paper)

Edward Armstrong was one of the founders of the Pennsylvania Historical Society and served as its recording secretary (1843-1853).  He was the editor of Vols. 9 and 10 of the Society’s papers.  The collection consists of papers of Edward Armstrong from 1701-1877.  It includes correspondence from members of the Armstrong family in the United States and Ireland regarding genealogy; Philadelphia court documents (1700's) such as petitions, indentures, complaints and summons, including petitions by widows for the privilege of selling "spiritous liquors by small measures;" various legal and financial papers which include deeds, land surveys and wills; and materials relating to the Historical Society of Pennsylvania (1836-1877).

AVANT, MAMIE WADE (MSS 887)

Papers; 1 linear ft. (1 box, 1 oversized paper)

Mamie Wade Avant, a conjurer, lived in Savannah. This collection includes books, pamphlets, Order of the Eastern Star materials, fortune telling cards, a crystal ball, jewelry, plus handwritten recipes and cures for a variety of physical and emotional ailments utilizing herbs, prayers, and rituals. 

BAILEY-THURMAN FAMILY  (MSS 807)

Papers, ca. 1882-1995; 6.25 linear ft. (12 boxes, 23 oversized papers, 4 bound volumes)

Isaac G. and Susie E. Bailey were prominent religious leaders who served as colporteurs for the American Baptist Publication Society, selling Bibles and other religious books throughout Arkansas. Susie Bailey attended Sumner High School and Normal School in St. Louis. She served as president of Southeast District Baptist Women's Association and as an agent for the Women's American Mission Baptist Home Mission Society.  The collection tracks the political and religious pursuits of the family through three generations. It includes correspondence, writings, printed material, newspaper clippings, books from the Bailey library, photographs, legal documents, financial records, and general ephemera. A large portion of the collection is made up of correspondence written to family members. The correspondence written to and by Isaac and Susie Bailey is of particular interest. It covers familial matters as well as those pertaining to the branches of the Baptist Missionary Association. In addition to their own letters, there is correspondence to and from their children.  Additional material relates to Arkansas Baptist College, the Southeast Baptist Academy, the Southeast District Missionary Baptist Association, the Baptist Women's Southeastern District Association, and the Woman's American Baptist Home Mission Society.  The collection also includes a photo of Susie Bailey with Gandhi.

 

BAKER, JOSEPHINE (MSS 955)

Collection; 5 linear ft. (8 boxes, 1 oversized paper)

Josephine Baker (1906-1975) was an African American performer, dancer, and silent film star.  The collection includes correspondence, fan mail, press books, sheet music, and newspaper clippings.

BALDWIN, JEANNE  (MSS 969)

Papers, ca. 1910-1990; 19 linear ft. (19 boxes)

The collection contains the papers of Jeanne Baldwin and the Baldwin family.  Jeanne Baldwin worked for both the Coca-Cola Company and BellSouth.  The papers include correspondence, video tapes, genealogies, and photographs documenting several generations of this Georgia family spanning the twentieth century.  The collection documents the Baldwin family's relationships, the growth of the family, their work, and the state of the world around them, including discussions of Jeanne's aunt's marriage to an Episcopalian priest from the North and the death of her brother in Vietnam.  The collection provides insight into women's lives in upper middle-class families. 

BARKER, MARY CORNELIA  (MSS 528)

Papers, 1912-1971; 6.5 linear ft. (13 boxes)

Barker taught school in Stockbridge, McDonough, and Decatur, Georgia (1900-1904), before becoming a teacher and principal in Atlanta Public School System (1921-1944). While with Atlanta Public Schools, Barker was president of Local #89 (1921-1923) and president of the National American Federation of Teachers (1925-1931); a founder of the Southern Summer School for Women Workers in Industry (1927); the first woman appointed to the Georgia State Board for Vocational Education (1927); and was involved in the move for tenure, equal salary schedules for elementary and secondary school teachers, retirement benefits, and the establishment of a teachers' credit union. Barker belonged to several civic, labor, and civil rights organizations and helped to form a union for Atlanta's black teachers.  The papers include correspondence, organizational records, printed material, clippings, notes and memoranda related to the American Federation of Teachers, Atlanta Public School Teachers’ Association, and the Southern Summer School for Women Workers.  It also includes materials relating to various other organizations with which Mary Barker was affiliated (e.g. the League of Women Voters, the Atlanta Forum Association, the Urban League, the American Civil Liberties Union, the League of Women Shoppers, YWCA, and other labor and inter-racial groups).  Correspondence and clippings follow reactions to the Angelo Herndon indictment.  Also includes papers pertaining to Barker’s sister, Tommie Dora Barker (1888-1978), a librarian and library educator.

BARKER, TOMMIE DORA  (MSS 585)

Papers, 1905-1971; 8.5 linear feet (6 boxes)

Papers of this Atlanta librarian and library educator include correspondence, organizational records, and clippings relative to Barker’s (1888-1978) involvement in many library organizations, in Atlanta’s Carnegie Library School, and in the Emory University Library School (later the Division of Librarianship of the Graduate School).  They include some personal correspondence and information concerning Barker’s work in professional and civic affairs.  The collection also contains administrative records of the Carnegie Library School, 1905-1930.

BARNES, MARGARET ANNE  (MSS 916)

Papers; 22 linear ft. (22 boxes, 19 bound volumes)

Margaret Anne Barnes was a Georgia novelist and author of Murder in Coweta County.  The collection consists of the personal papers of Margaret Anne Barnes relating mainly to the publication of her books and the screen adaptation of Murder in Coweta County. The papers include oral history interviews, research files, manuscripts, correspondence, and photographs. The collection also includes files created by Albert Patterson of Phenix City, Alabama. 

BARTON, ETTA PURSLEY  (MSS 737)

Papers, 1915-1992; 20.25 linear ft. (46 boxes, 2 oversized papers)

George Etta Pursley Barton (so named because of her father’s desire for a son) was married to Rev. J. Hamby Barton with whom she established the Barton Education Trust Fund designed to aid foreign (generally Korean) students who wished to study in the United States.  The collection includes papers that chronicle Etta Pursley Barton’s life as an educator, writer, and wife of a Methodist minister.  Typescripts, page proofs, and some correspondence relate to her two published autobiographical works The Phone Rang: A Story of Long Life and Happiness (1984) and The Phone Still Rings (1989). Other correspondence and bank statements relate to the Barton Educational Trust Fund and the Korean students whom this fund supported.

BATTEY, ROBERT  (MSS 361)

Papers, 1810-1974; .7 linear ft. (2 boxes, 1 oversized paper)

Battey (1828-1895) was a Rome, Georgia, physician, who graduated from Jefferson Medical College in Philadephia (1857), traveled and studied in Europe (1859), and specialized in gynecology and obstetrics.  He developed a procedure for the removal of the ovaries called “Battey’s Operation.”  He also served as Senior Surgeon with Hampton’s Brigade during the Civil War, was professor of obstetrics at Atlanta Medical College (1873-1875), and an Emory College Trustee (1890-1895).  His papers include correspondence with his wife, Martha Smith Battey, 1846-1894; materials concerning actress Adrienne Battey (b. ca. 1890); an article and manuscript describing “Battey’s Operation” and medical procedures; and materials that address social conditions and Reconstruction in Georgia.

BERGMARK, JEAN B. (MSS 1047)

GRACE TOWNS HAMILTON AND THE POLITICS OF SOCIAL CHANGE

Manuscripts, 1996-1997; 1 linear ft. (2 boxes)

Jean B. Bergmark co-authored Grace Towns Hamilton and the Politics of Social Change with Lorraine Nelson Spritzer.  Hamilton (1907-1992) was the first African American woman elected to the Georgia General Assembly.  The collection consists of corrected and uncorrected drafts of Grace Towns Hamilton and the Politics of Social Change.  The biography was published by the University of Georgia Press in 1997 and commended in a resolution of the Georgia General Assembly in 1998.

