For assistance with Emory University Archives please contact:
EMORYARCHIVES@listserv.emory.edu
Mission
The Emory University Archives is the agency charged by the university with responsibility for collecting, preserving and providing access to records and related materials documenting the history and function of Emory University, its predecessor schools, and related organizations.
Our Program
Emory University Archives staff members arrange and describe historical materials, assist individual researchers, respond to requests from members of the university community, and participate in outreach programs ranging from presentations about Emory's history to exhibits using archival resources to tell the story of Emory. The Emory Archives operates in full collaboration with the Records and Information Management program and with the Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library.
Our Holdings
The Emory University Archives collects the following materials:
University records
The Archives collects University records of permanent historical value regardless of format. These include, but are not limited to, minutes, correspondence, reports, and publications produced by administrative, academic, and research units in the course of University business.
Dissertations, theses and honors papers
The Archives receives one copy of each doctoral dissertation, master's thesis and honors paper produced by Emory students. If the General Libraries circulating copy is not available, retrieval of the Archives copy may be requested through EUCLID.
Faculty and alumni papers
The Archives selectively acquires the papers of alumni, members of the faculty, and senior administrators. Preference is given to those who are graduates of Emory and who made significant contributions to their field of study while employed by Emory.
Records of affiliated organizations
The Archives collects the records of alumni, faculty, staff, and student organizations, as well as those which have a close relationship to the university.
Records housed at the Health Sciences Center Library; the Hugh F. MacMillan Law Library; and the Hoke O'Kelley Memorial Library at Oxford College of Emory University
Through a collaborative effort with the Robert W. Woodruff Health Sciences Center, the Emory School of Law, and Oxford College of Emory University, Emory University Archives materials specific to these schools are housed in their related libraries and administered by the Archives staff. The archives of the Candler School of Theology are administered by the Curator of Archives and Manuscripts at the Pitts Theology Library.
Alumni publications
Books by alumni of Emory University are housed in the Schley Library at the Miller-Ward Alumni House Miller-Ward Alumni House where they are accessible to everyone who visits the headquarters of the Emory Alumni Association. These alumni publications, along with memorabilia, yearbooks, and historic photographs, help make the facility a true campus home for Emory alumni. Contact the Emory Alumni Association, Miller-Ward Alumni House, 815 Houston Mill Road. Emory University, Atlanta, GA 30322, Phone 404.727.6400, Fax: 404.727.2557, e-mail: EAA@emory.edu