Guide to British and Irish Literature

The Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library (MARBL) of Emory University has extensive book and manuscript holdings documenting the Irish literary revival and 20th century British and Irish poetry. MARBL’s Irish literary revival collections are strong in manuscripts and books related to W.B. Yeats, Lady Gregory, Maud Gonne, and others of their circle. Within the broad field of 20th century poetry, the library has special strength in the literary archives of the Belfast Group poets (Seamus Heaney, Paul Muldoon, Michael Longley, among others), poets from the Republic of Ireland, and post-World War II British poets notably Ted Hughes. The library also holds the publisher’s archive of the Gallery Press, which includes correspondence and manuscript materials related to a broad array of contemporary Irish poets and playwrights.

This guide is not intended to be a complete finding aid to the collections. It serves as a preliminary research tool, providing a brief description of holdings with basic information on size, inclusive dates, types of records, and broad subject areas. More detailed descriptions of the sources listed below are available in the Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library (MARBL) and through EUCLID, the Emory Libraries’ online catalog. EUCLID contains bibliographic records for the majority of the manuscript collections held in MARBL as well as books and other printed material available at Emory University. EUCLID is accessible through the Internet at http://www.library.emory.edu. Finding aids for these sources are also available through MARBL's Web site in the finding aids database.

Please note that not all manuscript collections are housed in MARBL. Some collections are located at an off-site storage facility and must be requested in advance. In addition, some collections have access restrictions. Researchers are encouraged to contact MARBL to insure that materials will be available. We are also happy to pull materials in advance of a research visit.

MARBL is located on the 10th floor of the Robert W. Woodruff Library. Researchers may visit MARBL Monday through Friday 8:30-5:30; Saturdays 9:00-5:30. Hours are subject to change during holiday and inter-session periods. During the summer, Saturday hours are 10-4. It is highly recommended that researchers contact MARBL in advance to inquire about the collections and business hours. For more information about materials held at MARBL, please call (404-727-6887), e-mail (marbl@emory.edu), or visit our Web site (http://marbl.library.emory.edu). Mail inquiries may be addressed to Research Services, Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library, Emory University, Atlanta, GA 30322.

Revised editions of this guide will be forthcoming as new collections are accessioned and as material in existing collections is located and identified.

ABBEY THEATRE (MSS 244)

Collection, 1925-1942, 1944; 4 linear ft. (8 boxes)

The Abbey Theatre, organized in 1904, grew from the Irish National Theatre Society. Indicative of its association with Irish nationalism and the literary renaissance, the opening night of the theatre presented short works by W. B. Yeats, Lady Gregory, and John M. Synge. This collection of materials relating to the Abbey Theatre includes 22 play parts (typescript portions of plays produced at the theatre, some with holograph annotations), and approximately 467 programs for plays produced at the theatre from 1925 to1942. Also present is correspondence of Eric Gorman, the Secretary of the National Theatre Society, with such writers as Sean O’Casey regarding the productions of the theatre.

ASHTON, DORE AND MATTI MEGGED (MSS 1068)

Collection, 1958-1994; .5 linear ft. (1 box)

Dore Ashton (1928-) is an art critic, author, and teacher. Her husband Matti Megged (1923-2003) was an Israeli-born writer and teacher. The collection consists of correspondence and other material collected by Dore Ashton and Matti Megged from 1958-1994. Correspondence from Octavio Paz is addressed to Dore Ashton. Correspondence from Samuel Beckett, Italo Calvino, and E. E. Cummings is addressed to Matti Megged. The collection also includes general correspondence concerning Megged's writings, a photograph of Ashton and Paz, and a speech written by Ashton for a conference on Paz.

AUDEN, W.H. (WYSTAN HUGHES) (MSS 1046)

Collection, 1934-1980; 1.5 linear ft. (3 boxes)

The collection consists of the papers of W. H. Auden (1907-1973), who was born in York, England, papers of others given to Auden, and publications about Auden’s life and work, from 1934 to 1980. The collection contains broadcasts scripts for essays read over German radio by Auden in the 1960s, typescripts of two class lectures given by Auden, a large range of newspaper clippings of essays and poems by Auden as well as reviews and commentary by other critics and readers of his work, and numerous programs for performances of Auden’s plays and librettos in both the United States and England.

BANVILLE, JOHN (MSS 953)

Collection, [1979-1997], 1.25 linear ft. (3 boxes)

John Banville was born December 8, 1945 in Wexford, Ireland. He attended St. Peter’s College (Wexford, Ireland) and went on to become one of the most renowned Irish prose writers of his generation. The collection includes typescripts of several of Banville’s novels and plays, correspondence from John Banville to his brother, scrapbooks of Banville’s printed material, and family photographs.

BECKETT, SAMUEL (MSS 902)

Collection, 1955-1996; .5 linear ft. (1 box)

After receiving degrees from Trinity College, Samuel Beckett (1906-1989) soon established himself in the city that would become his home, Paris, writing a large body of his work in French, including both Waiting for Godot (En attendant Godot) and Endgame (Fin de Partie), the plays for which he is most famous. Author of six novels, four long plays, and dozens of short plays, stories, poems, essays, and radio and television scripts, Beckett won the Nobel Prize for literature in 1969. The collection consists of playbills for performances of Beckett plays at various theaters.

BRITISH BROADCASTING CORPORATION (MSS 1055)

Third Programme radio scripts, 1949-1978; .75 linear ft. (2 boxes)

The British Broadcasting Corporation's (BBC) Third Programme began on September 29, 1946, during the BBC's post-war restructuring. At this time, the BBC was divided into three networks: The Home Service, the Light Programme, and the Third Programme. The latter was considered more intellectual in nature and was defined by the BBC as "being for the educated rather than an educational programme." In 1957 the BBC decreased program's air time, despite protests from individuals such as T.S. Eliot. The program was cut further in 1970 and merged with Radio Four, created in 1967 to replace the Home Service and to reach a wider audience.

The collection contains thirty-six typescripts for the British Broadcasting Corporation's Third Programme, dating from 1949 to 1978; however, the majority of the typescripts date from the 1960s. The collection is comprised of numerous works by Dylan Thomas, including multiple versions of "Under Milk Wood," as well as typescripts of works by David Gascoyne, Ted Hughes, Sylvia Plath, Stevie Smith, Wole Soyinka, and others. Many of the programs were produced by Douglas Cleverdon, who worked on the Third Programme from 1946 to 1969.

BROWN, ASHLEY (MSS 1069)

Collection, 1955-1997; .5 linear ft. (1 box)

Samuel Ashley Brown (1932- ), professor of English and comparative literature, received his PhD from Vanderbilt University in 1958 and spent the majority of his career at the University of South Carolina.

The collection contains correspondence, manuscripts, and printed material collected by Ashley Brown from 1955-1997. The correspondence is addressed to Ashley Brown from correspondents Stephen Spender, James Merrill, Anthony Hecht, Elizabeth Bishop, Robert Fitzgerald, and Sally Fitzgerald. Correspondents sometimes also sent clippings, manuscripts of poems and other writings, and photographs. The Flannery O’Connor / Susan Jenkins Brown correspondence was collected by Brown rather than addressed to him. Ashley Brown wrote an article in 1986 in The Southern Review concerning this set of correspondence. The collection also contains drafts of this article.