BILLOPS, CAMILLE AND JAMES V. HATCH ARCHIVES  (MSS 927)

Collection; 19.5 linear ft. (39 boxes)

The Billops/Hatch Collection in New York (which continues to operate separately there) originated in 1968 while Billops and Hatch were teaching art and literature at the City College of New York. With the rise of the civil rights movement and a concomitant increase in racial consciousness, a demand rose for courses in black American art, drama and literature. Billops and Hatch found that very little had been published on the history of African American cultural arts, and much that had been published was out of print. They began collecting primary materials and artists and writers also began to send material to them for safekeeping. With a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities, Billops and Hatch conducted oral histories with black artists in all disciplines. Hatch began to collect published and unpublished plays, set designs, theater programs, and historical and biographical works. Since 1981 Billops and Hatch have published Artist and Influence: The Journal of Black American Cultural History that features transcripts of interviews they regularly conduct in New York, as well as panel discussions and forums with minority artists. 

The Camille Billops and James Hatch archive includes play scripts, posters, and Artist and Influence oral history interviews. The majority of the play scripts are by African American dramatists from 1879 through 2002. Notable among the several hundred play scripts are works by Alice Childress, Ruby Dee, Lorraine Hansberry, and Zora Neale Hurston.

BINGHAM, JANE RAOUL  (MSS 937)

Papers; 41 linear ft. (41 boxes)

Jane Raoul Bingham (1915-2001), was a resident of Ashville, North Carolina, and the daughter of Thomas Wadley Raoul, a president of the Biltmore Forest Company.  The collection contains the personal papers of Jane Raoul Bingham and her sister Kathleen Raoul. The papers include correspondence, photographs, diaries, scrapbooks and audio-visual materials. 

BLACK PRINT CULTURE COLLECTION  (MSS 921)

Collection, 1854-1997; 5.5 linear ft. (15 boxes, 37 oversized papers)

The Black print culture collection (1854-1997) includes printed matter pertaining to religion and music, items published by the black press, publications relating to fraternities and sororities, to organizations, education, business and professional matters, and to arts and entertainment, as well as broadsides and posters. The largest part of the collection is comprised of ephemera relating to the church, (1889-1989), including souvenir programs, church and funeral service programs, and conference programs. The collection also consists of sheet music and music books from 1888-1964. Also produced by the black press are newspapers, newsletters, and periodicals represented in the collection (1880-1997). Included among the newspapers are examples of the products of amateur presses: The Kentuckian and Nequidem.  Present in the collection are yearbooks, programs, handbooks, and other printed materials relating to various fraternal organizations, clubs and societies from 1940-1988, including clubs for African-American women. Also present are leaflets, pamphlets, and other printed materials concerning various organizations (1907-1977); programs, yearbooks, and invitations relating to education (1920-1990); and a small group of biographical materials.

 

BLACKBURN, JOYCE  (MSS 578)

Papers, 1965-1978; 15.5 linear ft. (28 boxes, 2 oversized papers, 1 oral history)

Joyce Blackburn lived on St. Simon’s Island, Georgia and is best known for her children's fiction including Suki and the Invisible Peacock (1965) and other Suki books; and biographies of Theodore Roosevelt, Martha Berry, George Wythe, and others. Typescripts include those for the Suki books and several biographies. Correspondence is with publishers and illustrator Stephanie Clayton; some concern Blackburn's civic activities including work on the Concerned Citizens Board, participation on the State Commission for the Humanities, and environmental issues. Visual materials include photographs of Blackburn and Eugenia Price, children's artwork in response to the Suki books, and illustrations by Clayton for the Suki books. Sound recordings are of Suki and the Invisible Peacock. Drafts are of manuscripts for publication and for WMBI radio broadcasts (1945).

BLACKSHEAR, JAMES APPLETON  (MSS 302)

Diaries, 1862-1867; (1 reel microfilm)

James Appleton Blackshear (1841-1867) was an educator and Confederate officer.  In his four diaries (1862-1867), Blackshear documents his experiences in the Confederate Army and afterward, writes of numerous romances and friendships, and gives his thoughts on slavery, soldiers, women, friends, books he read, finances, and news of the day.

Note: A related collection in this repository is Cotton Family Papers.

BOMAR FAMILY  (MSS 86)

Papers, 1862-1870; .25 linear ft. (1 box)

The collection consists of the family papers of Benjamin F. Bomar, pioneer Atlanta citizen elected mayor in 1849.  The collection includes the letters primarily written to Amaryllis Bomar, daughter of Benjamin, which describe Atlanta society as well as life for refugees from Atlanta during the Civil War.  One letter is from a Confederate Soldier friend of the Bomars and describes the evacuation of Atlanta and the military situation in North Georgia.

BONE, ROBERT DONNELL  (MSS 406)

Papers, 1861-1892; (1 reel microfilm)

The papers of Robert Donnell Bone (1832-1892) include correspondence between this physician of the 12th Texas infantry regiment of the Confederate Army and his wife, Griselda Minerva Burke Bone (1861-1863).  Mrs. Bone’s letters about life in a rural Texas community describe household duties, social affairs, public morale, neighborhood gossip, and religion, while Dr. Bone’s letters mainly discuss morale among the soldiers.

BONNELL, JOHN MITCHELL  (MSS 105)

Papers, 1848-1864; .25 linear ft. (6 bound volumes)

John Mitchell Bonnell (1820-1871) was a Methodist minister who served in Georgia and Kentucky.  He was also a professor of Greek Literature at Emory College in Oxford, Georgia (1851); taught natural science at Wesleyan Female College in Macon, Georgia (1852); was president of Tuscaloosa (Alabama) Female High School (ca. 1853-1859); and served as president of Wesleyan Female College (ca. 1860-1871).  The collection includes a common-place book (1848- ), two record books (1856-1859), two lesson books, and a sermon book.  The record books contain a list of pupils at Tuscaloosa (Alabama) Female High School (1856-1857).  The sermon book also contains a draft of a letter refusing to allow Wesleyan Female College to be used as a Confederate Hospital (ca. 1864).

BRADLEY, FRANCES SAGE  (MSS 473)

Papers, 1893-1965; 1.5 linear feet (3 boxes, 2 oversized volumes, 2 medals)

Bradley (1866-1949) was one of the first women to receive a medical degree from Cornell University School of Medicine (1899).  She was a physician who worked in private practice in Atlanta (1899-1914), with the United States Children’s Bureau (1914-?), with the American Red Cross in France (1918), and with the Arkansas and Montana Boards of Health.  The papers consist of correspondence, manuscripts of Bradley’s short stories, an unpublished autobiography, photographs, clippings, and mementos.  Most of the correspondence and photographs relate to Bradley’s work with the Children’s Bureau in rural areas of the South.

BRADLEY, PANKE  (MSS 566)

Papers, 1970-1977; 8 linear ft. (8 boxes)

Bradley was an Atlanta politician, civil leader, urban social worker, and the first woman to serve on the Atlanta Board of Aldermen (1971).  This collection relates to Bradley’s campaigns for City Council and her work on the Council.  The collection contains correspondence, minutes, memorabilia, committee reports, and subject files on housing, police, and transportation. 

BRAMBLETT, AGNES COCHRAN  (MSS 831)

Papers, 1896-1979; 1.25 linear ft. (3 boxes, 1 oversized bound volume)

Bramblett, who lived in Forsyth Co. (Georgia), was the poet laureate of Georgia from 1963 to 1972.  Her papers include letters, handwritten and typescript versions of published and unpublished poems, notebooks, photographs, memorabilia, and correspondence regarding her appointment as poet laureate.

