This guide identifies manuscript collections that are related to Coca-Cola.
This guide is not intended to be a complete finding aid to the collections. It serves as a preliminary research tool, providing a brief description of holdings with basic information on size inclusive dates, types of records, and broad subject areas. More detailed descriptions of the sources listed below are available in the Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library (MARBL) and through EUCLID, the Emory Libraries’ online catalog. EUCLID contains bibliographic records for the majority of the manuscript collections held in MARBL as well as books and other printed material available at Emory University. EUCLID is accessible through the Internet at http://www.library.emory.edu. Finding aids for these sources are also available through MARBL's Web site in the finding aids database.
Please note that not all manuscript collections are housed in MARBL. Some collections are located at an off-site storage facility and require advance coordination. In addition, some collections have access restrictions. Researchers are encouraged to contact MARBL to insure that materials will be available. We are also happy to pull materials in advance of a research visit.
Allen, Frederick (MSS 850)
Papers; 16 linear ft. (16 boxes)
Frederick Allen (1948- ), journalist and author. Allen is a former political commentator for CNN and columnist for the Atlanta Journal-Constitution. His books include Secret Formula and Atlanta Rising: The Invention of an International City, 1946-1996. The collection consists of materials relating to Frederick Allen’s book, Secret Formula. The materials include manuscript and typescript drafts, research materials and notes, reviews and publicity materials, and printed material relating to the history of the Coca-Cola Company.
Candler, Asa Griggs (MSS 1)
Papers, 1821-1951; 9 linear ft. (22 boxes, 7 bound volumes, 5 oversized folders)
Asa Griggs Candler (30 December 1851-12 March 1929) druggist, businessman, and mayor of Atlanta, was the founder of the Coca-Cola Company and a major benefactor of Emory College and Emory University.
Candler, Charles Howard (MSS 3)
Papers, 1880-1959; 8 linear ft. (17 boxes, 2 bound volumes, 3 oversized folders)
Charles Howard Candler (1878-1957) was born in Atlanta Georgia, the eldest son of Asa Griggs Candler, founder of the Coca-Cola Co., and Lucy Elizabeth Howard Candler, daughter of George J. Howard, Atlanta merchant. In 1916 Charles Howard Candler succeeded his father as president of the Coca-Cola Co. and served again as President 1920-1923, after ownership of the company changed, and continued as a director as long as he lived.
Coca-Cola Company (MSS 620)
Collection, 1912-1990; 6 linear ft. (13 boxes, 3 oversized folders)
The Coca-Cola collection consists of mainly printed material in the form of company publications, articles, and clippings dating from 1912-1990. This material is arranged in 10 series (13 boxes, 3 OP) each of which is organized by subject or chronologically: (1) General information and history of Coca-Cola, (2) Advertising and public relations, (3) Fountain sales, (4) Bottles and bottling, (5) Products and divisions, (6) Coca-Cola International, (7) Subject files about Coca-Cola, (8) Coca-Cola art and collectibles, (9) Disputes and negativism, and (10) Collected printed material and photographic material.
Evans, Letitia Pate (MSS 78)
Papers, 1947-1956; .13 linear ft. (1 box)
She was Emory University's first woman Trustee, one of the first woman directors of a large American corporation (Coca-Cola Company), and contributed funds through various Whitehead family foundations, especially the Letitia Pate Evans Foundation and the Letitia Pate Whitehead Foundation, to over 130 charities and institutions, including Emory University and Hospital, Agnes Scott College, and Berry Schools (Rome, Georgia). She married (1894) Joseph Brown Whitehead (d. 1906), one of the founders of Coca-Cola Bottling Company, and (1913) Arthur Kelly Evans (d. 1948), a retired Canadian Army officer.
Note: Arrangement and description of this collection has not been completed.
Gresham, Richard Clinton (MSS 83)
Papers, 1917-1967; 1 linear ft.
Richard Clinton Gresham, Baptist clergyman and educator, of Moultrie, Georgia, died in Atlanta, Georgia, 1972. He attended Georgia Military Academy in College Park, Georgia (1905-1907), and received his MA from the University of Kentucky (1932). Gresham was on the governing board of Georgia Military Academy (1932-1972; became Woodward Academy 1966), was Chaplain and Professor of Religious Education at Berry College in Rome, Georgia (1950-1959), and was a lifelong friend of Robert W. Woodruff.
Restrictions: Accessioned only. Restrictions on access and reproduction may apply.
Jones, Joseph W. (MSS 1003)
Papers, 1969-2003; 20 linear ft. (20 boxes)
Joseph W. Jones, former senior vice-president of the Coca-Cola Company, a longtime associate of Robert W. Woodruff, and chairman emeritus of the Woodruff Foundation. The collection contains the papers of Joseph W. Jones from 1969-1990. The papers include reading files and correspondence relating to his business relationship with Robert W. Woodruff.
Kemble, E. W. (Edward Windsor) (MSS 688)
Letters to Ellis D. Robb, 1931; .25 linear ft. (1 box)
The E.W. Kemble letters consist of correspondence between Kemble and Ellis D. Robb regarding selling a watercolor done by Kemble to Coca-Cola for use in their advertising. Also included are letters between Robb and Harrison Jones, Executive Vice President of Coca-Cola, about using this watercolor and their subsequent decision not to use it.
Pendergrast, Mark (MSS 741)
Research Files; 23.75 linear ft. (49 boxes)
Mark Pendergrast was born in Atlanta and is a graduate of Harvard University. A business journalist, he has published articles and reviews in a number of magazines and newspapers, including the New York Times, the Sunday Times (London), and Financial Analyst. The collection mainly consists of research files of Mark Pendergrast for the publication of his book, For God, Country and Coca-Cola: The Definitive History of the Great American Soft Drink and the Company that Makes It (1993). The files include correspondence, printed materials, and audio cassette recordings of interviews that he conducted.