CARSON, CIARAN (MSS 746)

Papers, 1970-2002; 25.5 linear ft. (48 boxes, 27 oversized papers)

The personal papers of the Northern Irish poet Ciaran Carson (1948- ) include correspondence, literary manuscripts, literary notebooks, and collected printed material dating from the early 1970s up to 1997. The papers document Carson’s creative career during those years, largely through the presence of numerous drafts of his published poems and other writings. Of special note are early “group sheets” from Philip Hobsbaum’s creative writing sessions in the early seventies. Among the correspondents represented in the papers are Peter Fallon, Tess Gallagher, Seamus Heaney, Medbh McGuckian, John Montague, and Frank Ormsby. Published works represented in the papers include: The New Estate (1976), The Lost Explorer (1978), The Irish for No (1987), Belfast Confetti (1989), First Language (1993), Opera Et Cetera (1996), Last Night’s Fun (1996), and The Star Factory (1997), as well as Carson's writings on traditional Irish music.

COFFEY, BRIAN (MSS 795)

Collection, ca. 1933-1976; .5 linear ft. (1 box, 2 oversized bound volumes)

Born in Dublin in 1905, poet Brian Coffey was associated with the Joyce Circle in Paris. The Brian Coffey collection includes one bound volume and two scrapbooks, in which Coffey tipped in manuscript drafts of many of his poems and a single box of manuscript drafts and related artwork. Represented in the collection are drafts of poems published in Three Poems (1933), Missouri Sequence (1961-65), Monster (1966), Selected Poems (1971), Advent (1975), The Big Laugh (1980), and The Death of Hektor (1980). The largest part of the collection relates to the composition of Monster and design of the published work.

CUALA PRESS (MSS 232)  

Collection, ca. 1908-1969; .25 linear ft. (1 box)

The Cuala Press was established by the Yeats family in 1902. This small collection is made up of five hand-colored cards printed by the Cuala Press: "The trees are in their autumn beauty" (no. 44), "The Connaght Toast" (no. 50), "The Midland Toast" (no. 51), "The Magi" (no. 98), and "A Cradle Song" (no. 89). In addition, the department’s rare book collection includes over 80 books and broadsides issued by the Cuala Press from 1908-1974. These works are cataloged and may be identified by searching in the online catalog EUCLID at http://www.library.emory.edu.

DUFFY, CAROL ANN (MSS 834)

Papers, 1985-1999; 6.75 linear ft. (9 boxes 1 oversized paper)

One of Britain’s most highly regarded poets, Carol Ann Duffy (1955- ) grew up in Staffordshire in the north of England. After graduating from Liverpool University in Philosophy, Duffy moved to London and published her first collection of poetry, Fifth Last Song, in 1983. In 1993 she won the Whitbread and the Forward prizes for Mean Time, and in 1995 she was awarded the OBE. The collection consists of 18 notebooks dating from 1985 to 1999 containing drafts of poems and other writings from each of Duffy’s published works.

EMORY UNIVERSITY. LECTURES AND SYMPOSIA. RICHARD ELLMAN LECTURES IN MODERN LITERATURE (RG 900/Series 26)

Records, 1988- ; 1 linear ft. (2 boxes)

The University Archives includes materials related to the Richard Ellman Lectures in Modern Literature held biennially at Emory University. The correspondence, clippings, audiovisual materials and promotional literature document the inauguration of the series by Seamus Heaney in 1988. The Place of Writing (1989) by Seamus Heaney, essays to inaugurate the Richard Ellmann Lecture series, is available for purchase from the department.

FALLON, PETER/GALLERY PRESS (MSS 817)

Collection, [1967-1998]; 97 linear ft. (195 boxes, 127 oversized papers)

Although born in Germany in 1951, Peter Fallon spent his early years in Ireland. In addition to writing his own poetry, Fallon established the Gallery Press, which published plays by such writers as Paul Muldoon and Seamus Heaney. The Peter Fallon/Gallery Press collection contains personal and literary papers of Fallon, as well as files related to his publishing house, Gallery Press. Present in the Press’s files are many manuscript drafts of most of Ireland’s leading poets and playwrights of the last twenty-five years. Among them Nuala Archer, John Banville, Brendan Behan, Moya Cannon, Marina Carr, Ciaran Carson, Harry Clifton, Michael Coady, Gerald Dawe, Seamus Deane, Sean Dunne, Paul Durcan, John Ennis, Padraic Fallon, Brian Friel, Eamon Grennan, Michael Hartnett, Seamus Heaney, John Hughes, Pearse Hutchinson, Brendan Kennelly, Thomas Kilroy, Michael Longley, Eugene McCabe, Medbh McGuckian, Frank McGuinness, Tom MacIntyre, Derek Mahon, Paula Meehan, John Montague, Paul Muldoon, Thomas Murphy, Eilean NiChuilleanain, Nuala NiDhomhnaill, Frank Ormsby, James Simmons, and David Wheatley.

FRIEL, BRIAN (MSS 732)

Collection, 1966-1991; .5 linear ft. (1 box, 5 oversized papers)

Brian Friel was born Bernard Patrick Friel on January 9 or 10, 1929, in Omagh, County Tyrone, in northern Ireland. Friel is best-known as a dramatist; he is often referred to as Ireland's greatest living playwright. Among his most well-known plays are Philadelphia, Here I Come! (1964), Translations (1980), and Dancing at Lughnasa (1991). Friel also co-founded the Field Day Theatre Company with Stephen Rea in 1980. The collection includes a single typescript of The Loves of Cass McGuire, numerous articles about Friel and reviews of his plays, theater programs and promotional posters, an undated photograph of Friel, and an original cartoon of Friel by Martyn Turner for The Irish Times. In addition, the collection includes printed material relating to the Field Day Theatre Company and Publishing House.

GARDINER, CHARLES WREY (MSS 641)

Collection, 1942-1967; .5 linear ft. (1 box)

Charles Wrey Gardiner (1901-1981), poet and publisher, was born in Plymouth, England and is the author of four published autobiographies (and one unpublished autobiography) and numerous collections of poetry. In 1939 Gardiner became assistant editor of the Poetry Quarterly, and in 1940 he established the Grey Walls Press, which published the Quarterly until 1953. The collection consists of correspondence between Gardiner and his third wife Cynthia Kortright, as well as between Gardiner and assorted literary figures including Muriel Spark, Edith Sitwell, and Colin Wilson. There is also some miscellaneous correspondence with publishers and members of Gardiner’s family.

GHODES, CLARENCE LOUIS FRANK (MSS 155)

Papers, 1889-1952 (bulk 1935-1952); .25 linear ft. (1 box)

Clarence Ghodes (1901- ) was the managing editor of American Literature, a Duke University journal, from 1932-1954. The collection includes correspondence relating to his relationship with American and British literary figures as well as single letters from a variety of authors including T. S. Eliot, Sherwood Anderson, Robert Frost, and Thomas Mann.

GONNE, MAUD, 1866-1953 (MSS 771)

Collection, 1870-1978; 2.75 linear ft. (5 boxes)

Maud Gonne (1866-1953) was an actress in some of W.B. Yeats’ plays and founded the Daughters of Erin in 1900, an organization promoting women’s involvement in nationalist causes. She is remembered as the object of W.B. Yeats’ love and the inspiration for some of his poems. The Maud Gonne collection includes letters, photographs, and genealogical material collected by Professor Conrad Balliet in the course of his research, as well as audiotape interviews he conducted with a number of Maud Gonne's family members and acquaintances. Present are ten original letters written between 1902 and 1950 in which Maud Gonne discusses her marriage to Major John MacBride and her feelings for W.B. Yeats, among other subjects. The collection also includes twelve photographs of Maud Gonne dating from childhood through old age.

GONNE, MAUD AND W.B. YEATS (MSS 930)

Papers, ca. 1890-1938; 2.5 linear ft. (5 boxes)

The collection consists primarily of correspondence, including 375 letters from Maud Gonne to W.B. Yeats, written between 1890 and 1930. The collection also contains 27 letters from Yeats to Gonne from roughly the same period. Most of these letters were published in the volume The Gonne-Yeats Letters 1893-1938 (W.W. Norton, 1992) edited by Maud Gonne’s granddaughter, Anna MacBride White, and A. Norman Jeffars. Other notable correspondents include Lady Augusta Gregory, Gonne’s cousin, May “Bertie” Clay, John Quinn, John O’Leary, and Maud Gonne’s lawyer, Mr. Williams. Also includes French transcripts of the Gonne/MacBride divorce proceedings.