 

BRICKTOP  (MSS 831)

Papers, 1980-1984; 2 linear ft. (4 boxes, 1 oversized paper)

Bricktop (1894-1984), international cabaret performer and nightclub owner in Paris, Mexico City, and Rome, was born Ada Beatrice Queen Victoria Louise Virginia Smith, in Alderson, West Virginia, on August 14, 1894.  A natural performer, Bricktop (so-called because of her red hair) began doing local song-and-dance shows as a teenager.  She moved to Paris in 1924, where she performed for almost two decades, garnering international fame with the first in a series of “Bricktop’s” clubs.  Bricktop went on to open clubs in Mexico and Rome and remained a sought-after international personality until her death in the U.S. in 1984.  She married Peter Duconge, a New Orleans-born musician, in 1929; they separated a few years later (although they never officially divorced).  The collection consists of the papers of Bricktop from 1890-1982 (bulk 1950-1967).  The papers include correspondence, photographs, newspaper clippings, religious documents, financial records, legal documents and general ephemera.  Related materials are held in the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture at the New York Public Library. 

BROOKS, BOOKER T.  (MSS 848)

Papers, 1931-1980; 2 linear ft. (2 boxes)

Booker T. Brooks was involved in African American Masonic organizations in California. 

The collection consists of records and memorabilia of northern California Masonic organizations from 1931-1980 collected by Booker T. Brooks. The material includes membership lists, financial records, minutes, correspondence and ephemera. There is also a scrapbook of the California Colored Women's Club.

BROWN, ELAINE  (MSS 912)

Papers, 10 linear ft. (10 boxes)

This collection contains the literary, artistic, and personal correspondence; videos; newspaper clippings; and drafts of published and unpublished writings of this activist and former Black Panther leader.  Correspondents include Jerry Brown, Joan Browning, Barbara Chase-Ribaud, David Hilliard, Tom Jones (Jomandi), Huey P. Newton, Jean Seberg, and Anna Devere Smith.  The collection focuses on the period following her active involvement in the Black Panther Party.

BROWN, LUCIUS FRANKLIN  (MSS 472)

Papers, 1858-1863; (1 microfilm reel)

Lucius Franklin Brown (1839-1863), Union soldier, was one of the earliest recruits in the 18th Ohio Infantry in Tennessee.  The collection includes typescript copies of letters, a family history, diary excerpts, a biographical essay, photocopies of photographs and drawings, and a regimental history.  Letters are from Brown to his sister, Olivia Maria Brown, and two letters are from her to him; two letters are from his sister Virginia Flowers, to him.  His letters provide detailed information about camp life, books he read, and reactions to Southern people and country.  Photographs are of Brown’s fiancée, Emmaline McClelland.  Excerpts are from the 1862 diary of Olivia Maria Brown.

BROWNING, JOAN C.  (MSS 821)

Papers, 1961-1996; .5 linear ft. (1 box, 1 oversized paper)

The collection consists of the papers of Joan C. Browning from 1961-1996.  The papers include correspondence, writings, and other materials pertaining mostly to her involvement as a Freedom Rider in the Albany Movement in Georgia.  The Albany Movement/Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee materials consist of Browning’s letters from jail to Albany, Georgia, to her friend, Faye Powell, who resided in Atlanta.  A large number of newspaper articles describing the events in Albany are included, on some of which Browning has written comments.  A small notebook contains mainly notes she took while attending civil rights meetings and discussion groups from 1961-1962.

BULLARD, HELEN  (MSS 599)

Papers, 1920-1979; 12.5 linear ft. (25 boxes, 2 oversized papers)

Bullard (1908-1979) was a political advisory and public relations consultant who was active in Georgia politics from the 1930s through the 1970s.  She conducted campaigns for numerous politicians, including Atlanta mayors William B. Hartsfield, Ivan Allen, Jr., and Sam Massell, Congressman Wyche Fowler, Georgia legislator Max Cleland and Senator Walter F. George.  She also advised the Atlanta Housing Authority and helped plan and finance the Memorial Arts Center, Fernbank Science Center, several buildings at Spelman College and bombed-out black churches in Atlanta.  The papers contain general correspondence, subject files, writings, newspaper clippings, magazine articles, reports, and photographs documenting her life’s work.  The bulk of the materials concern 1960s and 1970s political campaigns, elections, tenant relations consultant materials, civil rights, and Atlanta Housing Authority documents.

BURGE FAMILY  (MSS 266)

Papers, 1832-1952; 1.5 linear ft. (3 boxes, 20 bound volumes, 1 reel microfilm)

Dolly Lunt (1817-1891) was born in Bowdenham, Maine and moved to Georgia in 1838.  She was married to and widowed by three men: a physician, Samuel Harding Brown Lewis; Thomas Burge, who owned the 900-acre Burge Plantation, including 100 slaves; and Williams Justice Parks, a Methodist preacher who served as financial agent and charter member of the Board of Trustees at Emory College.  The collection includes correspondence, diaries, sermons, notebooks, account books, clippings, and other family papers.  Papers relate to the Lewis family of Maine, the Burge family of Newton Co, Georgia, and the Parks family of Franklin and Newton Counties, Georgia.  The collection also includes diaries of Dolly Burge; her daughter, Sadai Burge Grey; and her stepdaughter, Louisiana Burge.  The papers describe plantation life and social customs, slavery, a lynching, the cotton trade, religion, and education.  The Diary of Dolly Lunt Burge 1848-1879 (ed. Christine Carter) was published in 1997.

 

BURKE, JOSEPH FRANCIS  (MSS 251)

Papers, 1832-1929; .25 linear ft. (1 box)

Burke (1845-1927) was an Atlanta businessman and commander of the Gate City Guard (1978-1914), a state militia formed shortly before the Civil War.  He was also active in civic organizations including the Atlanta Benevolent Society (later Grady Hospital), the Humane Society, and the Young Men’s Library Association.  The collection consists primarily of business and legal papers relating to 233 Peachtree Street, (Atlanta), a property that was purchased by American Trust and Banking Company in 1902 through mortgage foreclosure on Marie E. Bullock, wife of Governor Rufus Bullock of Georgia.  Burke purchased the property in 1903 and sold it in 1909 to Dr. William S. Elkin, who owned the adjoining property.  Papers relate to Mrs. Bullock’s association with the property, her financial difficulties and legal documents, including a list of her personal effects, furniture, and household goods to be sold by the bank at public auction.  There is some correspondence, including letters of the Bullocks.

BURNS, OLIVE ANN  (MSS 790)

Collection, 1981-1998; .25 linear ft. (1 box)

Olive Ann Burns was a journalist and author of the southern coming-of-age story, Cold Sassy Tree (1984).  She studied at Mercer University and the University of North Carolina and later worked as a staff writer at the Atlanta Journal Sunday Magazine until 1957.  The collection consists of correspondence from 1981-1988 primarily from Olive Ann Burns to Anne Edwards and Steve Citron.  The collection also includes some correspondence from Andrew Sparks, Burns’ husband, to Anne Edwards and Steve Citron.  The correspondence discusses the writing of Cold Sassy Tree, Burns’ travels, her fight with cancer, coping with death, and the filming of TNT’s version of her novel.  Also included is a brief review of Cold Sassy Tree, an insightful interview with Burns released by Tickner and Fields, and an October 1984 Atlanta Weekly article on Burns.

BURNS, SUSAN  (MSS 367)

Diary, 1848; (1 reel microfilm)

Burns and her brother, James W. Burns, ran a school in Philadelphia.  The diary, written for her brother, describes her trip with a cousin and niece from Philadelphia to Salisbury, North Carolina via Charleston, South Carolina in 1848.  The diary discusses conditions of travel, accommodations, the appearance of houses and locations visited during the trip, and a difficult boat ride into Charleston harbor. 