Rowsey, Frank (MSS 223)
Papers, 1925-1960; .13 linear ft. (1 box)
Frank Rowsey, executive, editor, and publisher, was born in Albany, Georgia, 23 October 1905, and died in Chattanooga, Tennessee on 23 February 1961. He came to Atlanta, Georgia in 1921, attended Emory University (1921-1925), was an executive with the Coca-Cola Company, edited the national magazine Coca-Cola Bottler, and was the vice president and general manager of the company's subsidiary, the Hickory Publishing Company. He was at one time a staff member on the Atlanta Journal and the New York SUN, editorial director of the Walter Brown Publishing Company, and vice president of the Atlanta Safety Council.
Sibley, John A. (MSS 437)
Papers, ca. 1912-1989; 232 linear ft. (463 boxes, 2 oversized folders)
John Adams Sibley (1888-1986) was born on a farm in Baldwin County, Georgia to James Longstreet (1863-1945) and Mattie Erwin Sibley (1862-1930). He graduated from Georgia Military College in 1904 and farmed for a few years on property he purchased from his father. He decided to pursue a career in law and attended the University of Georgia and obtained his LL.B. degree in 1911. He returned to Milledgeville to practice law with his brother, Erwin Sibley. In 1918, Sibley was invited to join the law firm of King and Spalding in Atlanta where he attracted national attention as an attorney in the case of Coca-Cola Company vs. Coca-Cole Bottling Company. He eventually became general counsel to the Coca-Cola Company. Seeking the independence of a private law practice, he returned to King and Spalding where he specialized in corporate law.
Restrictions: some files relating to Coca-Cola and the Emily and Ernest Woodruff Foundation found in Series 1, Subject files.
Woodruff, Robert Winship (MSS 10)
Papers, ca. 1917-1985; 311.25 linear ft. (499 boxes)
Robert Winship Woodruff (1889-1985), business leader and philanthropist, was born in Columbus, Georgia, the son of Ernest and Emily (Winship) Woodruff. He married Nell Hodgson of Athens, Georgia. In 1912, he joined his father's business, Atlantic Ice and Coal Company, serving as the purchasing agent until he joined the White Motor Company. At White Motor, he ascended to vice-president and general manager and when White died in 1929, Woodruff became president of the company. In the meantime his father purchased the Coca-Cola Company in 1919.
The collection consists of papers of Robert Winship Woodruff from ca. 1917-1985. The papers include personal and business correspondence; personal files; photographs and photograph albums; scrapbooks; audio-visual materials; certificates; honors, awards, plaques, and commemorative items; special occasion files; architectural drawings, blueprints, and maps; date and appointment books, genealogical material; files relating to legal matters handled by King & Spalding; memorabilia; printed materials; personal business and financial files; and papers of Ernest Woodruff, Henry Woodruff, and Nell Hodgson Woodruff. The collection documents the activities of Robert W. Woodruff including his involvement with White Motor Company and the Coca-Cola Company, his philanthropic endeavors, and his personal pursuits including his Baker County (Ga.) plantation, Ichauway and the TE Ranch in Cody (Wy.)
Restrictions: some materials are restricted; contact repository regarding terms governing access.
The following is a list of publications related to Coca-Cola and its history that are held in MARBL but not in the general stacks, or that were created by Coca-Cola itself:
HD9349 .C6 A56 1994
Secret formula : how brilliant marketing and relentless salesmanship made Coca-Cola the best-known product in the world.
Allen, Frederick, 1948-
F293.26 .C35 C31
XE304.5 .E5 SER.7 NO.2
Asa Griggs Candler; Coca-Cola & Emory College, 1888.
Candler, Charles Howard, 1878-1957.
HD9349 .C6 C7 1923
Opinions, orders, injunctions, and decrees relation to unfair competition and infringement of trade-mark.
Coca-Cola Company.
HD9349 .S634 C5335 1990
Coca-Cola.
Coca-Cola Company.
Z644 .C6 NO.1
Esther LaRose Harris, complainant, vs. The Coca-Cola Company, defendant. No. 635 in equity in the District Court of the United States for the Northern District of Georgia, Atlanta Division. Briefs.
Coca-Cola Company.
Z644 .C61 NO.1
Esther LaRose Harris, appellant and cross-appellee v. The Coca-Cola Company. No. 7505 in equity. United States Circuit Court of Appeals (5th circuit) Briefs.
Coca-Cola Company.
Z644 .C62
Esther LaRose Harris, petitioner, vs. The Coca-Cola Company, respondent. No. 596. Supreme Court of the United States, October term, 1934. Respondent's brief in opposition to the petition for writ of certiorari.
Coca-Cola Company.
HD9349 .C6 R44 FOLIO V.1-V.2 1969-1970
Refresher, U.S.A.
Coca-Cola USA.
HD9349 .S634 C634 1982
Tributary to a golden stream : the story of the Coca-Cola Bottling Company of West Point
LaGrange, Georgia.
Henry, Waights G.
HD9349 .C6 K3 1960A
The big drink: an unofficial history of Coca-Cola.
Kahn, E. J. (Ely Jacques), 1916-
F293.26 .W6 K35 1969
Robert Winship Woodruff.
Kahn, E. J. (Ely Jacques), 1916-
HD9349 .C6 K8 1971
J. G. Stowe’s Recollections of Georgia, Emory University, Coca-Cola and World War II.
Stowe, J. G. (Joseph Gay)