GREENE, GRAHAM (MSS 788)

Collection, 1962-1968; .25 linear ft. (1 box)

The Graham Greene Collection includes an extensive collection of Victorian Detective Fiction, which can be found through the library catalog Euclid. The manuscript collection includes letters about the detective fiction primarily related to his purchasing of the collection and the publication of the catalog, Victorian Detective Fiction: A Catalogue of the Collection Made by Dorothy Glover and Graham Greene. For more information about the books, see the description of collections at the end of this guide.

GREENE, SIR HUGH (MSS 750)

Collection, 1921-1977; .25 linear ft. (1 box)

This collection is related to Sir Hugh Greene’s (1910-1987) research on popular detective fiction. It includes correspondence relating to his book collecting activities and to his plans for an anthology of stories entitled “The Colonial Rivals of Sherlock Holmes” (never completed). The collection also includes seven letters written by the mystery writer William Le Queux (ca. 1921). Sir Greene’s personal library of detective fiction is housed separately in the library. For more information about the books, see the description of collections at the end of this guide.

GREGORY FAMILY (MSS 624)

Papers, 1774-1932; 23.25 linear ft. (46 boxes, 7 bound volumes, 2 oversized bound volumes, 10 oversized papers)

The Gregory Family papers include papers of various members of the Gregory family as follows: papers of Robert Gregory (1727-1810), a director of the British East India Company, including correspondence, official documents, and printed material dating from 1774-1810, mostly concerning the Company (1 box); William H. Gregory (1762/6?-1840), Civil Under-Secretary for Ireland (1812-1831), including letters, account books, official and personal papers dating from 1794-1838, and Lady Gregory's typescripts of letters, some of which were included in Mr. Gregory's Letter Box, as well as her notes regarding the project (19 boxes); Robert Gregory (1790-1847) and Elizabeth O'Hara Gregory (1799-1875), including materials related to their financial affairs (1 box); W.H. (William Henry) Gregory (1817-1892), husband of Lady Gregory and member of the Irish Parliament, and later Governor-General of Ceylon, including correspondence, writings, financial and personal papers, and printed material dating from 1817-1900 (19 boxes, 3 scrapbooks, and 12 oversized folders); Lady Gregory (1852-1932), playwright, including family correspondence, general correspondence, writings, diaries, notebooks, financial and legal papers, and printed material dating from [1879-1930] (6 boxes, 4 scrapbooks); William Robert Gregory, dating from [1794-1923] (1 box); and one box of miscellaneous family material.

HEANEY, SEAMUS (MSS 653)

Collection, 1981-1991; 1.5 linear ft. (3 boxes, 12 oversized papers)

Born on the family farm, Mossbawn, northwest of Belfast in County Derry, Northern Ireland in 1939, Seamus Heaney has become one of the most widely read and known contemporary poets. While teaching English at St. Joseph’s College in Belfast, he joined a poetry workshop organized by Philip Hobsbaum, which included such poets as Michael Longley. Among the many awards that have been bestowed upon him, Heaney received the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1995. In addition to writing poetry, Heaney has served as a professor at both Harvard and Oxford Universities and inaugurated the Ellmann Lecture Series at Emory University in 1988. The collection reflects both his role as a writer and as a reflector on writing. Included are a handwritten draft of "A Tower in the Ear: Yeats and Ballylee" delivered at the Cheltenham Festival of Literature in 1985; handwritten drafts, notes, and typescripts with holograph corrections for three lectures delivered at the Richard Ellmann Lectures in Modern Literature series in 1988; videotapes of these lectures; and, correspondence with Professor Ronald Schuchard related to the lecture series (1988). A later addition to the Heaney Collection includes correspondence with Sebastian Barker (1981-1991) and a single manuscript of "The Placeless Heaven: Another Look at Kavanagh," an essay Heaney wrote on the poet Patrick Kavanagh. Also present are multiple drafts of the poem "Fosterage," an untitled manuscript on Michael McLaverty, and the manuscript of a radio talk Heaney gave on William Wordsworth. Related materials are present in a number of other collections including the Ciaran Carson papers, the Michael Longley papers, the Derek Mahon papers, the Frank Ormsby papers, and the James Simmons papers.

Restrictions: Letters by Seamus Heaney are restricted and cannot be used without the permission of Seamus Heaney.

HEANEY, SEAMUS (MSS 960)

Papers, 1951-2004; 51 linear ft. (102 boxes, 13 oversized papers)

The Seamus Heaney papers consist of correspondence, literary manuscripts, printed material, subject files, photographs, audio-visual material, and personal papers from 1951-2004. Correspondence (1963-2004) comprises the bulk of the collection and documents Heaney’s relationship with his students, publishers, friends, and other literary figures, including Joseph Brodsky, Donald Davies, Seamus Deane, Douglas Dunn, Peter Fallon, Brian Friel, Anthony Hecht, Ted Hughes, Michael Longley, Medbh McGuckian, Paul Muldoon, and James Simmons. Literary manuscripts include a small group of poems and prose written by Heaney and many manuscripts sent to him by other literary figures and by aspiring writers.

Restrictions: Series 1 correspondence is closed without the written permission of Seamus Heaney.

HEANEY, SEAMUS (MSS 1019)

Letters to David Hammond, 1968-2005; 1.75 linear ft. (4 boxes)

Seamus Heaney, Irish poet, and David Hammond, a folksinger and filmmaker are personal friends and collaborated on a number of British Broadcasting Company Northern Ireland projects. The collection contains letters from Seamus Heaney to David Hammond along with typescripts of Heaney writings and photographs.

HEATH-STUBBS, JOHN (MSS 643)

Collection, 1962-1967; .5 linear ft. (1 box)

John Francis Alexander Heath-Stubbs (1918-2006), born in London, is a poet, playwright, and essayist. He received his education from Worcester College for the Blind and Queen's College, Oxford. The papers include manuscripts of poems, in holograph and typescript; translations; critical essays; and one unfinished play. Of particular interest are originals of poems, some fragmentary, from The Blue-Fly in His Head (1962); typescripts of Heath-Stubbs' edition of Selected Poems by Alexander Pope (1964), including the notes, commentary introduction, and some of the poems included in the work; and his unfinished and unpublished play, "Aurelia."

HOBSBAUM, PHILIP (MSS 1013)

Collection, 1962-1971; .25 linear ft. (1 box)

Philip Hobsbaum, poet, critic, and teacher, was born in London on June 29, 1932. The collection contains material related to Philip Hobsbaum’s publishing activities with The Review from 1962 to 1971. The papers include correspondence with The Review editor John Smith, typescripts and proof sheets of articles published in the periodical, a letter to the editor praising Hobsbaum’s article, “Elizabethan Poetry,” and four typescript poems Hobsbaum submitted to The Review for publication.

HUGHES, OLYWN (MSS 980)

Papers, 1 linear ft. (2 boxes)

Collection consists of correspondence from Ted Hughes to Olwyn Hughes (1928- ) and to their parents, and photographs. Six of the letters include appended messages from Sylvia Plath.

Restrictions: Writings by Ted Hughes (letters and literary works) and photographs may not be reproduced without the written permission of Carol Hughes.