BUTT, ARCHIBALD WILLINGHAM  (MSS 84)

Letters, 1908-1912; (1 reel microfilm)

Archibald Willingham Butt (1866-1912) served as a U.S. Army officer in the Philippines (1900-1903) and Cuba (1906-1908) and was appointed personal aide to U.S. presidents Theodore Roosevelt (1908-1909) and William H. Taft (1909-).  Letters are primarily written by Butt to his mother, Pamela R.B. Butt; to his sister, Julia Butt (Mrs. John M. Slaton); and to Clara Butt.  A few letters are to Butt from others, including Julia Ward Howe, author of “The Battle Hymn of the Republic,” that describes the lyrics and her inspiration for the hymn.  Letters date from 8 April 1908 to 27 February 1912. 

Related  materials: microfilm of Archibald Butt family scrapbooks and a large collection of Butt family photographs located at Georgia Department of Archives and History, Atlanta, GA.

CABANISS FAMILY  (MSS 676)

Papers, 1864-1959; .5 linear ft. (1 box)

The Cabaniss and related families were Georgians who were prominent in both business and law in the late 19th and early 20th Centuries.  The collection includes correspondence among family members, with a great number of the letters written by the women of the family.  In particular, letters of Florence Cabaniss, addressing primarily personal matters, reveal much about the social climate of the Cabaniss family.  The collection also contains newspaper clippings and obituaries, as well as genealogical and other miscellaneous papers.

CALLAWAY, MORGAN  (MSS 122)

Papers, 1851-1862; .25 linear ft. (1 box)

Morgan Callaway (1831-1899) lived in Randolph County, Georgia, and was a Methodist clergyman, educator, and author of Art and Women (18--?) and Our Mother Tongue (1877).  Callaway was president of Andrew Female College in Cuthbert, Georgia, from 1858 to 1862.  This collection consists mainly of correspondence between Callaway and his wife, Eliza Mary “Leila” Hinton.  While Callaway served as chaplain in the Confederate Army, his wife remained at the college and her letters to him relate news of the family, farm, and college.

CANDLER FAMILY  (MSS 4)

Collection 1875-1974; 1.75 linear ft. (5 boxes, 3 bound volumes, 1 oversized bound volume)

Samuel Charles Candler (1809-1873) married Martha Bernetta Beall (1819-1897) in 1833.  Their eleven children included Atlanta mayor and Coca-Cola Company founder, Asa Griggs Candler (1851-1929), Methodist Bishop Warren Akin Candler (1857-1941), and Florence Julia Candler Harris (1842-1926).  Photograph albums were compiled by Mrs. Samuel Charles Candler, Jr.; family scrapbooks of clippings and other printed materials were compiled by Florence Candler Harris; and genealogical files were compiled by Frances G. Candler.

CANDLER, WARREN A. (WARREN AKIN)  (MSS 2)

Papers, 1846-1977; 33.25 linear ft. (129 boxes, 2 bound volumes, 2 oversized papers, 1 oversized bound volume)

Candler (1857-1941) was a prominent Methodist clergyman and bishop, editor, and educator from Villa Rica (Carroll Co.) and Atlanta, Georgia.  In 1888 he became president of Emory College.  Portions of the correspondence in this collection pertain to women’s suffrage and the Woman’s Christian Temperance Union, including letters from prominent leaders in these movements.  The collection also contains materials concerning Candler’s mission work, anti-lynching campaigns, and the letters of Candler’s wife, Nettie Curtwright Candler, in which she comments on courtship, marriage, household duties, social activities, and the education of women.

CARR, SHARON  (MSS 692)

Papers, 1981-1991; 3.50 linear ft. (9 boxes, 2 oversized papers)

Carr (1967-1990) was a poet and an Emory University graduate who died of brain cancer at the age of 23.  A book of her poetry, Yet Life Was a Triumph! Poems and Meditations, was published in 1991.  The collection consists of Carr’s poetry, correspondence (including letters between Carr and Emory faculty), journals, awards, newspaper clippings, a manuscript for her book, programs from her memorial service and writings about her.

CARR, VIRGINIA SPENCER (MSS 1067)

Collection; 1 linear ft. (1 box)

Virginia Spencer Carr (1929- ), English professor and author of biographies of Carson McCullers (1975) and Dos Passos (1984).  Her other books include Understanding Carson McCullers and Katherine Anne Porter’s ‘Flowering Judas’; Women Writers Texts and Contexts, and Paul Bowles: A Life.  The collection consists of papers of Virginia Spencer Carr, including correspondence from James Dickey and Cleanth Brooks to Carr and Mary Robbins, photographs, printed material, audio recordings, and subject files concerning the Emory University Creative Writing Institute.

CHAMPION, SIDNEY S.  (MSS 512)

Papers, ca. 1854-1865; .5 linear ft. (1 box)

Champion (1823-1868) was a confederate captain with Company I of the 28th Mississippi Calvary during the Civil War.  Before the war, he was a teacher and planter in Midway (later Champion Hill), Mississippi.  The papers consist of Civil War correspondence of Champion and his wife, Matilda Montgomery Champion.  The collection also included Photostats of a register which lists slaves and other belongings (1859) and a eulogy written for Sidney Champion.

CHILDS, PEGGY  (MSS 588)

Papers, 1969-1979; 6.5 linear ft. (7 boxes)

The papers of Peggy Childs (1937-1987), a DeKalb County, Georgia, educator and state legislator (D-51st House District), include correspondence, minutes, reports, appointments and subject files relating to Child’s involvement in Georgia politics, government and women’s rights.  Subject files concern MARTA, pari-mutuel betting, and the Equal Rights Amendment (ERA).

CHISHOLM, FRANK P. AND HELEN  (MSS 808)

Papers, 1846-1994; 15 linear ft. (30 boxes and 13 oversized papers)

Frank Chisholm graduated from and later worked for the Tuskegee Institute.  From 1901-1912, he was a private attendant to Booker T. Washington.  The Chisholm papers consist of personal, professional, and biographical documents, including collected correspondence of their daughter, Helen Emily, as well as photographs, writings, legal documents, printed material, and general ephemera.  The correspondence illustrates the intimate interactions of an African-American family at the dawn and through the development of the twentieth century.  Helen Chisholm’s niece and famous novelist, Ann Petry, was one of the prominent literary, artistic, and political figures, including correspondents Rosamond Johnson, J. Saunders Redding, Georgia Douglas Johnson, Marian Anderson, Langston Hughes, Mary McLeod Bethune, and many others.  The collection also includes the family’s diaries and journal, as well as clippings, publications, and artwork.

CHUNN, WILLIAM AUGUSTUS  (MSS 18)

Papers, 1837-1879; .25 linear ft. (1 box)

The papers include correspondence, primarily written during the Civil War, between Chunn (1840-1921), a Georgia planter and Confederate soldier, and his wife, Lila Land Chunn.  Chunn’s letters describe his experiences as a soldier, particularly as a participant in the siege of Vicksburg.  Mrs. Chunn’s letters describe life on the home front.

CHURCH WOMEN UNITED IN DEKALB COUNTY (GA)  (MSS 1059)

Records, 1977-2004; 1.75 linear ft. (4 boxes)

Church Women United in DeKalb County, Georgia, is a local chapter of Church Women United, an ecumenical movement of Christian women. The DeKalb County chapter was founded in 1941 and is involved in a number of community service and action projects.

The collection contains the records of the DeKalb County, Georgia, chapter of Church Women United from 1977-2004. The records include minutes, reports, programs, newsletters, correspondence, and other collected printed material. The collection also includes issues of the annual yearbook, which contains a schedule of events, a proposed budget, the names of committee members, and descriptions of special projects.