HUGHES, TED (MSS 644)

Papers, 1940-1997; 92.5 linear ft. (186 boxes, 103 oversized papers)

Born in Yorkshire, England, poet Ted Hughes (1930-1998) published dozens of volumes of poetry and edited many more. With Daniel Weissbort he was a founding editor of the journal Modern Poetry in Translation. The Ted Hughes Papers cover the entire spectrum of Hughes’ career from his first published volume of poetry, The Hawk in the Rain (1957), through the start of his tenure as Poet Laureate of Great Britain in 1984, up until 1997. The collection includes an extensive correspondence series with such well-known poets and critics as Stephen Spender, A.A. Alvarez, and Seamus Heaney. It also includes extensive manuscript drafts from all of Hughes’ collections, sound recordings, journals, photographs, scrapbooks, and collected printed materials.

Restrictions: Access to selected files is restricted without the written permission of the copyright holder. Other selected files are closed for a period of 25 years (2022) or the lifetime of Carol Hughes, whichever is greater. Writings by Ted Hughes and photographs may not be reproduced without the written permission of Carol Hughes.

HUGHES, TED (MSS 870)

Letters to Janos Csokits, 1960-1998; 1.5 linear ft. (3 boxes)

Hungarian poet and translator Janos Csokits and Ted Hughes began a personal and professional friendship based on mutual admiration, and they later collaborated on two published translations of the Hungarian poet Janos Pilinszky. The collection consists primarily of 49 letters from Hughes to Csokits, which include comments on the Csokits’ translations, Hughes’ frustration over Sylvia Plath’s literary reputation, and his publications relating to Plath. Also included in the collection is a detailed annotation of the letters provided by Csokits.

Restrictions: Access to specific letters written by Janos Csokits to Ted Hughes from 1964-1975 are closed until 2017. Writings by Ted Hughes (letters and literary works) may not be reproduced without the written permission of Carol Hughes.

HUGHES, TED (MSS 1014)

Letters to Frieda Hughes, 1971-1997; 1.25 linear ft. (2 boxes, 2 bound volumes)

The collection consists primarily of letters to Frieda Hughes from her father, Ted Hughes and stepmother, Carol Hughes from 1971-1997. A few of the letters are addressed to her brother, Nicholas. Many of the early letters, 1971-1978, were written while Frieda and her brother, Nicholas were attending Ibstock Place School in London and then Bedales School in Petersfield, Hants. These letters discuss news regarding their home, various pets, encouraging words about school work, and writing and language lessons/exercises written by her father. Of particular interest are a series of 1971 letters written while her father was in Paris and Teheran, Iran working with Peter Brooks on the production of Orghast; a humorous account of a meeting with the Royal family written on 14 February 1975; and a lengthy and humorous letter describing the day that Ted Hughes received the OBE from the Queen in 1977. In the later years, there are several letters which contain comments that Ted Hughes made regarding his daughter's writings. There is a detailed annotation of the letters provided by Frieda Hughes in the first folder of the collection [the container list notes the original number assigned by Hughes to each letter].

Also included in the collection; two sketchbooks containing several drawings by Ted Hughes and some loose sketches one by Sylvia Plath; Ted Hughes' death certificate; and a chronology of events from 1956-1971, written by Ted Hughes for Frieda Hughes.

Restrictions: Writings by Ted Hughes (letters and literary works) may not be reproduced without the written permission of Carol Hughes

HUGHES, TED (MSS 854)

Letters to Gerald Hughes, 1952-1991; .75 linear feet (2 boxes)

The collection consists of 188 letters written by Ted Hughes to his brother and sister-in-law, Gerald and Joan Hughes, between 1950 and 1998. The letters provide access to Hughes’ thoughts on his poetry and the writing process, as well as on his family and partners. Included with the correspondence are photographs and drafts of poems including, “Birthday Ode for Brother Gerald,” “On the Anniversary of Your Leaving,” and “Pike,” as well as drafts of four short stories and an unidentified play.

Restrictions: Twenty-nine letters are closed until 2028 or the death of Carol Hughes, whichever is sooner. Writings by Ted Hughes (letters and literary works) may not be reproduced without the written permission of Carol Hughes.

HUGHES, TED (MSS 866)

Letters to W.S. and Dido Merwin, 1958-1969; .25 linear ft. (1 box)

Correspondence between poet Ted Hughes and poet W.S. Merwin and his wife, Dido, comprise this collection. It covers the period of Hughes’ marriage to Sylvia Plath, and a number of letters by Dido Merwin comment quite extensively on the relationship. The correspondence also includes discussions among the three on poetry, with several of W.S. Merwin’s letters containing drafts of poems.

Restrictions: Writings by Ted Hughes (letters and literary works) may not be reproduced without the written permission of Carol Hughes.

HUGHES, TED (MSS 865)

Letters to Lucas Myers, 1955-1988; .75 linear ft. (2 boxes)

This collection contains letters from Ted Hughes to one of his oldest friends, Lucas Myers. The friendship began while both were attending Cambridge University in the 1950s and continued until Hughes’ death in 1998. Most of the letters date from the 1950s and 1960s. The letters include Hughes’ entreaty to Myers for an introduction to Sylvia Plath as well as later discussions of his career, marriage, family, and Plath’s work. A short memoir piece by Myers, which originally appeared in Grand Street, about Hughes’ time at Cambridge and his meeting with Sylvia Plath, is also included in the collection.

Restrictions: Access to selected correspondence is closed for a period of 25 years (2022) or the lifetime of Carol Hughes, whichever is sooner. Writings by Ted Hughes (letters and literary works) and photographs may not be reproduced without the written permission of Carol Hughes.

HUGHES, TED (MSS 867)

Letters to Peter Redgrove, ca. 1966-1984; .25 linear ft. (1 box)

This collection contains letters by Ted Hughes to the English poet, novelist, and playwright Peter Redgrove. The two men became friends in the 1960s at Cambridge and shared an interest in the occult and mythology. Included with the letters are drafts of poems and plays, and clippings.

Restrictions: Writings by Ted Hughes (letters and literary works) may not be reproduced without the written permission of Carol Hughes.

HUGHES, TED (MSS 924)

Letters to Ben Sonnenberg, 1961-2000, .25 linear ft. (1 box)

This collection contains 38 letters written to Ben Sonnenberg, writer, publisher and literary adviser, including 30 written by Ted Hughes (the other letters are from Olwyn Hughes and Carol Hughes). These letters reveal a personal and professional correspondence that continued between Sonnenberg and Hughes from 1961 until Hughes’s death in 1998.

Restrictions: Writings by Ted Hughes (letters and literary works) may not be reproduced without the written permission of Carol Hughes.

HUGHES, TED (MSS 1058)

Letters to Assia Wevill, 1955-1970; .5 linear ft. (1 box)

The collection contains letters, manuscripts, poems, drawings, and miscellaneous documents relating to Ted Hughes and Assia Wevill. The Wevills met Ted Hughes and Sylvia Plath in London in 1961, and Hughes and Wevill began an affair soon thereafter.

Included are 61 letters from Hughes to Wevill; included with the letters are drafts for a series of poems on playing cards and a "Draft Constitution," which appears to be an agreement between Ted and Assia concerning her responsibilities towards his children, her household duties, and general behavior. The collection also includes six letters from Assia Wevill to Ted Hughes; one early (1955) letter from Wevill to her sister, Cecilia Chaikin; and three letters from Ted Hughes to Chaikin written after Assia's death. The first two deal with his response to Assia's suicide, while the third responds to Celia's offer to return a number of Plath's manuscripts, which had been sent to her by Assia. Finally, the correspondence contains two letters from David Wevill to Assia, and one letter from Assia to him.

The remainder of the collection consists of a number of manuscript and typescript drafts of Hughes's poems; eight miscellaneous pieces of notes and letters by Assia, addressed obliquely to Hughes; and a number of photographs of Assia Wevill, both alone and with Hughes, Shura, Frieda, and Nicholas. One of the typescripts, which bears the title "For Aya," represents a preliminary version, in four parts, of the longer sequence of poems published as "The New World", while another poem, "Little Blood," contains an extra stanza omitted in publication. Other typescripts include variant titles, and one bears additional manuscript material on its reverse side. Two of the poems, "Crow Outlawed" and "Carrion Tiresias Examines the Sacrifice," appear to be unpublished.