CLARK, JAMES OSGOOD ANDREW  (MSS 19)

Papers, 1807-1945; 3.75 linear ft. (9 boxes)

The papers of this Methodist clergyman and educator from Macon (Bibb Co., Georgia) include letters from Clark (1827-1894) to his second wife, Ella Anderson Clark.  Ella Clark was educated at the Brothersville Academy, the Lucy Cobb Institute in Athens, and Wesleyan College in Macon.  The collection also includes James Clark’s manuscript history of the Woman’s Missionary Societies of the Vineville and Mulberry Street Methodist Churches in Macon.  Also included are letters and reminiscences of Clark’s daughter, Lella A. Clark, as well as the reminiscences of Ella Anderson Clark about her life and her days at Wesleyan.

CLAYTON COUNTY (GA.) ORAL HISTORY (MSS 828)

Collection, 1989-1998; 1.0 linear ft. (3 boxes)

The Atlanta-area oral history project was initiated by Lucy C. Huie, a long-time resident of Jonesboro, Georgia.  After interviewing her mother in the 1980s, she turned to her own community with the intention of developing an oral history collection.  The collection consists of the eighty-eight audiocassette tapes of the Atlanta-area oral history interviews recorded from 1989-1998.  The interviews include a cross-section of interviewees from Clayton County, the majority of them from the county seat of Jonesboro.  The collection consists of interviews with males, females, whites, African-Americans, Protestants, Catholics, and Jews.  In terms of employment, the interviewees range from housewives and African-American maids to city, county, and state employees, to small business people, doctors, lawyers, judges, police officers, prison guards, educators, members of the Georgia Ku Klux Klan, and the clergy.  The interviewers always asked questions about the relationship between races, memories of the Ku Klux Klan, the changing roles of women, and how personal attitudes have changed since World War II.

CLINE FAMILY  (MSS 816)

Papers, 1867-1951; 2 linear ft. (4 boxes)

John Earl Cline, Methodist minister, of Waleska, Georgia attended Emory College in Oxford, Georgia and was a graduate (1917) of the Theology School when Emory established an Atlanta campus. He married Eunice Lovett in 1918 and had three children: Edgar Earl Cline (1918-1945), John T. Cline, and Lucy Cline Huie.  The collection consists of correspondence and transcripts of correspondence of the Cline family from 1867-1915. The correspondence includes letters between John Earl Cline and Eunice Lovett before their marriage (1912-1917) while he was attending Emory College in Oxford, Georgia. Papers also include World War II letters, correspondence between a number of women in the family and friends, as well as stories told by John Earl Cline regarding life as a Methodist circuit rider. 

COOPER, AUGUSTA SKEEN  (MSS 535)

Papers, 1925-1970; 2 linear ft. (4 boxes, 1 oversized bound volume)

Cooper was an instructor of Chemistry at Emory University from 1943 to 1945.  She also participated in various Atlanta civic associations such as the Fernbank Science Center, the Atlanta World Service Committee, and the YWCA.  The collection contains correspondence, photographs, and memorabilia.

CORN, PAULINE PIERCE  (MSS 751)

Papers, 1879-1970; 2 linear feet (4 boxes, 1 oversized paper)

Pauline Corn was a Macon, Georgia, writer, genealogist, and member of numerous civic and benevolent organizations including the Daughters of the American Revolution, the Macon Writers, the Wesleyan College Alumnae Trustees, and the Altar Guild of the Methodist Church.  This collection includes correspondence, writings, genealogical research materials, and a diary from 1919.  Her genealogical research relates to the Pierce, Lovick, Culpepper, and collateral families, and dates back to the 17th century.

CREAGH-KETCHUM FAMILY  (MSS 434)

Papers, 1801-1904; (1 reel microfilm)

The collection consists of correspondence and other family papers of Mrs. Williams H. Ketchum and her family from Mobile, New Orleans, New York, and Paris.  Letters concern family news, travel, and business conditions.

Note: originals located at Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill.

CULPEPPER FAMILY  (MSS 638)

Papers, ca. 1822-1918; 2.5 linear ft. (5 boxes)

James Culpepper served in the 6th Georgia Infantry Regiment during the Civil War and later became a 23rd Georgia District Senator.  The family papers contain personal letters, legal and financial records of Mrs. James Monroe Culpepper, Marina Culpepper, Jane Culpepper, Nancy Culpepper, and others.  Many letters are from women in the family and detail person, legal, and financial matters.

CURRY, CONSTANCE  (MSS 818)

Papers, 1951-1997; 7 linear ft. (14 boxes, 1 oversized paper)

Constance Curry (b. 1933) was, among other things, the first white woman to serve on the executive committee of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC).  This collection consists of the personal papers of Constance W. Curry, including materials relating to her civil rights activities, personal papers, and printed material.  The first series includes minutes, correspondence, publicity and other records from various organizations, particularly the SNCC, Southern Student Organizing Committee (SSOC), and National Student Association (NSA).  The second series includes papers from her high school years, papers from her college courses at Agnes Scott College, Agnes Scott publications (including college newspapers), and a small amount of material concerning her work with the Atlanta city government and the Chamber of Commerce.  Also included is a typed manuscript draft of her book Silver Rights.  The third series consists of a large collection of newspaper clippings covering various aspects of the civil rights movement as well as publications from a variety of organizations concerned with social change.

DAVIDSON, JOHN MITCHELL  (MSS 357)

Papers, 1851-1960; .25 linear ft. (1 folder, 1 reel microfilm)

Davidson was a storekeeper and railway station agent who lived in Tennessee, North Carolina, and Georgia.  During the Civil War, he was a member of Company C, 39th Regiment of the North Carolina Volunteer Infantry, CSA.  The collection consists primarily of Civil War correspondence between John Davidson and his wife, Julia Dunn Davidson.  Julia Davidson lived in Atlanta from 1862 until Sherman’s army arrived in 1864, at which point she fled to South Carolina.  Her letters describe the hardships of civilians in wartime and activities of family and friends.

DAVIS, MARY R. (MARY ROBERTS)  (MSS 742)

Papers, 1950-1986; 6 linear ft. (6 boxes)

Davis (1903-1992) was a native of Mississippi who spent her adult life in Memphis, Tennessee and Atlanta, Georgia.  She was a prominent civic and political leader in both cities.  The papers document her involvement with the League of Women Voters, Democratic Party politics, and Methodist Church organizations.  She was also interested in civil rights, tax reform, and world hunger.  Davis was a graduate of Agnes Scott College, Emory University School of Library Science and served as Reference Archivist of Emory University’s Woodruff Library Department of Special Collections.  Her papers include awards; materials relating to the Georgia League for Land Value Taxation in the form of minutes, correspondence, and pamphlets; correspondence with the Robert Schalkenbach Foundation; letters to the editor written by Davis; materials relating to the Memphis League of Women Voters; materials related to Common Ground; and materials relating to DeKalb Co., Georgia, government.

DAVIS, ROSE  (MSS 125)

Papers, 1921-1973; .25 linear ft. (1 box)

The papers of Atlanta nurse Rose Davis (1905-1973) contain correspondence, including letters of Robert W. Woodruff to Davis, ca. 1962-1973.  The collection also includes materials pertaining to her attendance at Emory University school of Nursing, other correspondence, photographs, and collected material.

DELORME, GRACE MCKINLEY HOLMES  (MSS 910)

Papers; 3 linear ft. (4 boxes)

Grace McKinley Holmes DeLorme, (1906-199?), a prominent African American from Atlanta, Georgia, who taught biology at Spelman College. She married Gilbert Earle DeLorme in 1929 and had a son, Gilbert DeLorme, Jr., in 1945.  The collection consists of the papers of Grace McKinley Holmes DeLorme and the DeLorme family. The papers include correspondence, photographs, scrapbooks, and printed material.

DEWEY, MAYBELLE JONES  (MSS 193)

Papers, 1908-1951; .75 linear ft. (3 boxes)

Dewey (1888-1963) was a newspaperwoman from Cartersville, Georgia.  She was the wife of Dr. Malcolm H. Dewey, an Emory professor of Romance Languages and director of the Emory Glee Club.  The collection consists of a typescript of Dewey’s autobiographical account of life at Emory in the 1920s and 1930s entitled Push the Button and a scrapbook from 1908.

DIXON, THOMAS  (MSS 23)

Papers, 1901-1905; .25 linear ft. (1 box)

Thomas Dixon (1864-1946) was an attorney, legislator, clergyman, author, and motion picture producer.  The collection includes correspondence, photographs, a brochure, typescript, and a list.  Thirteen letters are from Dixon to publishers Wallace Cathcart and Walter H. Page and pertain to Dixon’s books The Leopard’s Spots and The One Woman: A Story of Modern Utopia.  Four letters (1903-1905) are from Dixon’s first wife, Harriet, to Cathcart regarding personal and publishing matters.  Photos are of Thomas and Harriet Dixon; the list is of characters for The One Woman, which Dixon later made into a movie.  The brochure is for Dixon’s lecture tour, and the typescript is of The One Woman.

DOBBINS, JOHN S.  (MSS 322)

Papers, 1834-1916; (2 reels microfilm)

The papers of John S. Dobbins (1800-1886), a merchant and farmer from Calhoun (Gordon Co.) and Clarksville (Habersham Co.), Georgia, consist of letters, legal and business papers, and other records and memorabilia of the Dobbins family.  The collection includes letters of Sarah and Mary Emma Dobbins and their relatives Mamie Starr and Mrs. E. F. Herrington.  Papers are concerned with business, economic, political, and social affairs, as well as with farm and family life.  Topics include agriculture, slavery, education, transportation and communication in antebellum, Confederate, and Reconstruction Georgia.  Also includes genealogical information.

 

DOCUMENTS, GEORGIA  (MSS 281)

Collection, 1770-1904; .25 linear ft. (1 box, 5 oversized papers)

This is an artificial collection of various documents relating to Georgia from 1770-1904.  Includes acts, writs, indentures, oaths of offices, inventory of appraisements of estates, and petitions.  Of particular interest is a decision by L.A. McLendon giving Freedman Harry Peterson (alias Harry Nelson) custody of his four children in the divorce case of Eliza Peterson, freedwoman, which includes a description of the relationship with Eliza and generalizes about marital customs “among persons of color” during this period.

 

DOVE, PEARLIE CRAFT  (MSS 864)

Papers, 1958-1996; 1.5 linear feet (3 boxes, 1OP)        

Mrs. Pearlie Craft Dove was an educator and civic leader in Atlanta. The collection includes correspondence, photographs, newspaper clippings, her vita, speeches, writings, oral history interviews, black history calendars and records relating to The Atlanta Project.

DUFFY, CAROL ANN  (MSS 834)

Papers, 1985-1999; 4.75 linear ft. (7 boxes)

The papers consist of poet Carol Ann Duffy’s manuscript notebooks and miscellaneous papers from 1985-1999.  The papers include primarily twenty-one notebooks with many laid-in sheets (1985-1999), containing drafts of poems and other writings from each of her published collections, among them Standing Female Nude, Selling Manhattan, The Other Country, Mean Time, and The World’s Wife.  In addition, the papers contain a small amount of correspondence (1986-1998), two photographs, and a small amount of printed material, including promotional flyers and leaflets.

DUNAWAY, KATHRYN FINK  (MSS 618)

Papers, 1951-1981; 15linear ft. (15 boxes)

Dunaway (ca. 1906-1980) was a political activist from Atlanta who served as chairman of the STOP ERA Committee of Georgia.  Her papers contain correspondence, subject files, and printed material focusing on women's issues.  The collection also includes material on the STOP ERA Committee of Georgia, the Eagle Forum and Phyllis Schlafly, Georgia Federation of Republican Women and the Daughters of the American Revolution.

DUNNIGAN, ALICE ALLISON  (MSS 929)

Papers, 1958-1981; 1.25 linear ft. (3 boxes)

Alice Allison Dunnigan (1906-1983) served as chief of the Washington bureau of the Associated Negro Press from 1947-1961.  Dunnigan was named education consultant to the President's Committee on Equal Employment Opportunity in 1961 and was an associate editor with the President's Commission on Youth Opportunity from 1967 to 1970. She was the first black female member of the Senate and House of Representatives press galleries (1947), and the first black female White House correspondent in 1948. She was also the first black elected to the Women's National Press Club. In 1974 she published her autobiography A Black Woman’s Experience: From Schoolhouse to White House and in 1982 The Fascinating Story of Black Kentuckian: Their Heritage and Tradition was published.  The papers include correspondence, financial records, photographs, printed material, subject files, and writings by Dunnigan.

EARLY, CLIFFORD CABEL  (MSS 264)

Papers, 1938-1967; 9 linear ft. (12 boxes, 3 oversized papers, 12 reels microfilm)

Early (ca. 1883-1967) was a West Point graduate, the commander of Ft. McPherson (1941-1943), and an active participant in Atlanta civic organizations including the Georgia Rose Society and the Men’s Garden Club of Atlanta.  The collection includes correspondence, estate papers, scrapbooks and memorabilia relating to his military career and his memberships in various Atlanta civic and social clubs.  Some papers of his wife, Harriet, (1897?-1965) are also included.

ERA GEORGIA  (MSS 622)

Records, ca. 1970s-1982; 6 linear ft. (6 boxes, 1 oversized paper)

ERA Georgia was formed in 1973 for the purpose of securing ratification of the Equal Rights Amendment by the Georgia General Assembly.  It began under the name Georgia Coalition for the ERA and became the Georgia Council for the ERA before incorporating in 1978 as ERA Georgia.  The records of ERA Georgia contain correspondence, clippings, notecards, printed material, minutes, reports and campaign finance disclosures of the organization through 1982.

EDGE, ANDREW J.  (MSS 346)

Correspondence, 1862-1864; .13 linear ft. (2 folders, 1 reel microfilm)

Edge (1836-1926) was a Baptist minister and farmer, from Lumpkin Co., Georgia, who served as a member of Company C, 52nd Georgia Infantry, CSA.  The collection consists of Civil War correspondence between Edge and his wife, Alpha Davis Edge.  A substantial portion is written from Alpha to Andrew, including three letters written before the date of their marriage.  Letters include discussions about the war and Andrew’s morale.

EDMISTON, ALTHEA BROWN  (MSS 883)

Papers, 1918-1981; .5 linear ft. (1 box)

Althea Brown Edmiston (1874-1937), African American missionary to Africa, was the daughter of Robert and Molly Suggs Brown of Russelville, Alabama.  After graduating from Fisk University, she applied to be a missionary in the American Presbyterian Congo Mission and left for Africa in August 1902. In the Congo, she was made mistress of the Maria Carey Home for Girls, a day school in Ibanche, and wrote the first dictionary of the Bakuba language.  Her papers include Presbyterian conference materials, missionary newspapers, Sunday School materials printed in Africa, hymnals, and other printed material.   

ELLIS, JAMES NIMMO  (MSS 896)

Papers, 1896-1897; .25 linear ft. (1 box)

James Nimmo Ellis (1863-1931) was a physician and surgeon born in Buckingham Co., Virginia.  After traveling throughout Europe and Russia, Ellis and his wife, Anne Fearn Perkins, moved to Atlanta in 1898, where he served on the staffs of the Presbyterian and Grady Hospitals as a gynecologist and obstetrician.  He published numerous journal articles and invented the “Ellis bag” which was used in gallbladder operations.  The bulk of the collection concerns Ellis and his wife’s travels to Europe in 1896-1898 and includes the visas he and Anne used as well as a photo album.  The collection also includes photos of medical classes which notably include women.