Restrictions: Writings by Ted Hughes (letters and literary works) may not be reproduced without the written permission of Carol Hughes.

HUGHES, TED (MSS 870)

Letters to Edna Wholey, ca. 1947-1951; .25 linear ft. (1 box)

This collection contains letters, poems, and a short story written to Edna Wholey, a childhood friend of Ted Hughes, along with five photographs of Hughes at Wholey’s home around the 1940s through early 1950s.

Restrictions: Writings by Ted Hughes (letters and literary works) and photographs may not be reproduced without the written permission of Carol Hughes.

IRISH LITERARY MISCELLANY (MSS 794)

ca. 1943-1991; .5 linear ft. (1 box, 1 oversized paper)

The Irish Literary miscellany contains individual items or small groups of papers that constitute an artificial collection. The assortment includes manuscripts, photographs, and theater programs related to authors including John Hewitt, Seamus Deane, John Montague, Thomas Kilroy and Brian Friel.

KIELY, BENEDICT (MSS 725)

Collection, 1985-1991; .25 linear ft. (1 box)

Benedict Kiely, Irish novelist and short story writer born on August 15, 1919, was a journalist from 1939-1964 and published ten novels. He was a Writer-in-Residence at Emory University from 1966 to 1968. The collection includes correspondence between Kiely and Edwin C. Epps (a student of Kiely's while he was Writer-in-Residence at Emory University); a typescript of "A Former Cracker Set Loose Upon the Wilds of Ireland, or, How I Finally Met Up With Ben Kiely"; nine bookplates inscribed by Kiely to Epps; and a single folder related to a bust of Kiely sculpted by Lyn Kramer.

Restrictions: Photocopying of “A Former Cracker Set Loose upon the Wilds of Ireland” is restricted without permission of the author.

KINSELLA, THOMAS (MSS 774)

Papers, 1951-1995; 44 linear ft. (88 boxes, 5 oversized bound volumes, 95 oversized papers)

Born in Dublin, Ireland, Thomas Kinsella (1951-1995) has written a large number of poetry collections, served as artistic director for the Lyric Players Theatre in Belfast and established his own publishing company, the Peppercanister Press. The Thomas Kinsella papers are largely made up of manuscript drafts of poems from each of Kinsella’s published collections, beginning with his earliest chapbooks published in 1952 and continuing through his Collected Poems, published in 1996. These extensive files of manuscript drafts, typescripts, and proofs document in detail the development of Kinsella’s poetry. Other materials related to the publication of his work is often present in the files, including materials related to design, printing, and promotion of the work. A small number of letters are also present in the files, usually correspondence that is also related to the publication or promotion of the work. In addition, the papers contain files related to his translation of Irish texts including files related to The Tain (1969), An Duanaire (1981), and the New Oxford Book of Irish Verse (1986), as well as drafts of his critical study of Ireland’s literary heritage, The Dual Tradition (1995). The collection also contains clippings, scrapbooks, and a small number of photographs. Peppercanister, 1972-1997: Twenty-five Years of Poetry (1997), a bibliography compiled by Stephen Enniss, is available for purchase from the department.

LOGUE, CHRISTOPHER (MSS 992)

Collection, 1945-2006; 11.5 linear ft. (23 boxes and 5 oversized papers)

Christopher Logue (1926- ) is an English poet, playwright, and actor. The personal and literary papers of Christopher Logue include correspondence, literary notebooks, literary manuscripts, and collected printed material. The papers include typescripts of many published works and selections from projects Logue edited. Of particular note are extensive manuscripts and background materials for Logue's War Music collections, and publishing correspondence for some of his major works. The collection includes early journals and notebooks, musical arrangements, and unpublished poetry and screenplays.

LONGLEY, MICHAEL (MSS 744)

Papers, 1960-2000; 40 linear ft. (81 boxes, 14 oversized papers)

Michael Longley was born in Belfast, Northern Ireland, on July 27, 1939, and graduated from Trinity College, Dublin, in 1963. While teaching in Belfast, Longley first attended Philip Hobsbaum’s informal gatherings of writers, which included Seamus Heaney. Longley has received numerous awards for his poetry including three awards in 2001, the Irish Literature Prize for Poetry from the Irish Times, the T.S. Eliot Prize, and the Queen’s Gold Medal, all for The Weather in Japan (2000). The papers of Michael Longley include many drafts of poems from his very earliest work in the 1960s up to 1992, the year that he received the Whitbread Poetry Prize for Gorse Fires. All of Longley's major collections of poems are represented, as are his small press publications from this period. The collection also includes extensive files of correspondence, including letters from other contemporary writers (among them: Eavan Boland, Ciaran Carson, Gavin Ewart, Peter Fallon, Brian Friel, Seamus Heaney, Philip Hobsbaum, Jennifer Johnston, Medbh McGuckian, Derek Mahon, John Montague, Paul Muldoon, Frank Ormsby, Craig Raine, James Simmons, and Anthony Thwaite). Also present are original worksheets from the "Belfast Group" meetings that Longley attended in the 1960s.

Restrictions: Letters of Seamus Heaney are closed without the permission of Seamus Heaney.

MACNEICE, LOUIS (MSS 948)

Collection, 1926-1959; .25 linear ft. (1 box)

Louis MacNeice (1907-1963) was born in Belfast, Ireland, his family later moved to Carrickfergus, County Antrim. In the 1930s, MacNeice was associated with English poets, W.H. Auden, Stephen Spender, and C. Day Lewis. MacNeice is best known for his poetry such as Blind Fireworks, The Earth Compels, Autumn Journal, The Last Ditch, Plant and Phantom, Springboard, Holes in the Sky, Ten Burnt Offerings, The Other Wing, Visitations, Eight-five, Solstices, The Burning Perch, and Round the Corner, but also wrote several plays and radio scripts, as well as literary criticism. The collection contains handwritten and typed letters from Louis MacNeice to various friends and colleagues and a manuscript review of George Johnston’s translation of The Saga of Gisli.

MAHON, DEREK (MSS 1020)

Collection, 1985-1988, 2000; .5 linear ft. (2 boxes)

Irish poet Derek Mahon was born in Belfast, Northern Ireland in 1941 and raised in Glengormley. The collection documents Mahon’s work from 1985-1988. The collection includes correspondence, literary manuscripts, and some printed material. Among his literary manuscripts are drafts of both published and unpublished poems, work on his volume of poems Antartica (1985), scripts and screenplays, and journalistic writing. In addition, this collection documents Mahon's work translating the poems of Philippe Jaccottet, which were collected under the title Selected Poems and published in 1988. Also present in this collection is some correspondence with other literary figures, including Michael and Edna Longley and Medbh McGuckian. Additionally, the collection includes correspondence and printed material relating to Mahon’s six-month appointment in 1986 as the first writer in residence at Trinity College, Dublin.

MAHON, DEREK (MSS 1011)

Letters to Louis Asekoff, 1963-1988; .25 linear ft. (1 box)

The collection consists of letters and postcards from Derek Mahon (1941- ) to Louis Asekoff from 1963-1988 and reflects their close literary and personal friendship which began when both were students at Trinity College, Dublin in the early sixties. Mahon's letters include references to poets and poetry, literary ambitions, teaching plans, reading tours, personal relationships, and visits with Asekoff. Many letters also include drafts of poems: "Breakfast at 'The Edge of the World," "La Condition Ouvriere," "Sisyphus," "North City South City," "In Carrowdore Churchyard," "A Disused Shed in Co. Wexford," "The Snow Party," and "The Joycentenary Ode."