ELLISON, ALICE ROBERTA PARKS  (MSS 906)

Papers, 1934-1960; .5 linear feet (1 box, 2 oversized bound volumes)

Alice Roberta Parks Ellison was a resident of Atlanta, Georgia during the first half of the twentieth century. Ellison belonged to a number of religious and social organizations, mostly prior to her marriage, including the Shiloh Baptist Church, the American Woodman, the Atlanta Negro Music Club, and the Hi-Hi Club, of which she served as president. The papers document her participation in African American social and religious organizations in Atlanta, Georgia. They include scrapbooks, photographs, a small amount of correspondence, church bulletins, photographs, and programs from events in Atlanta, Georgia.

EMANUEL, CHRISTOPHER H.  (MSS 959)

Papers, 1915-1948; .75 linear ft. (2 boxes)

Christopher H. Emanuel (b. ca. 1859) was an African American Baptist minister from White Plains, New York. His daughter Bessie Emanuel Smith attended the Hampton Normal and Agricultural Institute and was the first African American teacher in the White Plains, New York, public school system.  These family papers include family photographs, pamphlets and photographs from the Hampton Normal and Agricultural Institute, several diaries, and correspondence. The collection also includes a diary kept by Christopher Emanuel's employer, who worked on the Panama Canal. 

EMORY UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES.  EMORY UNIVERSITY WOMAN'S CLUB

(Series No. 34)

Records, 1919-  

The Emory University Woman's Club was founded in 1919 by a group of faculty and administrators' wives from the schools of Theology, Law, and Medicine.  Club activities range from hostessing faculty parties and University receptions to fundraising for the University and engaging in volunteer civic work.  The records include administrative records, financial records, membership information, scrapbooks, newsletters, minutes, and reports.

Note:  see also Emory University Woman's Club Scrapbooks (Archives BV Collection. BV Shelf 18) and Emory University Woman's Club Newsletter (Emory vertical file)

EMORY UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES. PRESIDENT’S COMMISSION ON

LESBIAN, GAY, BISEXUAL, AND TRANSGENDER CONCERNS AT EMORY UNIVERSITY  (Series No. 28)

Records, 1992-1999

The President’s Commission on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender (LGBT) Concerns at Emory University is an advisory body to the President of the University.  The records of the Commission consist of general committee records, subcommittee records, and clippings, the bulk of which were created from 1992-1994 prior to the beginning of the Commission.      

EMORY UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES.  PRESIDENT'S COMMISSION ON        THE STATUS OF WOMEN AT EMORY  (Series No. 30)

Collection, 1976-1998

The collection consists of the records of the Commission, which include minutes and agendas, committee reports, project and program materials, issue files, reports of meetings and symposia, publicity material, reports from other related commissions and committees, and printed material.  The collection also includes the records of the Staff Concerns Committee.

EMORY UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES.  STUDENT ORGANIZATIONS.  PANHELLENIC AND SORORITIES

Record Group 3xx, Series 1000: Box 29

Records, 1954-  

These records include material regarding the installation of national sororities at Emory in 1959, the building and dedicating of sorority lodges, the granting of charters including photographs, programs and other printed material.  Also includes information on 10 original sororities including programs, photographs, pennants, and text.

EMORY UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES.  UNIVERSITY ACTIVITIES MISCELLANEOUS.  EMORY WOMEN'S CAUCUS

Record Group 9xx, Series 1000, Box 36b

Records, 1974-1991;

The Emory Women’s Caucus was founded in 1974 with the goal of fostering two-way communication between women students, faculty, and staff and the Administration.  These folders include selected minutes, recommendations and resolutions, correspondence and financial and legal documents of the organization.

EMORY UNIVERSITY, ATLANTA.  DIVISION OF LIBRARIANSHIP

Record Group 8xx, Series 1000: Box 17c

Records, 1928-1964;

Contains administrative records of the Carnegie Library School of Atlanta after its affiliation with Emory University in 1925.  The collection documents the development of the school from Carnegie Library School days to the Library School of Emory University in 1930 and to the Division of Librarianship of the Graduate School in 1948 when it began offering the master's degree.

Note:  some earlier records regarding the transfer of the school can be found in the Tommie Dora Barker Papers (Series 12).

EVANS, LETITIA PATE  (MSS 78)

Papers, 1947-1956; 61 linear ft. (37 boxes, 7 oversized papers)

This Atlanta philanthropist was the first woman to serve on the Board of Trustees of Emory University and was one of the first women directors of a large American corporation (Coca-Cola).  Evans married Joseph Brown Whitehead, one of the founder of the Coca-Cola bottling company, in 1894; she later married Arthur Kelly Evans (in 1913), a retired Canadian Army Officer.  Evans' (1872-1953) papers include correspondence, photographs, newspaper clippings, brochures, and genealogical information.

EVERY SATURDAY CLUB (ATLANTA, GA)  (MSS 198)

Programs, 1895-1981; .5 linear ft. (1 box)

The collection includes the programs of an Atlanta women's discussion group, started in 1894, that was affiliated with the Atlanta Federation of Women's Clubs.  The collection lists officers, members, meeting events, as well as the organization’s constitution and by-laws.

FABRE, MICHEL  (MSS 932)

Collection; 15 linear ft. (26 boxes, 3 oversized papers)

Michel and Genevieve Fabre founded the Center for Afro-American Studies at the University of Paris, and have been leading scholars of African American culture in France. Michel Fabre is the foremost biographer of Richard Wright, and intimately familiar with the Wright family and with African American artists, writers, and musicians throughout Europe. Genevieve Fabre is a scholar of African-American theater and literature, and co-chaired the first Harvard University Du Bois Institute Working Group, "History and Memory in Afro-American Culture," and edited an important book by the title that has been seminal in "memory studies" in the field.  The Michel Fabre archives of African American arts and letters consists of correspondence, writings, and printed material relating to expatriate writers, artists, musicians, and cultural figures.

FALLON, PETER  (MSS817)

Gallery Press collection, ca. 1967-1998; 97 linear ft. (195 boxes, 127 oversized papers)

Peter Fallon, poet, editor and publisher, founded The Gallery Press in 1970 at the age of eighteen.  The Gallery Press has published poems and plays by the Ireland's finest established and emerging authors and is recognized as the pre-eminent literary publishing house in Ireland. Among the writers it publishes are Medbh McGuckian and Nuala Ní Dhomhnaill.  The collection contains the records of The Gallery Press and the personal and literary papers of Peter Fallon from ca. 1967-1998.  The Gallery Press records include literary manuscripts by authors who have published works through the Gallery Press, the Gallery Press in conjunction with Deerfield Press, O'Brien Press, and Oldcastle Enterprises/After Hours Books; correspondence with literary and artistic figures; subject files; printed material; and photographs.

 

Note:  searchable finding aid available at the Irish Literary Collections Portal Website, http://irishliterature.library.emory.edu.

FARINHOLT, KATHERINE WOLTZ  (MSS 597)

Papers, 1930-1984; 5 linear feet (18 boxes, 3 oversized papers, 11 oversized bound volumes)

The papers of Katherine Farinholt (1912-1990), an Atlanta educator and community leader, include personal and professional correspondence, scrapbooks, printed matter and memorabilia documenting her activities with Agnes Scott College, Westminster Academy, All Saints Episcopal Church, the Colonial Dames, and the Girl Scouts as well as her support of the Equal Rights Amendment.  The collection also contains travel journals, a diary, and a typescript copy of a novel, Alexander’s Daughter, based on family history.

FEMINIST ACTION ALLIANCE, (ATLANTA, GA)  (MSS 568)

Records, 1974-1984; 8 linear ft (8 boxes)

The bulk of the Atlanta organization's records for 1974-1984 are contained in the collection and include correspondence, minutes, membership records, publications, committee working files, funding proposals, public relations materials, newsletters, and program materials. During these years the alliance addressed issues pertaining to women's role in political and economic processes; the crime of rape and the treatment of rape victims in the criminal justice system; and family issues such as child care, alternative work patterns, family planning services, and the reform of marital laws.

FORT, ADA  (MSS 701)

Papers, 1950-1975; 1 linear ft. (1 box)

Fort was dean of Emory University's School of Nursing from 1950 to 1975.  Under her stewardship the school increased its enrollment, expanded its programs, and integrated its student body.  Fort won many awards in the field of nursing and the collection concentrates on the history of the nursing school and Fort 's part in it.  It includes correspondence, photographs, clippings, scrapbooks, printed material and certificates.

Note:  Restrictions on access and reproduction may apply.

FORTUNOFF VIDEO ARCHIVE FOR HOLOCAUST TESTIMONIES  (MSS 971)

Collection; 3 linear ft. (6 boxes)

The recordings in this collection are on loan to Emory University from the Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies, part of Manuscripts and Archives, at Sterling Memorial Library, Yale University.  They represent only a selection from the much larger collection held at Yale.  The testimonies contain first-hand experience of the Nazi persecutions, including those in hiding, survivors, bystanders, resistants, and liberators.  Each of the tapes is cataloged separately in EUCLID.  The copy of the Guide to Yale University Library Holocaust Video Testimonies (second edition, 1994) in MARBL indicates which tapes are on loan at Emory (D804.3 F67 1994 SPECIALCOLL)

Note: Restrictions on screening and reproduction may apply.

FOWLER, MANET HARRISON  (MSS 978)

Papers, 1923-1949; .75 linear ft. (2 boxes, 3 oversized papers)

Manet Harrison Fowler (1895-1976) was an African American musician and educator from Fort Worth, Texas. In June 1928 Fowler founded the Mwalimu School in Texas, which she later relocated to Harlem in New York City. The school was an active participant in the Harlem Renaissance, emphasizing African culture and language. The collection contains Fowler’s personal papers including photographs, printed material, and correspondence mostly related to Fowler’s participation in African American musical organizations. Other items in the Fowler papers include scrapbook pages, a class photograph from the Tuskegee Institute in 1913, photographs of Fort Worth Colored High School, photographs of YMCA programs in Fort Worth, Texas during the 1930s, published writings by Manet Harrison Fowler, including a musical she wrote for the National Baptist Convention in 1930, and correspondence and a photograph of her father, S. H. Fowler.

 

FRANCES E. W. HARPER LITERARY AND SOCIAL CIRCLE (SAVANNAH, GA.)  (MSS 986)

Records 1915-1929; 1 linear ft. (1 box)

The Frances E.W. Harper Literary and Social Circle was founded around 1900 by a group of African American women living in Savannah, Georgia. The organization was named for Frances E.W. Harper, a poet that frequently lectured for the abolitionist cause prior to the Civil War and an author of the first published story by an African American. The women of the Frances E.W. Harper Literary and Social Circle, who met bimonthly, listened to lectures and music; read and discussed works of literature, especially those by African Americans; and occasionally went on outings outside Savannah. The collection consists of the record book from 1915-1929 which contains the minutes for each meeting, recorded by the secretary of the organization; financial records concerning payment of dues and costs for outings; and occasional committee reports.

FULTON BAG AND COTTON MILLS (ATLANTA, GA)  (MSS 614)

Records, 1881-1958; 2.75 linear ft. (4 boxes, 3 oversized papers,8 oversized bound volumes, 1 reel microfilm)

Fulton Bag and Cotton Mills was established in 1881 by a German immigrant, Jacob Elsas.  A factory-supported and -built mill village, eventually known as Cabbagetown, grew up around the mill after 1881.  Elsas started a clinic and nursery for mill employees and their children.  At its height of prosperity, during and just after World War II, the mill employed 2700 workers.  By the 1980s the company had been subsumed by FabricsAmerica.  The collection includes business records, correspondence, scrapbooks, historical information and photographs.  Related materials are held at the Georgia Institute of Technology Library.

GAINES, MARTHA WREN  (MSS 669)

Papers, 1962-1987; 15.75 linear ft. (35 boxes, 18 oversized papers 1 oversized bound volumes)

Gaines (1939-1987) was a human rights and civil liberties activist who worked as a writer, lecturer, and equal opportunity consultant for women and minorities.  She worked with local, regional, and national organizations including the National Organization for Women (NOW), the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU), and the Equal Rights Amendment (ERA) Ratification Council.  Gaines was also active in Democratic Party politics and unsuccessfully ran for the State Senate in 1974.  The collection includes correspondence, reports, printed material, clippings, audiovisual materials, speeches, and memorabilia documenting Gaines' activities, including extensive materials concerning NOW and the ERA.

Note: Some materials are restricted due to their status as personal records or files.

 

GARDINER, CHARLES WREY  (MSS 641)

Collection, 1942-1967; .5 linear ft. (1 box)

Gardiner (1901-1981) was an author and the founder and proprietor of the Grey Walls Press.  The collection includes correspondence between Charles Wrey Gardiner and Cynthia Kortright, who became his third wife.  The letters chronicle the couple's on-going relationship, including Kortright's pregnancy prior to their marriage.  Letters after the marriage in 1947 focus upon family arrangements and financial matters, Gardiner's work with the Grey Walls Press and later problems after the closing of the Press.

GARDNER, EMMA BRESCIA  (MSS 852)

Papers, 1898-1996; 5 linear ft. (9 boxes, 1 oversized paper)

Emma Brescia Gardner (1898-1996), daughter of composer Domenico Brescia (1866-1939), was married to Robert Penn Warren from 1929-1951.  While the marriage lasted for over twenty years, the couple had no children.  Gardner went on to earn a Ph.D. from Columbia University in 1957 and began teaching foreign languages at Mitchell College in New London, Connecticut, in 1963.  Her first husband, Robert Penn Warren (1905-1989) is the only person to win the Pulitzer Prize for both Fiction and Poetry. Letters between her and Warren shed light on their marriage and relationship.  The collection includes over 700 letters from her father, Domenico Brescia (in Italian) and correspondence with Robert Penn Warren, friends, and other family members.  There are also some typescripts of Gardner’s poetry. 

GEFFEN FAMILY  (MSS 651)

Papers, 1923-1996; 73 linear ft. (105 boxes)

The Geffen family is prominent in the Jewish community in Atlanta, Georgia.  Tobias Geffen (1870-1970) was rabbi of the Congregation Shaerith in Atlanta (1911- ).  Louis Geffen (1904- ), son of Tobias Geffen, attended Emory University and Columbia University, then practiced law in Atlanta (1927- ).  He also served as chief prosecutor at the Yokohama war crimes trials during his duty with the 310th Military Government Group, 3rd Army.  David Geffen (1938- ), son of Louis Geffen studied at Emory University, then served as rabbi at Congregation Beth Shalon (Wilmington, Delaware) from 1970-1977, and in 1993 became rabbi at Temple Israel (Scranton, Pennsylvania).  He was involved with the Masorti Movement in Israel.  The Geffen family papers consist of personal, professional, and religious material, including papers of Anna Geffen, wife of Tobias, and Lottie Geffen Smith, daughter of Tobias.  The collection includes letters to Anna from her mother (in Hebrew) and materials on prenatal and child care from the U.S. Government (ca. 1930s), sex education, and marital relations.

Note: restrictions on reproduction may apply.

 

GEORGIA MISCELLANY COLLECTION  (MSS 44)

Collection; .5 linear ft. (2 boxes, 3 oversized papers, 3 bound volumes, 6 oversized bound volumes, 1 reel microfilm)

This artificial collection is comprised of a small manuscript collection written in, by, or about Georgia or Georgians.  It includes three love letters written in 1924-6 to Lucille Burke of Sava