MAHON, DEREK (MSS 689)

Papers, 1948-2000; 29 linear ft. (57 boxes, 16 oversized papers)

Irish poet Derek Mahon was born in Belfast, Northern Ireland in 1941 and raised in Glengormley. The Derek Mahon papers are composed of correspondence, literary manuscripts, collected printed material, photographs, and legal and financial papers. The papers document Derek Mahon’s creative work during the last twenty years, including the poetry collections A Kensington Notebook (1984), Antarctica (1985), A Yaddo Letter (1992), The Hudson Letter (1995), and The Yellow Book (1998). In addition, his writing for television and the stage, as well as his journalistic writing during this period are amply documented. The papers also include correspondence with other literary figures, including: Samuel Beckett, Sara Berkeley, Brian Friel, Seamus Heaney, Anthony Hecht, Michael Longley, W.S. Merwin, John Montague, and James Simmons. Printed material, either by or about Derek Mahon or collected by him, is also present, as are a small number of photographs and financial papers from this same period.

Restrictions: Selected correspondence is closed except with the permission of the letter writer.

MALONE, KEMP (MSS 541)

Papers, 1910-1970; 7.5 linear ft. (13 boxes)

Kemp Malone (1889-1971) was a graduate of Emory College (1907) before becoming a professor at Johns Hopkins University (1924-1956.) A medievalist and world authority on Chaucer, he was also an etymologist and author of over 500 works. At the time of his death, he was working on a “History of the English Language.” The collection includes notes, an etymology ledger, bibliography cards, articles, biographical information, correspondence, poetry and other writing.

Restrictions: Restrictions may apply on reproduction.

Note: Library of Kemp Malone books housed in Kemp Malone Library in the Department of English at Emory University.

MCGUCKIAN, MEDBH (MSS 770)

Papers, 1969-1994; 42.5 linear ft. (87 boxes, 28 oversized papers)

Irish poet Medbh McGuckian was born in Belfast in 1950. The Medbh McGuckian papers include literary and personal papers of the poet Medbh McGuckian from 1969-1994. The bulk of the collection consists of drafts of McGuckian’s own writings, including drafts of poems from The Flower Master (1982), Venus and the Rain (1984), On Ballycastle Beach (1988), and Marconi’s Cottage (1991). Also present are extensive files of personal and literary correspondence including letters from Paul Durcan, Tess Gallagher, Seamus Heaney, Jennifer Johnston, Michael Longley, Paul Muldoon, and Nuala Ni Dhomhnaill. The collection also includes writings by others (including student writing), subject files, collected printed material either by or about Medbh McGuckian, photographs, and an audiotaped recording of Comhra with McGuckian and Ni Dhomhnaill.

Restrictions: Restrictions apply to correspondence of John Drexel and Marie and Seamus Heaney.

MISCELLANEOUS COLLECTIONS: LITERARY MANUSCRIPTS (MSS 358E)

Collection;ca. 1790-1979; 1 linear ft. (2 boxes)

This is an artificial collection of literary items such as letters, photographs that do not constitute a single collection. For example, the collection holds letters from and by William Faulkner, a letter by Edwin Arnold found in a book he donated and concerned with eastern music, and a critical debate about a biography of Charlotte Brontë conducted in The Yorkshire Post, an English newspaper.

MONTEITH, CHARLES (MSS 789)

Collection; 1948-1994; .50 linear ft. (2 boxes)

Charles Monteith (1954-1995) served as editor and later chairman of the Faber and Faber publishing company until his death in 1995. The collection includes letters written between 1948 and 1994 from many of Monteith’s literary associates from his years as editor with Faber and Faber, including Irish authors Samuel Beckett, Seamus Heaney, Paul Muldoon, and Richard Murphy.

Restrictions: Letters by Seamus Heaney are restricted and cannot be used without the permission of Seamus Heaney.

MOORE, T. STURGE (Thomas Sturge) (MSS 188)

Collection, 1928-1934; .25 linear ft. (1 box, 1 oversized paper)

T. Sturge Moore (1870-1944) was an English author, art critic, and wood engraver. The collection contains forty-one letters from Moore to Charles Wilson dating from 1928-1934 concerning professional and personal issues as well as criticism of contemporary authors and discussions of his own work. The collection also has two photographs of Moore, four pen and ink drawings Moore made for Yeats' Reveries, and one bookplate designed by Moore.

MULDOON, PAUL (MSS 784)

Papers, ca. 1968-1996; 25 linear ft. (47 boxes, 162 oversized papers)

Paul Muldoon, born in Armagh, Northern Ireland in 1951, studied under fellow Northern Irish poet Seamus Heaney while a student at Queen’s University. His poetry has gained him several awards including a Guggenheim fellowship, the T.S. Eliot Prize, and the Pulitzer Prize for Poetry. The Paul Muldoon papers are composed primarily of the manuscript drafts of Paul Muldoon’s creative work from his earliest writings in the late 1960s up to 1996. The papers also contain correspondence received by him from ca. 1968 to 1996, including personal and professional letters. A small number of letters by Paul Muldoon are also present. A number of manuscripts by other writers (including Seamus Heaney, Michael Longley, and Derek Mahon) may also be found in the papers, as well as photographs, and a small number of sound and audio recordings.

Restrictions: Selected files closed without written permission of Paul Muldoon. Letters by Seamus Heaney closed without written permission of Seamus Heaney. Letters by Gerard Quinn are closed until Quinn’s death.

O’BRIEN, EDNA (MSS 855)

Papers; ca. 1960-1998; 46.75 linear ft. (95 boxes, 22 oversized papers)

Novelist and short story writer Edna O’Brien was born in County Clare, Ireland, in 1936. She has written over a dozen novels, including The Country Girls, the story of a woman’s sexuel awakening in the 1960s which was banned in Ireland along with her next six books. She has also written several plays and screenplays as well as a biography of James Joyce. The Edna O’Brien papers include literary manuscripts of most of O’Brien’s short stories and novels, among them The Lonely Girl, Girls in Their Married Bliss, August is a Wicked Month, Casualties of Peace, Night, A Pagan Place, The High Road, Time and Tide, House of Splendid Isolation, Down by the River, and, most recently, Wild Decembers. Also present is literary correspondence, diaries (currently restricted), photographs, collected printed material and other related papers documenting her distinguished literary career.

O’GRADY, DESMOND (MSS 911)

Papers; 1953-2001; 38.5 linear ft. (78 boxes and 12 oversized papers)

The collection of poet Desmond O’Grady (1929- ) includes correspondence (ca. 1955-2000), literary notebooks, manuscripts, typescripts, and proofs (translations of Cavafy, The Wandering Celt, Trawling Tradition, Gododdin); some clippings and printed material (including early issues of The Limerick Socialist with O’Grady contributions); and appointment calendars. By far the largest portion of the collection is correspondence including letters from Sebastian Barry, Samuel Beckett, Dermot Bolger, Brian Friel, Eamon Grennon, Seamus Heaney, Brendan Kennelly, Benedict Kiely, Tom MacIntyre, Derek Mahon, Liam Miller, and others.

OGBURN, CHARLTON (MSS 543)

Papers, 1937-1989; 30.25 linear ft. (65 boxes, 1 oversized paper)

Charlton Ogburn was born March 15, 1911, in Atlanta, Georgia. After a varied career in the Bureau of Far Eastern Affairs, Ogburn devoted his time to writing and focusing on wildlife and the true identity of the author of plays attributed to William Shakespeare. The collection consists of clippings, manuscripts, galley proofs, correspondence, and a videocassette. The majority of the collection focuses on Ogburn’s writing career rather than his diplomatic career.

Restrictions: Researchers are not permitted access to Series 5—family correspondence. Reproductions of Series 5 are not allowed.

ORMSBY, FRANK (MSS 805)

Papers; 16.5 linear ft. (35 boxes, 20 oversized papers)

Born in Enniskillen of County Fermanagh, Ireland, on October 30, 1947, Frank Ormsby has written several volumes of his own poetry, published anthologies of Irish poetry, and from 1969 to 1989 edited The Honest Ulsterman, one of Ireland’s longest-running journals. The papers of poet and editor Frank Ormsby include manuscripts and typescripts of writings by Ormsby, personal and professional correspondence relating to his editorship of The Honest Ulsterman (1969-1989) and various anthologies, collected printed materials, and photographs.

PATMORE, DEREK (MSS 645)

Papers, 1928-1968; .5 linear ft. (2 boxes)

Derek Patmore (1908- ) is a British author and designer, and lineal descendant of Victorian poet Coventry Patmore and son of author Briget Patmore. The papers include literary works (1945-1968) consisting of many unpublished works by Derek Patmore; the typescript for his mother Briget Patmore's memoirs, with Derek Patmore's introduction; and a notebook containing copies of unpublished letters from H.G. Wells to Odett Keum, compiled by Briget Patmore. The papers also include correspondence between Derek Patmore and Briget Patmore (1945-1963); and pictures (1928-1937) consisting of sketches and photographs of such notables as Richard Aldington, H.G. Wells, Violet Hunt, Sir Osbert Sitwell, and various family members.

PAULIN, TOM (MSS 880)

Papers, 1972-2000; 34 linear ft. (70 boxes, 7 oversized papers)

The papers of Tom Paulin (1949- ), British poet and critic, include manuscript drafts of all of Paulin’s poetry and criticism, photographs, and personal correspondence, in addition to letters from fellow poets Seamus Heaney, Paul Muldoon and the late Ted Hughes. The collection includes materials documenting the history of the Field Day Theatre Company which Paulin joined as a co-director in 1981.

Restrictions: Letters of Seamus Heaney are closed without the permission of Seamus Heaney. Letters of R.F. Foster are closed until 2041.

POUND, EZRA (MSS 778)

Collection, 1911-1920; .25 linear ft. (1 box)

This collection includes eight letters written by Pound (1885-1972) to the American patron John Quinn in which he discusses Maud Gonne, W.B. Yeats, James Joyce, as well as other subjects. Also present is a single three page typescript by Lennox Robinson which discusses this Pound/Quinn correspondence. The collection also contains a single printed item, a broadside for Ezra Pound's "Three Lectures on Medieval Poetry," one of which was chaired by W.B. Yeats.

Restrictions: The letters of Ezra Pound may not be reproduced without the permission of the Pound estate.

PRITCHETT, V. S. (VICTOR SAWDON) (MSS 1012)

Collection, 1979-1982; .25 linear ft. (1 box)

Victor Sawdon Pritchett, English novelist, essayist, literary critic, and writer of short stories and travel literature, was born December 16, 1900 in Ipswitch, Suffolk. The collection contains material that concerns an interview of V.S. Pritchett conducted in 1979 by Robert W. Smith, a journalist with the Washington Post. The collection includes correspondence between V.S. Pritchett and Robert W. Smith concerning travel arrangements and other practical matters, an annotated copy of the interview transcript, a newspaper clipping of a review of On the Edge of the Cliff, and an unsigned photocopy of an illustration of Pritchett.

ROBINSON, LENNOX (MSS 246)

Collection, 1940-1958; 1 linear ft. (2 boxes)

Lennox Robinson (1886-1958), an Irish playwright, manager, producer, director, and editor, was appointed producer and manager of the Abbey Theatre by W.B. Yeats and Lady Gregory in 1909. The collection includes manuscripts of a number of Lennox Robinson's writings on W.B. Yeats and correspondence related to the Yeats Memorial Fund (established in 1953). Present are drafts of Robinson's contribution to Scattering Branches: Tributes to the Memory of W.B. Yeats (1940), a description of Yeats' funeral, and a single manuscript discussing Yeats' later poems. The correspondence dates from the 1950s and concerns fund-raising activities of the Yeats Memorial Fund and the means of perpetuating the memory of Yeats and his work.

RODMAN, SELDEN (MSS 1073)

Collection, 1938-1959; .25 linear ft. (1 box)

Selden Rodman (1909-2002) poet, author, critic, editor of Common Sense, and folk art advocate, lived in New York City much of his life. His books include Mortal Triumph and Other Poems, Challenge to the New Deal, and New Anthology of Modern Poetry. Rodman's work with Common Sense and other literary endeavors brought him into close contact with many literary figures including Ted Hughes, Stephen Spender, W.H. Auden, and Ezra Pound. The collection contains correspondence, poetry, writings, and printed material collected by Selden Rodman from 1938-1959. The collection focuses on Ted Hughes and W.H. Auden, and includes handwritten and typed drafts of poems by Hughes and Auden, correspondence to Selden Rodman, writings by Rodman concerning Auden, printed and manuscript drafts of reviews by Auden, and newspaper clippings. The collection also includes two typewritten poems by Sylvia Plath. The collection sustained heavy fire and water damage prior to acquisition. Some items are not fully intact or may be difficult to read.

Restrictions: Writings by Ted Hughes (letters and literary works) may not be reproduced without the written permission of Carol Hughes.

SCHUCHARD, RONALD (MSS 1005)

Papers, 1981-2004; 1.5 linear ft. (4 boxes)

Ronald Schuchard is Goodrich C. White Professor of English at Emory University, where he began his career as teacher and scholar in 1969. The Ronald Schuchard papers primarily consist of materials relating to Ron Schuchard’s relationship with Seamus Heaney from 1981-2004, including correspondence, drafts of lectures for the Richard Ellmann Lectures in Modern Literature, writings, printed materials, and photographs. The bulk of the papers consist of correspondence between Heaney and Schuchard (1981-2004) and reflects the planning for the Richard Ellmann Lectures in Modern Literature at Emory University, which Heaney delivered in 1988 and the friendship between Schuchard and Heaney.

SERED, DANIELLE, INTERVIEWER.

IRISH WOMEN’S POETRY ORAL HISTORY COLLECTION (MSS 853)

1999; 1 linear ft. (3 boxes)

Present in this collection are fourteen audio tape interviews conducted by Danielle Sered in June and July 1999 with the following Irish women poets: Eva Bourke, Vona Groarke, Kerry Hardie, Anne Hartigan, Rita Ann Higgins, Medbh McGuckian, Paula Meehan, Eileen Ni Chuilleanain, Nuala Ni Dhomhnaill, Mary O’Donnell, Sheila O’Hagen, and Mary O’Malley.

SIMMONS, JAMES (MSS 759)

Papers, 1945-1996; 39 linear ft. (78 boxes and 20 oversized papers)  

James Simmons (1933-2001), born in Londonderry, Northern Ireland has published many volumes of poetry and was the founding editor of the Irish periodical The Honest Ulsterman. The James Simmons papers include an extensive range of literary and personal papers relating to Simmons' life and work from the 1940's to the late 1980s. Present are many drafts of poems, as well as essays, other prose, lecture notes, and personal diaries. The extensive files of correspondence include letters from many prominent writers, among them Brian Friel, Tony Harrison, Seamus Heaney, Michael Longley, Derek Mahon, and Wole Soyinka. Among the activities documented in this correspondence is the founding of The Honest Ulsterman in 1968 and Simmon's participation in Philip Hobsbaum's "Belfast Group" Also present are numerous clippings and other collected printed material related to Simmons' activities and interests.

Restrictions: Letters by Seamus Heaney are closed without the written permission of Seamus Heaney.

SPENDER, STEPHEN (MSS 838)

Papers, ca. 1940-1987; .25 linear ft. (1 box, 1 oversized paper)

Poet Stephen Spender (1909-1995), born in London and educated at University College, Oxford, was mentored by W. H. Auden. He edited Horizon with Cyril Connolly from 1939-1941 and then co-edited Encounter from 1953-1966. The collection contains correspondence of Spender during his editorships at both Horizon and Encounter, as well as some loose manuscripts of criticism and poems, a notebook, and a number of newspaper clippings about Spender (in Italian).

STANFORD, DEREK (MSS 996)

Collection, 1938-1979; 3 linear ft. (6 boxes)

Derek Stanford was born in Lampton, England on October 11, 1918, to Richard James and Ada Stanford. Stanford attended Upper Latymer Scool in London. Stanford served as a lecturer at the City Literary Institute, London, as a lecturer in literature and creative writing from 1957-1969, as well as an art history teacher and an adult education teacher. Stanford's memoir, Inside the Forties, chronicles his literary life between 1937 and 1957. The personal and literary papers of Derek Stanford include correspondence, literary notebooks, literary manuscripts and typescripts, and collected printed material. Of particular note are manuscripts and background materials for The Weather Within and Time is a Place.

TENNANT, EMMA (MSS 913)

Papers, 1973-1998; .5 linear ft. (1 box)

The collection contains items related to Ted Hughes’s relationship in the 1970s with Emma Christina Tennant (1937- ), a novelist, critic, and editor. The materials include a few pieces of correspondence from Hughes to Tennant during the 1970s and a brief note in 1998. There are also three drafts of The Notting Hill Diaries, later renamed the Burnt Diaries, and published in 1999, an autobiographical account of Tennant’s affair with Hughes. The drafts are mostly typescript copies with handwritten notes and insertions.

Restrictions: Writings by Ted Hughes (letters and literary works) may not be reproduced without the written permission of Carol Hughes.

WALLRICH, LARRY (MSS 972)

Collection, 1959-1988; .5 linear ft. (1 box)

Larry Wallrich was a bookseller in London, England and Toronto, Canada from the 1960s to the 1980s. He also was an editor for the small press, Ruby Editions. The collection contains correspondence from various poets, artists, and other individuals to Larry Wallrich, a London book dealer, from 1959-1988. The correspondents mostly discuss the sale and publication of their books and general personal news. Prominent correspondents include Jonathan Williams, Robert Kelly, Andrew Crozier, and Tom Raworth. The collection contains a small amount of printed material collected by Wallrich, mostly concerning Jonathan Williams and the Jargon Society, and includes brochures, reviews, and catalogs. There are also three short manuscript drafts of poems by Michael McClure, Tom Kerrigan, and an unidentified author.

WEISSBORT, DANIEL (MSS 894)

Papers, ca. 1957-1999; 1 linear ft. (2 boxes, 1 oversized paper)

Critic, translator, and poet Daniel Weissbort, born in London in 1935, co-founded with Ted Hughes the journal Modern Poetry in Translation, which he continues to edit. The collection contains his correspondence, including letters from Ted Hughes, Joseph Brodsky, and Yehuda Amichai, and manuscripts of these writers as well as Susan Alliston and Janos Pilnsky.

Restrictions: Writings by Ted Hughes (letters and literary works) may not be reproduced without the written permission of Carol Hughes. No reproduction of materials copied from Kings College London without permission from that institution.

YEATS, W.B. (WILLIAM BUTLER) (MSS 600)

Collection, 1875-1965; 1.75 linear ft. (4 boxes, 3 oversized papers, 1 framed item)

The W.B. Yeats collection includes literary manuscripts, revised texts, letters, and photographs dating from 1875-1965. The literary manuscripts include manuscript drafts of poems and plays as well as holograph emendations to many of Yeats’ (1865-1939) published works. Correspondence includes letters from Yeats to various acquaintances discussing his poetic and dramatic works, Irish politics, the Abbey Theatre, and his personal life. Many of the letters are addressed to his friend and compatriot Lady Gregory. Another group of letters to the publisher T. Werner Laurie relates to the publication of the 1925 edition of A Vision. Among the photographs in the collection are numerous pictures of Yeats, his family, and friends.

Note: "The Lady Gregory-Yeats Collection at Emory University," by Ronald Schuchard, Yeats Annual, No. 3 (London: Macmillan, 1985), pp. 153-166

Restrictions: All requests for reproductions require special approval from the repository. Reproductions will not normally be made from the original items but rather from high quality photocopies.

BOOK COLLECTIONS

CHARLES HOWARD CANDLER LIBRARY

Candler (1878-1957), class of 1898 and President of Coca-Cola, gathered a relatively small but choice library of rare books, mainly consisting of Bibles, European history and literature, Georgiana, and the writings of Sidney Lanier and Joel Chandler Harris. In all there are more than 300 volumes ranging over six centuries. The earliest work is a manuscript Bible of the 14th century (Candler/Vault BS75 13__?). The most famous of the several incunabula (books printed before 1501) in the collection is the Nuremberg Chronicle of 1493 (Candler folio/Vault D17.S3). The English drama is notably represented by the Fourth folio of Shakespeare and the First Folio of Beaumont and Fletcher, both 1647. Other 17th century works include first editions of Bacon, Donne, and Milton. 18th century imprints include works by Defoe, Gay, and Swift. Thirteen titles of Dickens are present in first and early editions. Colonial Georgia is represented by a score of exceedingly rare items, including a complete set of sermons preached before the Trustees of the Colony, 1733-1750 (Candler F289.G45 C6). MARBL also holds his personal papers (MSS 3).

RAYMOND DANOWSKI POETRY LIBRARY

The modern poetry collection developed by Raymond Danowski was considered to be the greatest such collection in private hands. Emory acquired the collection in 2004. Built over a period of 25 years, it includes over 50,000 works. The collection is comprised of English-language poetry published after 1900 anywhere in the world. Of particular interest are large collections of the printed works of W.H. Auden. These titles are currently being cataloged.

GRAHAM GREENE LIBRARY

The English novelist Graham Greene collected a library of Victorian detective fiction. The collection includes 613 works of mystery and detective fiction dating from the earliest days of the detective story up to the turn of the century (Edgar Allan Poe through early works by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle).

HUGH GREENE LIBRARY

The personal book collection of Sir Hugh Greene consists of 426 volumes of Edwardian detective fiction. Hugh Greene, brother of Graham Greene, was a broadcasting official and publisher in Britain and a writer of detective fiction.

TED HUGHES LIBRARY

The books in Ted Hughes library (more than 6,000 in number) offer students and scholars a detailed map of his creative and intellectual development. In addition to many works of poetry by a wide literary circle (many inscribed to him by the author), the library also reflects Hughes’ wide-ranging interests far beyond the field of literature. The library includes many works devoted to natural history, folklore, mysticism, religion, and esoteric knowledge, among other subjects. Also present are several volumes belonging to Hughes’ wife Sylvia Plath. These titles are currently being cataloged.

RONALD SCHUCHARD LIBRARY

Ronald Schuchard, Goodrich C. White Professor of English at Emory University, began his career at Emory University in 1969. His library, consisting of 180 books, broadsides and serials by Seamus Heaney most of which have been either signed or inscribed by the Nobel prize winning Irish author, has supported Schuchard’s teaching and research relative to 20th century British, Irish and Anglophone literature. MARBL also holds Schuchard’s personal papers (MSS 1005).

YELLOW-BACKS

Yellow-backs are cheap editions of books, mostly popular fiction, that were displayed for sale on railway bookstalls in England around the mid-nineteenth century and nicknamed “yellow-backs” for the yellow glazed paper that colored their board casings. The collection houses more than 700 titles.